We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go here every time!”
Review of Ida Red's Cottage

Ida Red's Cottage
Ranked #12 of 57 Restaurants in Saugatuck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Since 1986, Ida Red's Cottage has been serving Made-from-scratch breakfasts and lunches, year 'round. Our little place is a busy one, and our kind of cooking takes time, so expect to have to wait, sometimes a long time, during the summer season.
Farmington, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We go here every time!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've been going to Ida Red's ever since discovering it over 10 years ago. We visit each time we're in Saugatuck for an amazing breakfast (or lunch). The homemade breads are incredible, and their pancakes are delicious. We love all their egg scrambles. Someday we'll try the pasta or sandwiches but we just can't tear ourselves away from the yummy breakfast side of the menu! Don't miss the chalkboard when you walk in--they always come up with great specials. We've never been disappointed with Ida Red's and look forward to it every time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    66
    15
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saugatuck, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YummY”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

It's great if you don't mind the wait.

My favorite breakfast place around,

Fresh n' YummY

Clean, cute n' cozy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great breakfast...but be prepared to wait”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Awesome food...especially the custard-crusted french toast. The servers have been there FOR EVER and really know how to take care of you, but the place is so popular that there's nearly always a wait list. Counter seating available. Closed some weekdays...check schedule.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaHorseCrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Apparently I've never been here...”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I apologize for my former review, apparently according to the manager, I've never been here. I stated I'd been here only a few times, not many times, but I guess I'm colorful and I lie. Thanks. I did like the the food, just seemed to get the waitress on a bad day. I'm glad my dad comes to see you weekly. I haven't been in the restaurant for a long time, the date was not accurate, but alas...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CinderellaRiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast at the Cottage”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ida Red's is at the end of Water Street, away from the hustle and bustle. A very quint little cottage, small on the inside but decorated so nicely with vintage items. They serve your food on fiesta dinnerware, very rare.

My sister had the buckwheat pancakes and sausage and she raved about them so of course i had to give them a dry. Very flavorful, not your average pancakes. The sausage is fresh made and delicious as welll as the orange juice. I had eggs, sausage and home fries. Loved all of it! Great kuttke breakfast place, we will try it for lunch next year too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pntbtrkisses H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ida Red's Cottage also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Been to Ida Red's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing