We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it once was!”
Review of Ship-N-Shore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ship-N-Shore Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it once was!”
Reviewed June 18, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Ship 'n Shore once again this year, as we have 6 years running now, and it was not the most pleasant stay. The comfort we once felt there has just up and left. It seemed as though the once family oriented motel with a great friendly feeling, has had a more corporate feeling this year. One of many new faces at the front desk seemed so proud of the fact that she was in "charge" of the housekeeping, that she made sure that whoever she was talking to knew it, or so it seemed. On a good note, they have put new windows in all the bathrooms, which goes to show they are still putting money into the place, and trying to make it better. However that was just not enough to compensate for the poor staff (or staff member), and the overall unpleasant corporate feel! We must say we really do miss Sheila and Joel, who seemed to have always gone the extra mile to make our stay more enjoyable. If you have stayed there in the past you know what I'm talking about. For others who have not, I would still recommend the motel for location.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CHIGUY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    80
    18
    15
    15
See reviews for
43
68
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We booked a spur-of-the-moment room and enjoyed it very much. This is no frills hotel... it's all about location to bars, restaurants and shopping. The rooms do need to be updated (outdated furnishings) but are clean. Unfortunately the jacuzzi did not work, but the pool was nice. We will be back for a weekend before the end of summer.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — jacuzzi did not work
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Ship N Shore, celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. It was our 3rd time staying in Saugatuck. It's a great little town, with plenty to do. The Ship N Shore is older but is right on the water with a nice pool and plenty of sitting areas. It's so nice to be able to sit and watch the boats cruise by. We had a wonderful room. I'll be sure to request the same room. We had a king size bed on the second floor. We were impressed when we opened the door. It had 2 walls with knotty pine and open rafters to a vaulted ceiling which gave the room a large feeling to it. It had a very nice counter tiled in a nautical theme. A very nice refrigerator is under the counter. Plenty of room. The bathroom is small but adequate. They provide a nice continental breakfast consisting of fresh fruits, cereals, bagels, English muffins, juices, coffee, teas and the best cinnamon buns, freshly made. The first morning they even had fresh, warm cranberry nut bread. They also had boiled eggs, which my husband needed since he watches his carbs. There are only 2 complaints and they're minor. They don't have enough parking places for the motel. When we checked in on a Sunday, the lot was full and my husband had to drive around for 15 min. looking for a place to park. By the next morning, he was able to park in their lot. The second complaint is they don't have enough chairs to sit outside your room on the long balcony that runs along the rooms. Our second day, we watched from the pool as someone took our chairs from next to our room door and then put them in their room when they weren't sitting in them!!! We wanted to confront them but thought better of it. It would've been nice if they'd provided enough for everyone. I'm going to request that next time I make a reservation. We will go back. We love the town, the people, the area and it's only a 2 hour drive from our home, making it a very nice get-away. Since our anniversary is in July, we love to be on the water and going tropical just doesn't get it in July. We loved lunch at Phil's on Butler St., the Boathouse on Lake St. and The Mermaid on Lake St. also a good choice. Coral Gables used to be very nice, we were disappointed this time. We've also eaten at the Butler Inn, also right on the water. So many good choices.

  • Liked — It's location was the best.
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Week day prices are much cheaper.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank annie-mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2006

Great Place to stay within walking distance of downtown saugatuck I remembered the hotel when I lived there back in the late 60s brought back a lot of old memories

Helpful?
7 Thank ChaseJStocktonCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2006

Our stay at the Ship N Shore Motel was a great escape ..only a 2 hr drive from Jackson Mi. Rooms are average but very clean. Great view of harbor, pool, and easy walking distance to some fun resturants pubs, and clubs..not for the old at heart.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Once a fabulous 1960's style building, this place is now Sad and Sore. If the staff had an ounce of care it would have compensated. They appeared more interested in smoking cigarettes and when asked simple questions responded with a disgruntled teenage shrug. Our room was facing the river which could have been tres chic, but the carpet was sopping wet from... something unknown. There are elements of the 1960's left but are overshadowed by the early 1980's linens and furniture. We were drawn to the Ship n Shore by the amenities outdoor heated pool, jacuzzi and riverfront location. Sounds glamourous and worth $140 but when the jacuzzi doesn't work, the pool is cold, the towels (hardly available) are rags, and the rooms smell like a musty basement we would have certainly gone elsewhere.

Helpful?
20 Thank seehoustonlosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saugatuck hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2005

I stayed at Ship N Shore for the location and the view. The room itself was average but very clean. Found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful with questions regarding the area and things to do/places to go. The home made cinnamon rolls on the breakfast buffet were excellent:)))) An overall good experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
2.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.9 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
108 reviews
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
345 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#4 of 24 in Saugatuck
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship-N-Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship-N-Shore Hotel

Property: Ship-N-Shore Hotel
Address: 528 Water St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, the Ship-N-Shore Hotel is Saugatuck's Ultimate Waterfront Address! We are within walking distance to all of downtown Saugatuck's many shops, boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. We offer a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ship `n Shore Hotel Saugatuck
Ship n Shore Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing