We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs updates”
Review of Ship-N-Shore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ship-N-Shore Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Ship n Shore has made some updates over the past couple of years. But the bathrooms need a total gut job. The location is great. Party atmosphere when the boats are docked there. If you are looking for quite and serene, check out one of the bed and breakfast inns.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoNotreDameMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Ship-N-Shore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 174 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This place was one of three right on the water, and as others have said, in a great location in town. Room was ok, and service was mainly young kids at the desk, but adequate enough. Out noise complaint was brushed off completely.

I've never written a review, but upon reading one today and then the manager's response, I thought I should do so now.

We visited last weekend. We also experienced the loud music from the three large boats docked. It was so inappropriate and loud that we tried leaving the pool deck and going to the park next door. There was live entertainment at the park, and the performer there also tried multiple times to ask the drunk boaters to turn down their music.

You have to allow your guests to enjoy themselves. But to just be loud and drunk is a bit much. What this has to do with the festival is beyond me. There were hundreds of others a around town enjoying themselves without doing what these guests were allowed to do.

The manager's comment about a 40 rooms rebooking is also pointless, and untrue. We didn't rebook, and neither did our friends. We did book at the nice inn next door, just far enough away...



Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank ScottMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Property is old motel style. Small bathroom with no shelf space. Beds were ok. No coffee maker in room which is unacceptable! Outside pool area with hot tub was clean and well maintained. Property is close to shops and restaurants. Room is not as important in this location in summer since you will want to spend time outside enjoying Saugatuk.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are fine, everything here is old, but clean. Location is great.

What we couldn't understand was why there were three boats allowed to tie up next to the chain ferry and blast their music this last weekend. It was extra loud, overpowering the festivities in the adjacent park. The people on the boat were too old to be acting like they were, and very drunk the whole time.

It ruined our evenings here.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank JimJPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, General Manager at Ship-N-Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hello. My name is Ryan Brown, and I am the General Manager of the Ship-N-Shore Hotel. I apologize that you did not enjoy your experience while staying with us during this past Venetian Festival. This is an extremely popular festival (Saugatuck's most popular), and we do tend to host a large number of boats during this weekend as we are one of the last establishments in town that can provide transient boat dockage. However, we do not want to compromise the experience of our other guests. It appeared as though most of our guests from the weekend were enjoying the music from the boats, as we did not have any complaints made to the front desk about such music. Again though, I am very sorry that this was not your desired experience. If you would like to email us your room number from this past weekend, last name, and/or reservation number (if you still have this number), I would be more than happy to see what I can do about giving you a discount on your room for next year (I assume that you re-booked for 2015's Venetian Festival weekend, as all 40 of our rooms did). Again, I apologize that you did not enjoy your experience here at the Ship-N-Shore Hotel, and hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This location is wonderful, right on the waterside where you can watch the boats glide by. The grounds are very well kept with beautiful garden and benches to sit and relax. The rooms have been wonderfully updated--they still have the quaint older charm but are nicely updated for today's needs. The complimentary breakfast (cinnamon rolls) were delicious! The heated pool and hot tub were exceptional, probably the best part of our stay was relaxing in the pool and watching the boats in the river. The Star of Saugatuck boat tour is right next door and was a wonderful trip on the river! Get a garden view room for the best view!

Room Tip: Select a garden view room!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FrancesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time at this place and I just love it. All kinds of cool large boats tied up on the hotel pier.Always end up talking to the people in the boats. Great location to walk to town or just set on the deck and watch the boats go by. Next door to the chain ferry and just down from the paddle wheel boat.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank pkt6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Location is fantastic! This is the ONLY hotel located on the Kalamazoo River in Saugatuck and it is right in the downtown shopping/eating area. The hotel is impeccably maintained - the grounds, the rooms, the lobby, the pool. Rooms are very comfy and clean - and the price is great! We loved our room on the garden side of the hotel - such a lovely area to sit in while watching the activity on the river........enjoying an evening glass of wine or a morning coffee. Breakfast included was a perk - really fantastic cinnamon rolls! This is perfect for families visiting the area.or anyone else for that matter!

Room Tip: We liked the half of the hotel facing the garden - but you may enjoy the side facing the pool if you...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylaelderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
2.5 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#3 of 10 in Saugatuck
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#2 of 10 in Saugatuck
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Captains Quarters Motel
Captains Quarters Motel
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
127 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship-N-Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship-N-Shore Hotel

Address: 528 Water St, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, the Ship-N-Shore Hotel is Saugatuck's Ultimate Waterfront Address! We are within walking distance to all of downtown Saugatuck's many shops, boutiques, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. We offer a heated outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ship `n Shore Hotel Saugatuck
Ship n Shore Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing