We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captains Quarters Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed in Saugatuck for one night for a quick trip. We were lucky that Captains Quarters allows one night stays, which is rare for places in Saugatuck. The propietor of the hotel is a very nice fellow with a dry sense of humor. The room was very basic and very clean. Nice location, walking to downtown Saugatuck is a bit far, but overall a nice and very quiet place.

Room Tip: There are only 16 to choose from :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank iachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 150 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have begun searching out American owned hotels and restaurants when traveling and we were not disappointed when we stopped in for an overnight stay last week. Though it's on a busy road, it is set back far enough and we had a room in the back that was ultra quiet and private. Clean room and comfy bed. Close to area attractions and owner on site. Nice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel promises clean and that is what you get, nothing pretty just somewhere to lay your head down after a days adventures. Not enough towels and a table would be nice on both sides of bed. Very basic, but yes I would return.

Room Tip: These are just basic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Considering how much we paid for our room, I was shocked by what we walked into. As soon as we opened the door, the smell of must and mold assailed us. I have stayed at places 1/3 the price that had better amenities. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. I felt like I was camping.
This was my first time in the area, I understand the area is very popular and they feel they can charge whatever they want, but at least make us comfortable. This place offered nothing special that would make us want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kindakool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had some hesitation after reading some of the reviews here. However, this motel was exactly as advertised - basic, clean, and within walking distance of downtown Saugatuck. Plus they allow dogs without any extra fee, which is very appreciated. No, there are no little bottles of shampoo or lotion, and no, it's not the most modern television set up, and no, the wifi doesn't reach the rooms, but it's not a big chain hotel so I didn't expect those things. My only two complaints were that the lobby smelled of cigarette smoke when we arrived (but the rooms did NOT, so no big deal) and that the vinyl shower curtain was kind of musty - needs a good bleaching. But the room was very clean, the linens were fine, the bed was comfortable. We were very satisfied and would stay there again. No, this is not a chain so don't expect all the extras a chain may provide! This is a local mom and pop type motel...support local businesses!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MI_Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Maybe I am asking too much but we paid $568 for two room for two nights and that was exactly what we got - a room. There is sort of wi-fi if you stand outside the office but no breakfast or pool and nothing nearby so you have to drive to breakfast or walk into town (10 minutes, quite pleasant). The room was clean but dark and a bit dank smelling. The bedding clean but not crisp. The previous night we had paid quite a bit less for a pristine room and very good breakfast in a Hilton Garden Inn which although lacking character actually delivers on all the key attributes.
In this day and age independent hoteliers need to offer a bit more, not a bit less. Having read reviews of The Pines and driven past, I wish we'd have stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katrinaChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Last year we (family of 4 with boys ages 8 and 5) discovered Saugatauk / Douglas and loved it. We decided to return this year to spend a few days. Our friends decided to join us (family of 4 with boys ages 5 and 2). We found the Captains Quarters to be perfect for us. The rooms were standard motel rooms in terms of size and amenities (coffee maker, small fridge, furniture) but they were very clean, comfortable, and smelled pleasant. We had rooms right next to each other, with an outside entrance to the rooms. We were able to put the kids to bed for the night and sit on the covered porch area outside our rooms and enjoy some adult beverages into the night. There were even wrought iron chairs on the porch for us to use. Also, our cars were parked right outside the rooms for convenient loading and unloading. The motel is very well maintained outside too. There is room to play some backyard games (if you bring them) like bags or washers or throwing the ball with the kids. Also, because Paul is the owner / operator, he is always around. One day after going to the beach, with our towels and suits all wet, we hung them outside to dry. However, while out to dinner it rained leaving us with wetter clothes than what we started with. Paul let us put them in the dryer he has on property for the bed linens at no cost. He is an interesting and friendly guy, stopping over to chat from time to time while we relaxed on the porch area. For what we wanted, this place was perfect. The downsides are pretty minimal...no pool (didn't care because we spend most time at beach) and wifi was nowhere to be found. Bottom line is if you are looking for a 5star resort, keep looking. However, if you want someplace relaxing, but simple, this might be for you. Price is good for area, you won't do better without ending up in a smelly place. I will absolutely go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
897 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
174 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Star Motel
Blue Star Motel
#1 of 4 in Douglas
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Quarters Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Motel

Address: 3242 Blue Star Hwy, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range: $127 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Captains Quarters Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small mom & pop motel. Due to our size, this allows us to get to know our customers and build relationships with them. Quiet park-like setting with fire-pit, picnic tables and a large yard area for enjoying the summer weather. Continental breakfast included with every rental. Set 1 mile outside of downtown Saugatuck, we are close to downtown, Golf, Dune rides and Lake Michigan, with all the restaurants and shopping one could ask for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Captains Quarters Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing