We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for Improvement”
Review of Chocolate Cafe

Chocolate Cafe
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped in here on a very busy Saturday night. Space was at a premium - a long line for ordering and a band in the corner left little room to look in the cases or walk around. They could have used a few more employees. It took a long time to place our order and just as long to get it. Our coffees were very good, however. The candies in the case were looking a little old. Prices were a bit high (especially for our child's ice cream). I'd stop back for coffee at a time that wasn't as crazy busy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beentheredonethat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    17
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food ok”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The shop looked like it had been a long weekend. I realize it was the Tuesday after Labor Day but the shop looked well used and not in the best way. The food was ok. The service was not so good. We walked in when the place was empty, although it was noon. After standing around for a bit, someone came out to the counter to take our order. She got busy making our salad and sandwich and completely missed the family standing behind us waiting to order. She couldn't handle two things at once and that family walked out. The ice cream case was a complete mess. Even if I wanted ice cream, I wouldn't get it there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KBurik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots to choose from”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great selection of ice creams and chocolate cakes. I would have dessert here every night if i could.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank vasilemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too pricey!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The chocolate is good and there is a good variety but it is too pricey. My kids were disappointed because we couldn't afford to get what they wanted. What we did get, the kids kind of liked.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heaven0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful cherry hot chocolate!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hot chocolate was wonderful - and they include a chocolate covered spoon. Delightful!

We went back the next day to enjoy a cup of coffee. They do offer a soy option which is very nice. It was nice to sit outside and enjoy a beautiful morning with a cup of coffee. I was jealous of the woman who ordered a chocolate mocha - they scooped actual melted chocolate into the coffee cup. YUM! If we had another day, that would've been on my to try list indeed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate Cafe also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to Chocolate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing