We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Stay in Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Bay Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Oak Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top Notch Stay in Victoria”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor contributors and their recommendations, we booked 4 lovely days at Oak Bay Guest House in August 2013. Nicole and Mario have done a fantastic job at making you feel at home in their lovely house. We were very happy with the room and the breakfasts are great, changing each morning. The dining room waitress, Joanne, is a sweetheart and is so cheerful.
We tried a number of restaurants in Victoria but found very nice ones in Oak Bay, both downtown and at the marina, just two blocks away. Oak Bay is a very beautiful suburb of Victoria, but very close to downtown. Beach Drive is one block away and you can follow it to the centre of Victoria. The scenery in B.C. is breathtaking and this drive downtown is one of the most beautiful we came across in our 2 week visit.

Room Tip: We very much enjoyed the Duchess Room, overlooking the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    37
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
79
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I only stayed overnight, but had a wonderful experience. Mario was fantastic and the room was very comfortable Clean, quiet and exactly what we were looking for. We went out for dinner, had a great night's sleep and very much enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckdad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My favourite place to stay on Vancouver Island, whether I'm travelling alone or with family. Clean, quiet, and like a home away from home. Friendly staff, best breakfasts on the Island. Beautiful gardens, a walk to the Ocean and shops. Plenty to do in quiet Oak Bay, and the Guest House is close to it all. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I've only stayed in the Duchess and Garden Rooms. I prefer the Duchess when travelling solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The coffee was weak and so was the wi-fi but they are working to change both. The shower in the Tapestry room is very temperamental, can suddenly turn very cold. These are the only negatives. The hosts are extremely nice, very helpful, and have the right touch of being friendly and accessible without being hovering or intrusive. The breakfasts were very good, the bed was very comfy, the location is great. The neighborhood is beautiful and very walkable, there are great restaurants and pubs nearby, it is close to the beach, a great place to start & end bike rides. Easy access to downtown Victoria by car, bike or bus. We had a great time and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Oak Bay Guest House for 3 nights during our trip to Vancouver Isle. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was clean and the beds were very comfy. The location was perfect, just 2 blocks to the ocean and minutes to downtown Victoria. Parking was free. Breakfast was delicious, my favourite was the freshly baked lemon scones. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlWh0LikesT0Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I arrived on day one of a four day conference in Victoria. I was told breakfast would be at 8 and told how and where to catch the bus to make it to the conference. Well, it turned out there were many of us there staying for the same conference and so Mario and Nicole changed the breakfast times to earlier to accommodate us and then set up a shuttle service to the University so we wouldn't have to navigate Victoria Transit. I have issues with gluten. That was not a problem. In fact, the food was so good, I think Nicole should do a cookbook. The rooms are beautiful...warm, pretty, clean (really clean).

I would not hesitate to stay again and am planning my next trip to ensure I can stay with them again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at the guest house while attending a conference at the University of Victoria, and it was perfect in every way. The room (Tapestry) was comfortable, with a lovely claw-foot tub for soaking. The house is close to the sea, village shops and cafes, and while a bit of a hike from the conference venue, the wonderful folks gave us a lift in the morning, which went well beyond the call of duty. But most impressive of all, from my perspective, was their consideration of my dietary needs. I cannot eat wheat or dairy products, which can be tricky, but Nicole made the most amazing bread, scones , muffins and even pancakes. Nicole and Mario were kind, generous and very welcoming, and the entire visit was delightful because of their gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLSnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bay
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,512 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Guest House

Property: Oak Bay Guest House
Address: 1052 Newport Ave, Oak Bay, British Columbia V8S 5E3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Oak Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet, safe community of Oak Bay, where wealthy Victorians have been escaping the hustle and bustle of Victoria's Inner Harbour and the Empress Hotel for over a hundred years. Be only minutes (and a world) away from all the Victoria has to offer. This Victoria Bed and Breakfast, located in BC, Canada, is a gracious 1912 Victorian Home. The home was converted to the Newport Inn in 1922 and has been accommodating travelers to Victoria since then. There are 9 rooms and 2 suites, all with private bathrooms (10 of the bathrooms are en suite). Free breakfast. Sun lounge is perfect for an afternoon cup of tea or snack. A fireside lounge is cozy for an evening glass of wine. Oak Bay is a walkers paradise. Easy walking distance to Oak Bay Village, Oak Bay Beach Hotel, Oak Bay Marina, Victoria Golf Club, Royal Victoria Yacht Club, Willow Beach and almost countless parks. Close to University of Victoria and Camosun. Enjoy the tranquility of a traditional English home in the heart of Oak Bay Village, steps from the Salish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Oak Bay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bay Guest House Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing