We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Bay Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Oak Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fabulous Guest House”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed in the Newport Room for four nights. There is no TV in the room, but we enjoyed meeting other guests in the common room. As with other multi-room guest houses with just one TV in a common area, guests were afraid to put the TV on for fear of disturbing the other guests who were reading or doing crossword puzzles. This suited us just fine. The guest house has a wonderful library and we both managed to finish a book during our stay.

Breakfast time is flexible within a time window, and Egle is also flexible in terms of adapting the menu to suit your own food preferences and allergies. Giving us a scone or muffin to go each day was a nice touch.

You can walk from the guest house into Oak Bay village or to Oak Bay Marina. The OBGH is in truly a wonderful location and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord Fauntleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    38
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
80
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Our stay was only two nights and we loved it! This was our first experience with a B & B and first trip to Victoria and both were fantastic. Check in was a breeze and Derek (owner) helped us providing a map and directions for whale watching tour we had booked. There appeared to be lots of pamphlets for tours and activities available. The B & B was a beautiful character home in a quiet neighbourhood with lovely grounds. We could see there were table and chairs outside to enjoy the garden but we never did. We stayed in the "Oriental" Room and it was on main floor off of a "parlour" area. Very comfortable - it consisted of what I would call a decent sized sitting room with a comfortable dbl size pull out sofa bed. I stayed here and was pleasently surprised at the comfort of sofa bed. There was also a side chair, small bar fridge, coffee table and two walls of windows....most looking out onto the garden where fresh flowers and herbs collected for breakfasts! It was warm in the afternoon because of the windows but cooled down at night. Window could be opened for fresh air and screen provided to keep bugs out. The suite had a large walk through closet (door at sitting room end that could be left open/closed at night) complete with large mirror. This led to the bedroom with queen bed, sitting chair, desk, end table and full bathroom, a small balcony with two chairs and small table. It suited our needs perfectly. There was a large lounge area upstairs with sofas, books, puzzle table, TV, dvds, bar fridge, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies in the evening were provided - lots of windows looking out over the yard. Again very warm and comfy. The breakfasts were great - beautifully presented with fresh herbs & flowers from the garden - all edible - to say we had eggs for breakfast doesn't do it justice but the whole meal was wonderful to eat and see. They also send a scone or muffin with you at the end of breakfast for a snack later in the day - how nice! The dining room decor fit the style of the house and was staff was warm and welcoming. The location is very close (2 blocks) to a marina, where there's a nice restaurant. We had a car rental (parking on property or street) and didn't walk much in the area other than to the marina restaurant but it's not far by car to the Oak Bay shopping area - looked like interesting shops but again we only drove through. Driving to or from the guest house was not too challenging - close enough to lots of places yet removed from the high traffic areas. I would definitely recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairie-peeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I can't say enough about this B&B. The B&B was incredible and the owner and staff very friendly. It was a beautiful mansion with the extreme comfort feel of home. Our room, the Oriental Suite was just perfect. Spacious, with a sitting area and separate bedroom, bathroom, balcony. The staff were always willing to please and did. Breakfasts were delicious and the treats they send you away with scrumptious. Location is only 1 1/2 blocks from Oak Bay Mariana, a nice walk. I would definitely recommend this B&B to everyone I know and would stay here again. Allison, Winnipeg, MB

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough,England
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We spent a very good 3 nights at the Oak Bay guest house. The welcome was friendly. The room was very clean and tastfully decorated. The selection at breakfast was good with different items on offer each day, and the take away muffins a pleasant addition.
The location is in a quiet area with plesant walks around the marina, or a stroll into Oak Bay village, for a good meal at the 'English' style pub.
Jenny & Colin Stevenson
Gainsborough, England

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Victoria with my cousins for a 4 day stay. Victoria and Oak Bay are lovely. This is not a B & B but a 12 room inn. I do not agree with the other reviewers. My cousins and I have stayed at numerous B & Bs throughout the US and Canada. We found this one a bit odd.

If you have any kind of physical ailment you should know that there are many steps that you have to go up and down. There isn't anyone that can help with luggage. The place has a charm but also looks like it needs some repairs. The rooms are small and the bathrooms vary in size. There is not enough parking on site but there is street parking.

We did not find the owner helpful. She never introduced herself to us and throughout the 4 days made odd comments to us. My cousin and I cannot eat eggs. This caused some issues with breakfast as that is their main course each day. Other places I have stayed always asked about food allergies and likes and dislikes. We were told the chef had her own way of doing things. It was also a problem asking for additional fruit salad as "just enough is made" to accommodate the diners. Since there were 3 choices: fruit, grapefruit or yogurt, you would think that enough would be made to allow a bit more if that is what you would normally eat for breakfast.

There were no screens in the bathroom windows or fans but when we asked for them they were then provided. Although the owner has only owned the inn 20 months she was not able to put on the fire place and did not know that heat was running all night. The beds were very comfortable.

It is close to Victoria and is reasonable but there must be other choices that offer nicer rooms, more accommodations for food and a friendlier atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudre, Owner at Oak Bay Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
I was astonished and saddened by my first negative review. The online reservation was made on our website and the pictures of our heritage house indicate a number of stairs as well as a Victorian atmosphere. No knee problems were mentioned and no allergies were listed in their request. We offered an alternate to the egg dishes we serve most days (which they ate) and gave seconds of the fruit salad when it was available (we ran out on the fourth morning of the stay), because we were full . One evening, when I couldn't start up the fireplace, I put the central heat on, as the guests indicated they were cold. The next morning, they were the only ones to complain it was too hot and asked for fans, which they received. (I turned the heat off when this was pointed out).
Four days seems a long time to stay in a home you're unhappy in - I would have been happy to rescind their reservation as I do aim to please - comments from my other guests will attest to that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

They were incredibly welcoming at the Oak Bay. They helped us plan what we are going do in Victoria, and took great care of us as we were teenagers, and so couldn't drive around Victoria.
I would highly recommend staying at the Oak Bay for a more personal service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apple_sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westerville, ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We are pleased to recommend the Oak Bay Guest House. Our hostess, Egle Vair, provided for every need and provided wonderful full course breakfasts with muffins to go!
We visited the area two weekends ago with friends from other states, as we do every other year, and found the location convenient to the sights of Victoria and the surrounding area.
Yet it was also isolated and quiet, and a short two block walk to a marina on a bay with a first class restaurant, which should be considered for the first night's stay.
We hope those who accept our recommendation enjoy Oak Bay Guest House as much as we did.
Linda and Pat Blayney
Westerville, Ohio

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bay
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Guest House

Property: Oak Bay Guest House
Address: 1052 Newport Ave, Oak Bay, British Columbia V8S 5E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Oak Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet, safe community of Oak Bay, where wealthy Victorians have been escaping the hustle and bustle of Victoria's Inner Harbour and the Empress Hotel for over a hundred years. Be only minutes (and a world) away from all the Victoria has to offer. This Victoria Bed and Breakfast, located in BC, Canada, is a gracious 1912 Victorian Home. The home was converted to the Newport Inn in 1922 and has been accommodating travelers to Victoria since then. There are 9 rooms and 2 suites, all with private bathrooms (10 of the bathrooms are en suite). Free breakfast. Sun lounge is perfect for an afternoon cup of tea or snack. A fireside lounge is cozy for an evening glass of wine. Oak Bay is a walkers paradise. Easy walking distance to Oak Bay Village, Oak Bay Beach Hotel, Oak Bay Marina, Victoria Golf Club, Royal Victoria Yacht Club, Willow Beach and almost countless parks. Close to University of Victoria and Camosun. Enjoy the tranquility of a traditional English home in the heart of Oak Bay Village, steps from the Salish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Oak Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Guest House Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing