We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend getaway”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed Sat/Sun in January (girlfriends getaway trip). Our hosts were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was amazing, so delicious!! The place is beautiful, relaxing and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the overall environment is fantastic. We had such a nice relaxing time! Highly recommended! Can't wait to come back in summer time and do wineries, beach and festivals.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ch1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jitka N, Owner at Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcome you here again in the future. Each season here in St. Joseph is different - enjoyable anytime with various activities in town and surrounding areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
116
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The home is impeccably kept and very warm and comfortable. We spent the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Royal oak room was very nice, and the bed was super comfy. Breakfast was delicious and John and jitka were great hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianDownes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a year ago and jumped at the chance this year to introduce our friends from Kansas City, MO to these beautiful surroundings and fine food and celebrate our mutual anniversaries. The home, furnishings and breakfast are absolutely first class. John is a fine, helpful host; the charming Jitka was away this time -- our loss. Good, kitchy shopping in St. Joe along a fine beach/waterfront. You'll never forget this place.

Room Tip: Hard to beat Garden Victoria, but all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Dove Nest for our anniversary trip. This was our first time at a B&B and we were very impressed with how clean & comfy it was. As other reviews mention, the owners are fantastic hosts with great stories to share. They are chatty but not imposing. They know the area well and have great recommendations for activities, resturants, etc. The three course breakfast was delicious both mornings we were there and it's apparent that the owners take pride in their fresh items. Breakfast was certainly a highlight of our day!
I obviously didn't read the property description well because I was suprised to find a large aviary in the back. I'm not really a bird person and they were a bit loud in the early morning hours, but that was easily remidied by closing the window. We stayed in the Royal Oak room. The bed was VERY comfortable - probably the best night sleep I've ever had away from home. It also has a mini-fridge in the room. The balcony overlooks the back yard and was perfect for relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

While looking online for a B&B to stay at after a day of wine tasting in Southwest Michigan; I came across Dove Nest. The reviews were great so I emailed the hosts and received a quick response with their availability. I told the hosts (John and Jitka) that there would be 2 couples wanting to go on a wine tour. John informed me that they have their own vehicle and will charter people around to the wineries (prices will vary depending on the size of the group.) Long story short - we booked the hotel and their wine tour. I had some idea of the wineries we wanted to go to but asked for John's suggestions. He took us to 5 wineries and a chocolate tasting! He was also our photographer, tour guide, concierge, and storyteller (seriously, this guy can do almost anything.)
The inn was comfortable and homely. The breakfast was so fresh and tasty. I think that Jitka did the cooking/baking. She, too, was such a sweet host with some really adorable stories.
We loved this B&B, the hosts, and the beautiful location. Cant wait to return!

Room Tip: 2 couples and we stayed in the Blue Sky Room (2 separate bedrooms adjoined by a bathroom) on the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Highly recommended. Rooms are beautifully built (by owner), nicely furnished with lots of room comfortable beds and a modern ensuite bathroom.

Breakfast is nicely done and a very nice presentation.

The area is well worth a visit and this should be the place you stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gholmesbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

In this own-built palace, one finds impressive carpentry in every room, including the beds - which makes for a most pleasant atmosphere. Add to that the beautiful garden (with a mansion for the doves which is larger than our own apartment) and the really hospitable hosts, and one can only deplore having to leave again. And then the breakfast - of European quality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
206 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing