We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look Elsewhere” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Shore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Shore Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Look Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The room smelled when we entered it the first time. Like a real old building smell. Used air freshener and candle for all four days of visit. Thought room was clean but on the third day an additional smell of chemical cleanser prevailed. Turns out the stains in the bathroom were not permanent after all! There were problems with the plumbing too. And not just in our room but in all three rooms reserved by my family. The toilet flushed but barely and there were strange gurgling's which resulted in raw sewage coming up in the bathtub on the last morning. When I mentioned this to the woman at the desk (the owner, I guess) did we get a "sorry for your inconvenience" or anything. No, we were chided for not calling them immediately. "What would you do if there was a fire," she scolded. Uh, call 911? The place is not cheap even in off season and we will never stay there again. By the way, the resort is on a bluff separated by a road from the water. It's still a nice view but if you don't want to walk the 90 steps down, go to Oval Beach which isn't too far away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Wordpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeLSR, Manager at Lake Shore Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
I spoke to this guest on the fourth and last morning of her visit when she FIRST mentioned the toilet malfuntion. Within five minutes the toilet was working properly. Since the guest indicted she felt inconvenienced, understandably, I advised that I wished she had called the office at the time of the problem so we could have corrected it immediately. When she said she did not think there was anyone available at 6:00 am, I told her staff is available 24 hours to assist our guests or respond in the event of an emergency such as a fire.

With regard to the condition of the room, we place the highest priorty on cleanliness of our rooms and our record supports this concern. We are disappointed to hear something may have been overlooked by housekeeping. However, if we missed something, we would have appreciated knowing about it during this guest's 4 night stay to resolve the issue rather than hear about it for the first time on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    45
    6
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
102
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Lake Shore Resort.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, something I am a bit of a stickler on as there is nothing worse than a dirty room that smells :( So for me to say it was clean and comfortable is saying something.
The staff was always available and helpful with any questions we had for them. The breakfast was centennial style with fresh (homemade?) muffins, fruit, yogurt and boiled eggs. Coffee and orange juice. All served in a nice clean kitchen/eating area.
The location of the resort was perfect for us. It is towards the end of Lake Shore Drive so there is very little vehicle traffic, so it was nice and quiet with no problems with taking a stroll on the road.
The views....AWESOME! Beautiful sunsets from many different vantage points, be it on the multi-level deck that leads down to Lake Michigan to the immaculately groomed grounds of the resort.
Star gazing was amazing as you looked over the lake sitting by one of two gas lit fire pits. Also a great vantage point was off the multi-level deck to watch the stars. I was able to see 4 shooting stars from that view.
If you’re looking for a nice quiet place to relax, take in some really beautiful views and rewind...this is the place for you.
I know that we will be going back many times as it really did the trick for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vega15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been staying at the Lake Shore Resort for over 10 years. Frequently the trip includes my mother & daughter. We love the quiet beauty of the resort. To the front, there is beautiful Lake Michigan with a lovely beach, in back are hiking trails in a wooded area, and in between are gorgeous gardens with small seating areas set up to maximize any view. The rooms are pleasant & immaculate. The staff is polite & helpful. The owners are on-site, but not intrusive. Usually after breakfast (provided by the resort), we head toward either Saugatuck or Holland for some shopping or to see the attractions. Then, we spend quiet time at the resort swimming in the lake or pool, looking at the scenery, hiking or reading before heading out to supper for some fine, casual dining. I can't imagine a year without a trip to Lake Shore Resort.

Room Tip: Call early--in April if possible, but all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This would be an amazing place to share with kids or grandkids in the summer. The hotel is old but clean and updated. No old smells. The staff very nice. Free bike use for an hour at a time. Plenty of fun things to do in the area. Art barn. Shopping. Dunes river boat rides.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 64jodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Lakeshore Resort yesterday. Perfect time of year to visit. This resort has amazing grounds and flower beds. Lots of effort I'm sure goes in to keeping it that way. The view is absolutely spectacular from anywhere on the property. We loved that it was adults only there. Nice and quiet. Perfect place to unplug and relax. We spent a lot of time in the pool. Well maintained and very clean. Our room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an escape from a busy life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WOYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Lake Shore Resort. There is a wonderful restfulness about this resort. The grounds are beautiful, the buildings are not lavish but very comfortable, clean and quiet. The entire grounds face beautiful Lake Michigan and guests can sit on the lawn and watch the sunset. The resort also includes beautiful beach with kayaks, beach umbrellas, chairs.

The woods around the resort contribute to the secluded and quiet restfulness of the resort. The charming little town of Saugatuck is a 10 minute drive from the resort.

Need a restful place away from the hectic pace and noise? Lake Shore Resort is a great option to consider!!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a little larger than others. Some rooms have a better view of the lake than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian at large
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed two nights midweek. The impeccable grounds impressed us most. Plenty of seats, picnic tables, lounge chairs all arranged intelligently around the grass. The pool is small but clean. Beach furniture is plenty and kept well.

Some rooms are better than others. Our room had 2 chairs to sit on, but other rooms have loveseats. When the weather is bad, it just is not comfortable to sit in the room. The well water in the bathrooms have a funny smell. But everything is very clean.

There's wifi only in the reception area, which we found to be cumbersome as it is a bit of a trek from rooms. The 8 o'clock breakfast is plentiful but is rather late for early risers.

Otherwise, it is a very relaxing and civilized place where there are no screaming kids, no loud music, and no screeching cars as you might expect in a resort setting. Wonderfully quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room with a king bed. Double beds are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nofoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saugatuck
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Holland
Hampton Inn Holland
#1 of 18 in Holland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Saugatuck - Douglas
17.4 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#5 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Holland
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
3.1 mi away
Starlite Resort
Starlite Resort
#1 of 10 in Saugatuck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Shore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Shore Resort

Property: Lake Shore Resort
Address: 2885 Lakeshore Drive, P.O. Box 121, Saugatuck, MI 49453
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake Shore Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View breathtaking sunsets... Walk the Lake Michigan Shoreline... Bike scenic Lakeshore Drive... Relax to gentle lake breezes. The Lake Shore Resort redefines relaxation. Lakeview rooms resting atop the bluff on the shore of Lake Michigan only 3 miles from downtown Saugatuck. Amenities include: private beach with lounge chairs and umbrellas (dependent on lake levels), kayaks, bikes, large heated pool, continental breakfast overlooking Lake Michigan, 2 miles of private nature trails, and much more. Come stay with us. Experience Saugatuck and Stay on Lake Michigan...it's GREAT! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Shore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Shore Hotel Saugatuck
Lake Shore Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing