We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
$105
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starlite Resort(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vita Spa + Suites(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
$179
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachway Resort(Saugatuck)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
321
21
7
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
21
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschateaubriandbeautiful groundsbalmoral suitechef shaunmy husband and iwine pairing dinnerb bwindow seatbiscottiold mansioniced cappuccinothird floorco ownerthe perfect hostbreakfast was deliciousfresh fruiteach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 354 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were made to feel very at home. The breakfasts were wonderful and the dinners, divine. The short drive downtown was no problem. We enjoyed a pleasant morning walk by horses and beautiful countryside. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNfamily89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you're looking for the opportunity to relax for a couple of days, The Belvedere is the perfect choice. The grounds are absolutely stunning, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the food is divine. It was, however, some of the little things that really made this gem stand out. One of the things we enjoyed the most was having a cocktail on the patio that overlooked these lush gardens that are reminiscent of something you would see at a european chateau. Additionally, the customer service really made the Belvedere stand out for us. The employees at the Belvedere have mastered the perfect touch of friendly without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Belvedere is so beautiful and was a wonderful spot for my husband and I on our mini honeymoon. The furnishings are lavish but not in a creepy/overdone way... more like a very tasteful yet awesomely historical and adorable way. We stayed in the Balmoral Suite and wow... it completely exceeded expectations. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The sitting area is a bit different than in the pictures online (I forgot to take pictures!) now there is a larger chair and a couch to hang out on. The bathroom was huge and beautiful and there was a large whirlpool tub. Loved the bathroom!

Our room was close to the adorable snack bar that was stocked every day with wonderful things to eat (snacks!!!!). In the afternoon, a cold refreshing beverage would be there (arnold palmer, strawberry mint iced tea, iced cappuccino) as well as trail mix, biscotti, chocolate and cookies (you had me at snacks). At night a delicious small dessert (cookies, brownies, lemon pie something wonderful) was laid out as well as coffee and tea. Breakfast every morning was divine. The coffee is fantastic, a special blend they get from Uncommon Grounds in Saugatuck. There is a hot item every day as well as fruit, cereal, various bread items basically awesomeness (I love food). We also stayed enough nights to qualify for a gift certificate to eat dinner at the Belvedere at night; four courses of magic.

The location of the Belvedere is great as well. It is so close to downtown Saugatuck... just a quick drive away. The dune rides are very close by as well. Everything was within a 15 minute drive (including many things in Holland and Douglas) and it is right off the highway (but not obnoxiously so where all you can hear is car traffic)

Shaun and Jonathan were the people we interacted with the most and they were great, so nice and always interested to hear if we were having a good time and what we had been up to.

My ONLY complaint (and this just goes with the older house situation) is that the floors were a bit creaky, almost every step was accompanied with a creak... now, that is so small in comparison to my experience... I would never let that stop me from being there.

Also, there was no TV in our room (I knew this before going in) it was so refreshing to not have it, but maybe some people would be annoyed?

Overall, I hope to return again and again because basically I want to live there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The property is beautiful and location is very convenient to local attractions - parking at the Inn is very easy. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the thing that made the stay special was all of the small touches. The food/snacks were great and the breakfast each morning was really exceptional! I would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If you've never stayed at the Inn then you are missing out on a truly unique experience. From the moment of arrival the staff treat you as part of the family. The grounds offer a pleasant and relaxing space, the Inn is warm and inviting, and the food is fantastic. As part of your stay you have to experience the dinner; you will not be disappointed. In the evening, the snacks and tea are an excellent finish to a wonderful day, and there is no better way to start your day than to experience the breakfast. If you're looking for an additional pleasure, you have to read a copy of the history of the Inn and the surrounding grounds and buildings. Its history has it all: from romance to scandal. The Inn is a convenient short drive from the heart of Saugatuck, but you wouldn't want to be any closer. After the hustle and bustle of the a visit to Saugatuck, the Inn is an oasis for tranquility and restfulness and romance. Whether business or pleasure or as a couple or solo, the Inn is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side face the pond, fountain, and grounds. Bring a light for putting on make-up.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Miko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews