We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I was there now!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I was there now!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am going to join the legions of people on trip advisor and highly recommend staying here. This is a beautiful place, with stunning grounds and very charming ground floor common areas as well as very nice rooms, great customer service and fantastic food. One common room is a handsome library with books and games. The other is the morning room, it’s very pretty and has a floral theme. There are two dining rooms on the first floor as well. Both appear to be in muted colors based off the Irish flag…very nice!

We stayed in the Somerset room. It was a feminine and very attractively decorated room on the second floor with a view over the back gardens. It was also in very good proximity to the “treat bureau” which was my name for the refreshment consul. It was always stocked with delicious home-made apricot biscotti or cookies, strawberry iced tea, lemonade or iced lattes, depending on the day, and various snacks like trail mix and salted nuts. The view was very pretty from the room. The Somerset is a somewhat cozy room but it has (and this is worth mentioning- the website does not say this) a very nice walk-in closet with plenty of room in there to put your suitcases and shoes. There is even a window in the closet over -looking the gardens as well as two very comfy wing chairs that flank the little fire place. This room has a simple stall shower and no tub though I do know the suites have spa tubs-just something to keep in mind when booking. There is no TV in the room but we did not miss it. The water pressure was good and there was plenty of hot water. The air conditioner also worked well, it made the room cold, and I am a stickler for air conditioning. They also gave us a little fan for white noise right when I requested one. The floors are a bit creaky due to the age of the inn but beautifully maintained and polished.

I had champagne and a cheese plate added to the room for the arrival, and I would recommend to anyone to have that added to their itinerary, since it was delicious and perfectly assembled. It’s all about the details at Belvedere, and even the cheese plate was made of top quality cheeses in a balanced variety and fruits. Bottled water is kept for you in your room, and yes it is included and replaced if you drink it! Breakfast was delicious and did not disappoint, they had a different selection each day and always a big variety of food to which to choose from, and dinner was also outstanding.

Saugatuck is a very nice town to visit and this is the place to stay when you go. You will love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Somerset room. It was a feminine and very attractively decorated room on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    18
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
26
246
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Bend
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our first visit to the Belvedere Inn and Restaurant and were delightfully happy with everything there. From the moment you walk in the front door you are made to feel at home and very welcome. The staff makes you feel very special and do everything they can to make your visit an enjoyable one. We enjoyed walking the grounds and seeing the flowers, pond and all they lovely things nature has for us to enjoy. Breakfast was a gourmet treat; unfortunately we were not able to try the dinner but plan to do so on our next visit. This is a place not to miss if you are in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are very charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Belvedere Inn, it is a great blend of old world charm and modern amenities. Dinner was oustanding and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was not large but very nice and quiet and had everything we needed. Would definitely return again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Absolutely lovely place to remove yourself from frenetic daily challenges. Setting is beautiful, spacious grounds, gardens, a fountain, and even a small pond in the back. You feel like you've stepped out of the current century and into a nineteenth century British manor.

The Inn itself is meticulously maintained. Loved the library and the sun room in particular. And if you're staying there, you must, at least once, have an outstanding dinner there. Chef Shaun creates most elegant main courses accompanied by to-die-for desserts.

A buffet of munchies is maintained all day: coffee/tea and biscotti in the morning, fabulous cookies or brownies with HOMEMADE lemonade or iced tea the rest of the day. And, if it's served, do try the lemonade. I don't even like lemonade and this was stunningly delicious.

Give this Inn and its hosts five stars.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We met our friends from Chicago...perfect half way for all. The entire experience was a great one!
Outstanding accommodations, friendly staff, beautiful grounds and wonderful food. We will definitely be back. Don & Mata

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mata119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Belvedere is why I love trip advisor! I read multiple reviews for B&B in the Saugatuck area, and found The Belvedere, which turned out just as great as it has been reviewed! Tucked away up the street from downtown Saugatuck, I definitely didn't regret not staying in town. First vision of the house takes your breath away, looks like the castles we visited in Europe!

We stayed in the Abbey for 2 nights, which is on the 2nd floor at the end of the hall. The room was small but perfect for 2, tons of window light and a great view of the backyard gardens. Would recommend this room if you're not going for a suite.

The host, Shaun who is the main innkeeper and chef, was wonderful. Its all about the details here, from a wonderfully laid out breakfast, to the sweet snacks laid out at all times, to the coffee or iced tea left out for guests. Bottled waters for guests in the room each day. Great suggestions for what to do in the area.

We also had dinner at the Inn - if you book 2 weeknights, you get a voucher for dinner for 2 which was a great meal! And from what I believe, Shaun the innkeeper cooks it all! 4-courses at $50, makes this a great deal esp if you're staying at the property.

Will definitely visit again. Saugatuck is a special little town.

Room Tip: The Abbey is on the 2nd floor, the end room, view of the back yard, gardens and pond. Lots of light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celstrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Superb, quiet, comfortable suites. Attentive, welcoming staff. Food that melts in your mouth. On a ten point scale I give it a 15!!!

Room Tip: Take time to walk the property ... it's lovely ... relax on the benches by the pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.9 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
26 reviews
2.8 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
223 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#11 of 24 in Saugatuck
124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
242 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Inn & Restaurant

Property: Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Address: 3656 63rd St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9705
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Michigan's very own Mini Versailles located in Saugatuck, Michigan. This Frank Lloyd Wright architecture inspired mansion boasts 10 beautifully appointed guest rooms and a fine dine restaurant sitting on over 5 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens.Enjoy the intimacy of a Bed & Breakfast while feeling the sophistication for a European style boutique Inn. You won't feel like you are in some ma & pa home here. Breakfast is served in our formal dining room at your own table!The Belvedere Inn has found the perfect balance between a B&B and Boutique Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Belvedere Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Inn And Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing