We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Boulevard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boulevard Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Reviewed July 3, 2005

We chose the Boulevard Inn to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary this weekend, and for the most part were thrilled with our stay. After reading previous reviews, I was concerned about staff attitude. However, it soon became apparent that staff attitude is now a priority at the Inn. Our telephone reservation and subsequent follow-up call for additional information was handled with the utmost professionalism. The attitude of all Inn staff that we met, from the front desk manager (Rita), to the housekeepers was excellent. Andrea at the reception desk was outstanding.

The Inn is in an excellent location for beach access and quaint shops are within walking distance. Our 6th floor spacious, Harbor Lights Suite was extremely comfortable, in a location perfect for viewing spectacular sunsets. Unfortunately, our sitting room window view was encumbered by vapor trapped between the panes of glass. However, the view from our bedroom was phenomenal.

The Inn’s sitting room and library have a warm inviting ambiance. Free apples and cookies daily add to the, “sit and stay awhile” feel. The Bistro’s full American breakfast, including made to order omelets, was very good.

As with all Inns, there are cons. For us, they were: No pool, Jacuzzi, or sauna, the water pressure in the shower was abysmal (management has promised to check it), no services directory or phone book in the room. And last, but not least, at 6:00 a.m. I inquired at the front desk where I could get a small carton of milk for coffee. I was directed to a nearby gas station, or to wait for the Bistro to open at 7:30 a.m. Thankfully, the station was only a couple of blocks away, since I had to walk. As there was no Services Directory in the room, room service completely slipped my mind. I was very disappointed that it apparently also slipped the receptionist's mind.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BritYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2005

A happy accident! We'd had reservations at another hotel, but it was so filthy and shopworn, we simply could not stay there. Blocks away, we found the Boulevard - no comparison! THE SUITE: Very clean, incredibly spacious, charming in its cheerfully quaint, sunny decor (read: not precious, though clearly a work in progress); & with a bed that was surprisingly comfortable. It was refreshing to have a respite from those dark, dreary, passe palettes still reigning in too many midwest hotels. THE STAFF: Exceptionally helpful, polite, personable, & accomodating. THE EXTRAS: 1- Fantastic, fresh, full complimentary breakfast buffet (deemed "continental" by the hotel). It included fabulous bread & a terrific made-to-order omelet. We enjoyed attentive service inside, sun streaming through an expansive wall of french doors. Guests may also opt for al fresco dining which overlooks a park-like setting (and a pretty water vista beyond). 2- The wine selection in the Bistro may be stellar per reports from Wine Spectator several years ago; alas, we were en route & unable to stay. 3- Great Value for: weekend rate, city of this size and region, sweet though somewhat funky suite, omnipresent cleanliness, and general amenities (e.g., a lovely, traditional library steeped in elegant ambience; proximity to the Lake; unexpected bath extras; windows everywhere; etc.). ONLY DRAWBACK: Troubled by the first suite secondary to door problems, as was a couple down the hall, we were promptly provided with another having no relative issues. Nevertheless, for security & acoustics, this must be addressed accordingly, (& is per staff reports).

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PoppyPrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tacoma, WA
15
Reviewed May 26, 2005

My wife and I have been on a road trip in the midwest, and it was suggested we come to St. Joseph as a cute town with a lovely beach. That is all true, but we were a bit concerned to stay at the Boulevard Inn, because previous reviews have not been very positive. We, however, have loved it. Our king harbor view room is a spacious suite (which all rooms are) with a great view and a refrigerator. The furnishings are more comfortable than fancy, which is fine with us. The staff has been friendly and helpful, the full breakfast very nice, the welcome cookies and apples tasty. And the location, overlooking the harbor and just a short walk to the beach and the quaint shopping district, can't be beat.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Cloud, MN
330
Reviewed April 28, 2005

My husband & I stayed at the Boulevard Inn for a couple nights (4/23-4/25) and we were not impressed (especially considering the cost.) Their rates were significantly higher than what is listed online. Perhaps they were anticipating a busy weekend? (which it was not because the weather was not good.) But, to make a comparison, we paid only about $15 less a night than what we just had paid in DOWNTOWN CHICAGO for a beautiful room.

Location of the Hotel is Good - They do have views of Lake Michigan and are within walking distance to the beach, pier, downtown, etc. So, given better weather, that would have been wonderful!

Service - Rude! The gal that checked us in on Saturday (late night) was very unfriendly.....she didn't actually greet us, she "processed" our check in and that was about it. Perhaps, that is acceptable to management there? I guess I'm accustomed to some type of greeting... perhaps, "Hello," maybe even idle chit chat about the blustery weather? I am from MN Nice so, perhaps I had too high of expectations?

Restaurant - Looked/Smelled Really good....however, we didn't eat there, but, had heard from our local friends that it was supposed to be good.

The Room - I believe that the issue was probably because 3 days before our arrival, the weather was beautiful... the night that we arrived, it was blustery, snowing and cold. However, the heat was turned all the way down (I guess I would have thought someone may have turned it up as they expect guests to arrive.) So, it was very chilly in our room, therefore, immediately not cozy or inviting. The extra pillows in the closet smelled like previous users so, we put the pillow cases on the floor to be changed out the following day (which they were). Even so, it was unfortunately all about first impressions...... The rooms were however, very spacious and laid out well.

Overall Experience - As I stated before, unfortunately, it is all about First/Immediate Impressions. The rate was double than what is listed online, the "customer service" gal that "processed" our check in was less than cordial, the heat was not on in our room to greet us, dirty pillow cases (which makes one wonder about the cleanliness of everything else). Although, location in better weather would have been wonderful....All in all, if I were to visit St. Joseph, MI, again, I don't think that I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2004

Great location - near town and Silver Lake beach, but the staff was extremely unprofessional. We had issues with our reservation, and the front desk informed is the hotel was 'sold out', but failed to offer help to find another hotel in the area - especially frustrating considering that we had our toddler and infant children with us. Finally an hour later (that's how long it took the travel agent to get them on the phone) they offered us a room, and then another half-hour passed while they processed a new reservation.

5  Thank MamaGab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
montreal,qc
12
Reviewed February 19, 2004

This hotel had some teething problems.But the management responded quickly to suggestions and have applied corrective measures.The restaurant is great and the location ideal.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Burr Oak, Michigan
16
Reviewed August 10, 2003

I made plans for my mother who has cancer and my 2 sisters to take a mini vacation. We had the Harbor side and it was the last room when i booked it plus the most expensive. We found our door to not work properly and it looked like someone had tryed to pry the door open or something of that nature. You could pull the door closed and then just push on it and it would go aprt a good inch or more. we complained and nothing was done, only that they couldn't do a thing about it...At night we had to use the chain on the inside as the bolt lock didn't work due tio the broken door. It really put a cloud over our time together... An employee even said that it wouldn't take much to kick this door in with the problem at hand..he felt too that something should be done or a discount or something, but that never happened...
we will not stay there ever again nor will we recommend this place to anyone ....

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.7 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
3.7 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulevard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard Inn

Address: 521 Lake Blvd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1311
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $123 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boulevard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in our newly remodeled all-suite accommodations at The Boulevard Inn, ideally nestled atop the bluff overlooking Lake Michigan. Allow our courteous staff to anticipate your needs and exceed your expectations! Quaint shops, gorgeous beaches, and an abundance of dining options are located just a short walk from our hotel in St. Joseph, Michigan. As our guest, you'll enjoy a complimentary expanded continental breakfast served in the Bistro on the Boulevard each morning. While you're here, delight in lunch, dinner or cocktails served in the area’s most highly regarded restaurant. Our signature style takes advantage of local, fresh, seasonal ingredients simply and elegantly prepared. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Boulevard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard Hotel Saint Joseph

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing