We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Ranked #4 of 24 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Il
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite home away from home”
Reviewed August 28, 2009

With a great location in the center of Saugatuck, these spacious yet cozy cottages are just steps away from restaurants and shops. The owners go out of there way to make you feel like you are staying in your own home.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    24
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
243
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
waldenberg
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at the Hidden Garden Cottages many-many times, most recently Sat; Aug 15 and Sun; Aug. 16,2009. We have always rented the Tuscany cottage for ourselves and the Orleans for family traveling with us. The room has always been clean and completely in order when we arrive. The location couldn't be better for those who like to shop, dine, walk, or just relax downtown.

Most of the time we have been fortunate enough to get one of the four parking spots on Hoffman St. Ocasionally, we had to park out on the street nearby and move the car up later, not a huge problem. It's nice to be able to walk everywhere in town and leave the car parked.

The small breakfast of muffins, fruit, cereal, yogurt is just enough to start the day off. Coffee and juice are provided, but I opt for the short half block walk to Uncommon Grounds Coffee Shop, maybe the best coffee we've ever had. The patio rocking chair is the perfect spot to enjoy your coffee, a good book, or a crossword puzzle. Maybe you'll get lucky and spot one of the hummingbirds hunting the blackeyed susans for nectar.

Gary, the host will be very acommodating,if needed, but will be sure to ensure your privacy.

Best place in Saugatuck for: privacy, location, rest and just about everything else.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twlwaldenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We stayed in the Tuscany Cottage. Very well equipped, but we could not get the Wi-fi to work. Tastefully decorated. I am very, very picky when it comes to cleanliness. The set up is nice if you prefer your own kitchen area. Personally, I enjoy going to breakfast and chatting with the other guests. I did not like eating in the room. Front porch was nice to sit outside.
Very convenient to walk everywhere. Parking on side street was okay. Only saw the host as we were leaving.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, MI
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2009

If anyone is traveling and and looking for overnight lodging in Saugatuck Michigan I highly recommend Hidden Garden Cottages and Suites. I had never been to this cute little town so my friend suprised me with an overnight stay to do some sightseeing and shopping. We stayed at the Orleans a quaint little cottage right around the corner from everything. The owners have it beautifully decorated and filled with every amenity one could want or need. I can't wait to go back and visit this wonderful town and stay in this gem of a B & B.

AD

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ald7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I have stayed in Saugatuck, Michigan before and we just love. We recently stayed at the Hidden Garden Cottages and Suites and was completely satisfied. It is truly a little treasure that if you blink you will miss it which makes it just perfect for us because it's private, cozy, affordable and comfortable. If I had to say one thing it would only be the minor fact that small ice trays in the freezer compartment would be very convenient. We will definitely be back soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerngal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the San Jaun Suite August 5-8. It was like having our own apartment for the 3 nights. There is a kitchen, bedroom, living room and bathroom. The suite was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is left in the refridgerator for the next morning. Tastey muffins, yogart, fruit, milk and OJ. In the room is a binder with restaurant recommendations, menues and other things to do around the area. I found this quite helpful. The location of Hidden Garden is THE BEST, center of downtown. We brought our bikes and rode around the neighborhoods and to Oval Beach. Also took little sides trips to Douglas and Fenn Valley. Worth the short drive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzte1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We normally stay at upscale hotels, and we were very pleased and impressed with the Orleans room accommodations at Hidden Gardens. The porch attached to our room had beautiful views of a well tended garden and fountain. I was especially excited when hummingbirds flitted from flower to flower so close I could almost touch them. We found the owner, Gary, very nice and willing to assist us during our stay. Parking was convenient which isn't always the case in Saugatuck.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GucciRoyalOak_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
2.8 mi away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 24 in Saugatuck
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#5 of 24 in Saugatuck
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 24 in Saugatuck
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck
0.2 mi away
Wickwood Inn
Wickwood Inn
#6 of 24 in Saugatuck
262 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lake Shore Resort
Lake Shore Resort
#4 of 10 in Saugatuck
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites

Property: Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
Address: 247 Butler St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-9493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for guests seeking a more private Bed & Breakfast experience, these romantic getaways for two feature king or queen beds, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs for two and kitchens. An in-room continental breakfast of homemade muffins, fresh fruit and yogurt allows you to start your day whenever you like, there's no schedule here at Hidden Garden. Located in the heart of downtown Saugatuck, steps away from restaurants, shops, galleries and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Garden Cottages And Suites
Hidden Garden Cottages Hotel Saugatuck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing