We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not great”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed one night in the Abbey room at Belvedere Inn due to an impromptu trip to Saugatuck,MI.

Good, but certainly not a great experience.

Positives: Ambiance of the entire property, Delicious cookies and excellent breakfast.
Negatives: Tiny bathroom, uncomfortable and kind of hard bed.

Going by the reviews, i have a feeling that other rooms are better but we had to settle for the Abbey room since there was no other option then.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveenmvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
256
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been to many B&B's over the years, but the Belvedere really stands out for us. Great hospitality, wonderful setting, delicious food. We didn't know what to expect, but the Belvedere is first class all the way!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at this wonderful inn. It was our first trip to Saugutuck and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The home is beautiful with art and gleeming wood everywhere. All the employees were extremely gracious. Top notch hospitality including many thoughtful details such as bottled water in the rooms, cool drinks and snacks available throughout the day, hot coffee in the morning. The breakfasts were delicious. We ended up also eating twice at the fantastic on-site restaurant. Every course was delicious. Mostly, we loved the laid-back elegance of The Belvedere Inn. A very special place!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the somerset room (no tv)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bresam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wonderful time staying at the Belvedere. We stayed in the Balmoral Suite, which had a fantastic king bed, a very necessary electronic fireplace (the inn was quite cool, so the fireplace allowed us to regulate the temperature to our liking). The tub in the bathroom was phenomenal: jacuzzi, two shower heads, and enormous.

Beautiful grounds, wish we had more time to explore.

The dinner was excellent. Very, very, very well cooked and flavored steak. The butternut squash soup and mussels appetizers were also excellent. Great cocktails as well. We only got 2 courses, and looking back I believe getting 4 courses would probably have been the better value.

Very much enjoyed the stay. Hope to come back again, and hope to send others to the Belvedere as well.

Be sure to check out the community theater located directly across the street. We saw "Don't Hug Me," and my face hurt from laughing so hard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoopay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have been vacationing in Saugatuck for 30 years and this was my first visit to the Belvedere. The inn is beautiful and the hospitality is first rate. The real surprise though, was the fabulous food prepared by Chef Shaun. From breakfast items to the four course dinner, the quality and preparation was four star quality! As a seasoned traveller, the Belvedere has earned a big BRAVO from me!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rdy2glf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Belvedere Inn was able to take us in for a last minute Anniversary weekend and we were very grateful. I have tried to stay here before but they were booked, so glad to get the chance this time. The Inn is the perfect distance from town. There is no need to look for parking or deal with traffic. Check in was easy and welcoming by Jonathan. Shaun is a master in the kitchen and the most gracious person to talk to. I loved the breakfasts each morning. We had fresh fruit, ham, sausages, french toast soufflé, corn souffle, homemade scones and more. There was always something different and very fresh tasting. Who knew homemade granola tasted so good? We enjoyed one dinner there as well that was absolutely delicious. The quality and freshness of the food was great. It was a very enjoyable meal followed by a relaxing walk around the gardens and pond out back. Also, the afternoon snacks were a great touch and much appreciated. I loved the iced cappuccinos. We would not hesitate to book here again and look forward to having the chance to do so.

Room Tip: We had the chance to stay in the Devonshire and the Cambridge rooms. Both had unique qualities and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reed25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The inn and restaurant are excellent. Shaun attended to our every need and provided excellent breakfasts and dinners. Kudos for his culinary skills! The inn is carefully appointed, comfortable, and attractive. There are public spaces to sit and read and/or enjoy the view of the well-kept lawn, gardens, fountain, and pond. If you're looking for more room, the Belvedere Suite offers substantial space with a bedroom, sitting room, dressing room, and fantastic bathroom with expansive,multiple-jet (as in seven shower heads) shower plus a whirlpool bath. We enjoyed the peaceful setting, removed from the bustling tourism of town. The staff goes out of its way to create a welcoming, supportive experience. We hope to return and highly recommend the Belvedere for a quiet, lovely, relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbee734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
863 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
139 reviews
2.0 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
154 reviews
2.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Inn & Restaurant

Property: Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Address: 3656 63rd St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9705
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Michigan's very own Mini Versailles located in Saugatuck, Michigan. This Frank Lloyd Wright architecture inspired mansion boasts 10 beautifully appointed guest rooms and a fine dine restaurant sitting on over 5 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens.Enjoy the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast while feeling the sophistication for a European style boutique Inn. You won't feel like you are in some ma & pa home here. Breakfast is served in our formal dining room at your own table!The Belvedere Inn has found the perfect balance between a B&B and Boutique Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Belvedere Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Inn And Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing