We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 19 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Dinner was paced in European style; and it was delicious. Two nights and a credit toward meals was an incentive to make reservations. Chef Shaun provides a relaxed atmosphere and mingles quietly among the guests making sure rooms and hospitality meet guest expectations. No need to travel out of state for a change of scenery...Belvedere Inn is a grand experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 352 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very nice grand scale small inn outside Saugatuck, MI. The chef is Shaun, from Chicago. He cooks the meals. The meals are out of this world. I visited during the early spring, still cold and snow.The inn had a special a 4 course dinner for 2 included in the price of the stay when 2 nights are booked.
I took a room on the 3d floor I think I was the only one up there. I had a dormer window seat overlooking a forest and a frozen pond. Both mornings I read sitting in the dormer and watched the deer frolic in the forest. Coffee service is on the second floor. There are teas, hot chocolate, biscotti, cookies, etc. always ready at 6am. My room was big I had a shower no bathtub. The room was nicely decorated with enough pillows and blankets. I had an electric fireplace in the corner that kept the room toasty all night. I slept like a baby in the bed.
The first morning for breakfast there was granola, scones, yogurt and fruit on the buffet. The main course for breakfast was egg in nest with bacon. The woman who helps for breakfast was very attentive to everything. I ordered my evening meal for the 6pm sitting. Dinner is fine dining with casual attire. First you have your choice of appetizers, then soup/salad, the main meal and dessert. I had the pate, butternut squash crabmeat bisque, pecan crusted walleye and flan for dessert. The dining experience takes about 2 to 2.5 hours so don't plan anything till after 9pm or so. Josephine was the server. She was a sweet attentive individual that was truly eager to make your experience memorable.
The second morning for breakfast on the buffet was breads, granola, yogurt, and fruit. the main course was potato leek quiche with sausage. A light salad was served on the side. Again service was great.
Jonathan is the inn keeper. He is a young kid that is married. Jonathan studied music in college and had hopes of teaching music until the opportunity to manage the inn came up. He still plays jazz. But only his wife gets to enjoy his musical talents.
Overall my stay at the inn was pleasant. Each member of the inn left a kind impression on me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiedanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

An Outstanding place in every way!!! The rooms are beautiful and really tastefully decorated with charm ALL over. There's a beautiful library and sun room and the crown is the gourmet restaurant which is outstanding from the cuisine, ambience, service and memories. My then girlfriend was so impressed that she wanted to dine there consecutive nights during our stay - it really was that good! On top of all that, the owners and staff are top notch. Sean and Jonathan are the most attentive I've seen and were so amenable to ensuring that my vegan food choices were incorporated into the menu choices. Just go, and have a fantastic vacation.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The plus side of going to a Michigan lakeside resort town on a Sunday evening in the middle of winter: you find you have the town to yourself! We stayed at the Belvedere this past Sunday evening for a short getaway and have a lovely time. We were the only guests and loved having the place to ourselves. We found ourselves spreading out and relaxing in the sun room and enjoying the solitude. Our room was cozy too. Though we were the only guests, staff was top-notch and extremely attentive. Breakfast was amazing and we were super-spoiled by all the food that kept arriving (we even left with a take-out box). We would highly recommend this place as a choice of lodging for anyone's next trip to the Saugatuck area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A beautiful way to spend a snowy weekend in Michigan. The warmth and friendliness of the people at Belvedere Inn is a joy. The food is wonderful and the accommodations as well. We attended the wine pairing dinner and enjoyed 6 courses paired with wines that were excellent. This is our third year returning here and we always feel welcome.

Room Tip: We prefer the Balmoral Suite because of the king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mraewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I visited the Belvedere mid-week in January. The property was beautiful. We were so happy that the Christmas decorations were still up, as they really added to the already gorgeous decor. We stayed in the Balmoral suite, and we loved it. The whole property was so great, we almost didn't want to leave to go shopping or out to dinner! The staff at the Belvedere is top-notch. Every single person we encountered that worked there was so friendly. The breakfast and the snacks were fantastic. We only wish we would have visited on a weekend to take advantage of their dinners! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the fireplace and sitting area in our room--especially when we were reading and pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Simply beautiful. Service extrodinare. Unbelievable hospitality and courtesy. Thank you Shaun for your understanding and kindness in addition to the perfect dinner recommendation. We could not of asked for a better place to stay. Although only a night. We will be back. Hope u'll once a season.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
914 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
84 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 19 in Saugatuck
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
2.7 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#6 of 19 in Saugatuck
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Inn & Restaurant

Address: 3656 63rd St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9705
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range: $245 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Michigan's very own Mini Versailles located in Saugatuck, Michigan. This Frank Lloyd Wright architecture inspired mansion boasts 10 beautifully appointed guest rooms and a fine dine restaurant sitting on over 5 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens.Enjoy the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast while feeling the sophistication for a European style boutique Inn. You won't feel like you are in some ma & pa home here. Breakfast is served in our formal dining room at your own table!The Belvedere Inn has found the perfect balance between a B&B and Boutique Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Belvedere Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Inn And Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing