We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
156
11
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
11
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal oakblue skyvictoria roomdowntown stamazing hostsdeck overlooking the pondjacuzzi tubearly marchgreat weekendfrom chicagobeautiful propertycharming b bjohnpigeonsretreat
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 170 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018

We recently had a wonderful mid-week, Mid-March getaway at The Dove Nest. Each morning, John made us a gourmet 3 course breakfast (fresh fruit; omelet with sautéed peppers and asparagus, toast, butter and jam; home made cherry pie with whipped cream). In the evening, Jitka made us a roaring fire in the living room fireplace. We appreciated soaking in the wonderful whirlpool tub after an afternoon of walking the beach in Saugatuck (beautiful even in the Winter)! Jitka gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. Both the accommodations and hospitality were outstanding!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Dove Nest for MLK weekend. It was very pleasant, quiet and romantic...exactly what we were looking for. The home is very, very clean and John and Jitka were very accommodating. John's breakfasts were fantastic, always surprising us with something slightly new and exciting. They made us feel very comfortable. We took advantage of the cross country skiing and snowshoeing that is offered near by. Seeing Lake Michigan in its frozen glory was also breathtaking. We were happy to see that many of the restaurants, bars and shops downtown were still open in the off season. I definitely recommend and will be back. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

Thank you for opening your beautiful home to guests. I had an amazing stay filled with quiet, rest, clarity and great food. It was exactly what God has planned to get this tired mom back to full force.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank DrTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I decided to escape the city for the weekend and decided to try out our first bed and breakfast. We are hooked! The place itself has the feel of getting away and being in nature, but is also a quick 10-15 min drive from any wineries, food, downtown exploring or the lighthouse on a beach. We stayed in the Garden Victoria room with a large comfy king bed and cozy electric fireplace. Everything was so clean and there was a touch of Home and thoughtfulness in every detail. We only met John, but he was so welcoming, told the most interesting stories, and he and his wife made the most delicious 3 course breakfast! We are already trying to figure out the next time we can come back and who we might bring along for the fun. Thank you!!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ShanB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017

We spent our honeymoon at the Dove Nest and we were so glad we did! This was our first time staying at The Dove Nest and we were so impressed with our visit. The whole home is beautifully decorated in a cozy, yet elegant manner. Our stay was delightful and John and Jitka were so kind and accommodating of our varied schedule. We stayed in the Victoria Garden room and it was very comfortable- just the perfect size to make it feel spacious but also relaxing. The three-course breakfast each morning was delicious made with fresh produce from John's garden. Nearby the house is the dove house from which you can hear the sound of pigeons and doves gently cooing to each other. We really enjoyed relaxing in the hammock and watching the birds. We couldn't more highly recommend this location or the hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews