We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Flexible, Family Run”
Review of Quinta dos Poetas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quinta dos Poetas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pechao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I hosted a long weekend “big” birthday party for 16 at the Quinta in February 2011 and have nothing but praise for the establishment and the staff. From the moment that I contacted them to enquire as to the possibility, they were friendly and highly responsive by email, even in the evenings and at weekends, and the event itself went extremely well.

The Quinta is most attractive and is only 20 minutes by car from Faro airport towards the quieter, less developed Eastern Algarve. It is 10 minutes drive from Olhao, where there are plenty of restaurants for variety of eating plus interesting walking through the markets, along the “front” and around the Ria Formosa Natural Park. If without a hire car, one can easily call for taxis.

The bedrooms are large and very comfortable, with Ethernet ports in each one. The rooms are on the ground and first floors (there is a lift for luggage only), with magnificent views over the largely open country. There was a very welcome open fire in the lounge/reception area. There are large grounds, with a 5 hole pitch and putt course and an outside swimming pool.

Breakfast is taken in the hotel building; the only thing that some people thought could have been better was the coffee (although tea drinkers were delighted with the electric kettle which ensured boiling water). The restaurant (which also caters for large events) is some way away at the bottom of the slope so that hotel guests are not bothered by any noise (although the location did cause us a bit of a problem when torrential rain occurred just as my guests wanted to walk from the hotel to the restaurant for my lunch event!) The food was excellent – perhaps starters were a trifle too large!

This is a small family-run hotel in a quiet location; nothing was too much trouble. Thoroughly recommended - especially for a mature birthday party with a difference!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thurza_Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 293 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

From the first email till the day we left the communication with Margarida, Rosario and all the other members of their family and staff was great.
I am a Coeliac and they went out of their way to make sure I had an equal enjoyable breakfast as the rest of their guests. At the end of our stay I was presented with a bag full of leftover cakes, bread and muesli, which was such a help as we had to stop at restaurants and hotels on our way back in our hired car to Madrid.
Their restaurant on the other side of their beautiful gardens (including a golf course) was also superb and we enjoyed several lunches and dinners there.
Many other guests used their hotel as a base during a cycle holiday and had day trips around the beautiful area of Algarve. I would love to return for another holiday, but we live in Australia so it might not happen, but we treasure the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 167elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Sorry this review is very late as I had a very busy year being pregnant with my third child! We stayed at this lovely hotel for a few days last May. Myself and husband, our two small children and my parents visiting from Australia. It is a fairly small hotel, set beside a small golf course, in the peaceful countryside about 15 mins by car from the port town of Olhao. Things that spring to mind ... spacious reception area with comfortable sofas for lounging and reading and a plasma TV (although Portuguese channels I think). Breakfast room / bar area is fine and there was a nice spread of continental breakfast every morning ... cereals, bread, fresh fruits, fresh - I think you can order eggs if you fancy.
The staff were very friendly, nothing was ever too much trouble. If you want to stay by the pool all day, they do nice toasted sandwiches (rolls or bread, ham, cheese, chorizo - not alot of choice) and fresh juice, beers, wine etc for lunch. Or the restaurant is also open most days for lunch and they do a set menu for a brilliant price - although sorry can't remember how much!
We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the meal was superb. Fresh local ingredients and the chef is always around for a friendly chat to talk about where the food is sourced from and to give you some good tips on the area. Wine list was excellent too. I think that lots of locals come from far and wide to eat here as although it's in some kind of strange pavillion thing, it seems like quite an "event" to eat there.
The pool area is lovely - huge pool for the size of the hotel. Lots of sunloungers too. It was fairly quiet when we were there (late May), couples only, no other kids. We had one day when it was fine to swim but unfortunately the other days it rained.
My dad and husband played golf every morning and the kids followed them around the small course which kept them amused.
As I said, it's very close to Olhao so you can take a taxi into town for shopping, and to go out for lunch or dinner as there are so many restaurants to try.
The rooms weren't huge but they were light as we had a small balcony, and the beds were comfy. We shared our room with the kids, one of them in a foldaway bed and the other squeezed between us !
All in all terrific value for money and a real little gem.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

we stayed here last week for 3 nights.Weather perfect so we enjoyed the pool area andate lunch on restaurant terrace food there excellent. The hotel is a good standard and in alovely rural area (if a little difficult to find) We do however have a few negative comments,--the breakfast could be improved , coffee was bitter and tasted stewed tomatoes would have been nice with the cheese / ham eggs would have been a good addition. The lack of a balcony in the room was a disapointment! The staff only seemed to offer minimal interaction seemed more interested in being focused on the computer screen behind the desk! It was a shame that there was not the opportunity to eat breakfast alfresco.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila_tyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

From the moment we checked in nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff. The room was spotlessly clean and the views over the pool and countryside were beautiful.
We were told that the restaurant was excellent, but on the night we stayed they had a wedding party and so the restaurant was closed until 9pm, but the reception staff recommended a local restaurant which was wonderful.
Wish we could have stayed longer - will definitely go back, for longer next time

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlot81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I spent a wonderful week at this hotel. Very quiet and relaxing with excellent service. A fairly small, family run hotel. They were all very charming and couldn't do enough for us to the extent of driving us to a restaurant and picking us up again as we hadn't hired a car. There was a very picturesque 5 hole pitch and putt golf course, but nevertheless it was quite testing. The pool, restaurant and rooms were all lovely. Bedrooms were spotlessly clean. Only a couple of comments - snack lunches are fairly restricted and if you are an in-between meal snacker, take something with you. I would advise hiring a car, but ask the hotel for a map of the local roads - easy to get lost. Beautiful beaches, though can be windy. The Portugese are so welcoming and friendly. Would recommend this holiday to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilliepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Quinta dos poetas is a family run place - which you notice at once when you arrive. We were greated with warm hospitality and experienced during our stay that they are always there to make your holiday as pleasant as possible.Top service, couldn't be better, and every time with charm / a smile. Always, though, in a descrete way - making you feel at home and relaxed. The hotel is small, and that is what we prefer, we also loved the perfect calmness. The hotel has a beautiful garden, lovely, well kept swimming pool, an the best: he restaurant is almost shockingly good, considering the price. Breakfast is fresh and relaxed - a buffet with selected cheese, ham, fresh fruits, cereals a.s.o .We had some trouble finding the right way from Faro airport - my advice is to follow the signs for Faro, after that to Tavira/Olhaou. When in Olhao, you need to turn180 degregrees in one of the roundabouts to find a small sign for Pechao - look out, not easy to see. Then you follow the instructions from the hotel. If you don't rent a car, Taxi to Olhao is around 10 euros - a colourful, charming town - we recommend restaurant Ria de Formosa. For a guided trip around the Ria Formosa we recommend Natura. You have to book in advance, look it up on the internet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pechao
3.3 mi away
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Olhao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Casa Modesta
Casa Modesta
#1 of 7 in Olhao
103 reviews
4.4 mi away
Vila Monte Farm House
Vila Monte Farm House
#1 of 4 in Moncarapacho
524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta dos Poetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta dos Poetas

Address: Pechao-Estoi, Pechao, Olhao 8700-245, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao > Pechao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pechao
Price Range: $69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta dos Poetas 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most beautiful natural scenery that the Algarve has to offer, Quinta dos Poetas brings together the best that can be expected of a rural Portuguese hotel: A warm and familiar environment, tranquillity, comfort, proximity to the beach and excellent gastronomy. The hotel offers a restaurant, bar, large pool, beautiful gardens, jogging track, gymnasium, games room, free wi-fi, putting green and private parking. The rooms feature enhanced decorations have the most modern conditions of comfort: air conditioning, LCD TV, free wi-fi, telephone, minibar, safe, fully equipped bathroom, bathrobe and hairdryer. A few minutes by car or bicycle rented in the Hotel, you can explore the Ria Formosa Natural Park, one of the natural wonders of Portugal, known for its beautiful beaches and islands or the interior of the Algarve mountain range and their rural villages, a journey marked by the interaction between Nature, Heritage, Rural Life, Tradition, Innovation and Knowledge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta dos Poetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Dos Poetas Olhao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing