We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first B&B experience...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Joseph
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Painted Turtle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I reserved a room at the Painted Turtle Inn for our 13th wedding anniversary, it was the first time we had stayed at a B&B. What an experience! The room was cozy and clean, the common areas were updated and comfortable. Christine met us at check-in and made us feel like we just arrived home, the next morning she made us one of the best breakfast's I've had in a long time! A great experience all around, we'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: This is a two-story house with wood floors throughout, choose a room on the second floor so you don...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prairiestar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for The Painted Turtle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 118 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

The grounds are well kept and we managed to get there before a storm came across lake MI that night. We were the only ones that had rented a room for that night, so Christine allowed us to select which room we wanted to stay in. She asked us what we would like for breakfast and suggested we eat at the Grand Mere for dinner, (while the GM was a lovely venue, the food was mediocre). The room was impeccable, lovely modern decor with impressive bathrooms and linens. Homemade chocolate turtles and soaps in the shape of turtles. So nice. Breakfast of fruits, a veggie frittata and carmelized bacon, was fantastic! Definitely would return.

Room Tip: The bedrooms on the top level are more secluded, but each room is beautifully decorated.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgangirl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Painted Turtle Inn over Memorial Day weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We cannot compliment the inn and the owners enough! Christine was very welcoming from the beginning, giving us the lay of the land and chatting. The entire facility is immaculate, recently renovated and super clean. The décor and finishes show the owners spared no expense to make all guests feel as though they are in the lap of luxury. The breakfasts are the best you will find at any B&B, I guarantee it! My favorite was the coffee cake and the house bacon. The location was very good with easy access to downtown and right across the street from a park directly on the lake. Perfect for watching the sunset.

The only negative is the street noise because the Inn is on a main road thru town, but with the windows shut the street noise is not bad at all. I'd imagine the rooms at the back of the house don't hear much of the street if at all. We will definitely be staying there again and recommending it to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dunegrass. It has a beach theme, but the décor is very tasteful and not over the t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachgirl281010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Needed to get away for the weekend to relax. Made a reservation at the Painted Turtle and glad that I did. The accommodations were perfect. The rooms and common areas were extremely clean and well maintained. Wasn't certain where to eat dinner and Christine took care of everything. The breakfast was top notch!!! Would highly recommend staying at the Painted Turtle!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I had a bridal shower to attend on Sarurday, so my husband and I decided to turn it into a couples night out! The Painted Turtle Inn is the best of the best! It was everything we expected and more. The Painted Turtle Inn is newly remodeled with modern decor. It was very clean with all the amenities of a hotel but felt like home. Christine's hospitality was friendly and genuine. We will stay again when we return to the area. Thank you Christine for making our stay comfortable and luxurious!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have more privacy and are quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this was hands down the nicest one. Very modern/clean and newly renovated house. A cozy fireplace with lots of games and reading materials. Delicious food - from local wine and yummy fresh cookies in the afternoon time to the 3 course breakfast in the morning. Christine is a great host - very friendly and courteous. I never hang out in the main area when at a bed and breakfast but my boyfriend and I spent a lot of time there because it was so nicely done. Very clean and modern bathrooms. WiFi, flat screen TVs, ipod hookup by the bed, wine openers, fresh water, etc. Everything you could want in a hotel stay.

Room Tip: Griffon room was most affordable and in a nice location on the first floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We were thrilled with our stay at the Painted Turtle Inn. Joel and Christine were fantastic, the breakfast was to die for, and the room was comfortable and romantic. We appreciated the cleanliness. We hope to visit again soon. Great value too!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
3.0 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Painted Turtle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Painted Turtle Inn

Address: 3205 Lakeshore Dr, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-2627
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $150 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Painted Turtle Inn is a brand new bed and breakfast that is situated on Lakeshore Drive, overlooking the bluff and with each room offering vantage points highlighting Lake Michigan, our B&B is known for its location, luxury accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. The home features a completely redesigned interior to ensure a clean, quiet and comfortable experience for our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing