We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”
Review of The White House Bistro - CLOSED

The White House Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The drinks were strong and the food was delicious. Try the pork belly. It's to die for. The pizza and meatballs are also amazing. The staff is friendly and happy to describe the menu items.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    30
    12
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Owner made it right on gift certificate.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Was here earlier and they would not honor gift certificate. Later the owner made it right and then some! Went above and beyond to accommodate us and make up for the previous visit. We ate a great dinner here. Food was very good and staff was most friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mittengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food in Saugutuck”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent food, friendly service, great local wine. We were in Saugutuck for 5 days. This was the best food we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorraineSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly tasty and inventive”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Based on some wonderful meatballs we had at the Saugatuck Food Festival, we headed to the White House for an evening meal. The place itself has been totally revamped in the last few years, opening up the interior for cooler months. However, we sat on the front porch to enjoy the breeze and scenery. Our waiter, Henry, was very helpful and explained the courses well. All that we ordered was unexpectedly inventive--don't miss the bacon and egg appetizer or the oxtail perogies entree!!!! Wow! The lobster-corn chowder was the only letdown--too watery, but still somewhat tasty. Otherwise, excellent! We will return. Oh, management might want to curtail the smoking right on the sidewalk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianaSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PureMI”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We liked the food and atmosphere of this bar/restaurant. It does have a very limited menu but the food we had was great, different and flavorful. Prices may be a little high but for a touristy beach town about the same as every place else in town. We would recommend give this place a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PMMIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House Bistro also viewed

Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 
Saugatuck, Allegan County
Saugatuck, Allegan County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing