We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Got Engaged!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We Got Engaged!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I surprised my now fiance with a stay in the Royal Oak Room at Dove's Nest; it was incredible! The room is very spacious, nicely decorated, very comfortable (I wanted to buy the mattress), and most of all romantic. There is a 6-foot jacuzzi tub and the entire room is made of oak. As you will learn, John built 95% of this property by himself! My father was a carpenter so I recognize excellent craftsmanship. This piece is laid out! Moreover, John is an excellent host (Jitka was out of town taking care of a family member when we were there, but heard she is fabulous) and a fabulous cook. I was able to eat fresh grilled tomatoes from the garden every morning. Bottom line, I recommend this place to everyone and promise you will enjoy your stay. Not to mention you will be right along the Michigan Wine Trail and 15minutes from downtown St. Joes. Dove's Nest is the best B&B we have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
113
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Dove Nest is handy for downtown St. Joseph, also for wine-tasting at some beautiful vineyards. We stayed in the Royal Oak room which was lovely, and huge - with private deck, and bathroom it was like having a suite. The owners were extremely cordial and helpful, and interesting to talk to. The whole property was immaculate and tasteful, with a serene, tranquil atmosphere. Breakfast was elegant and delicious. We are already planning another trip there!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having never been to anywhere in Michigan except the Detroit airport, my wife and I were very pleasantly surprised to find such a friendly, manner in St. Joseph.

Jitka and John were very welcoming hosts who worked very hard to provide the kind of relaxation that we were seeking. We stayed in the room overlooking the pond, providing a lovely breeze and nice view of the water feature. Every night, when we returned from our day's excursion, a pair of Jitka's tasty dessert treats was on freshly placed upon our dresser. Each morning was a new three course breakfast, complete with variety, great taste, and beautiful presentation. (We typically weren't even hungry again until late afternoon.)

The gardens surrounding the sprawling residence adorn each twist and turn. The grounds are superbly kept and create a tranquil environment for a stroll down by the pond area or a lazy view of the sunset from their fabulous deck seating. (Note: If weather permits, Jitka and John will serve your breakfast outside!)

With a wealth of traveling, life experiences, and global guest engagement, the proprietors of the Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast will go more than the extra mile to make your stay a wonderful getaway to southern Michigan. We look forward to our next

Room Tip: Pond view room was a winner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Dove Nest Inn is unique, having been literally built by hand, an impressively pretty retreat that makes you feel comfortably secluded from the hustle of the world. I appreciated the quiet of the well-tended gardens and grounds, and very much enjoyed the pond with the Adirondack chairs overlooking the water and the doves cooing nearby. Had I had more time, I'd have liked to caught a nap in the hammocks. As it was, I slept like a log and relished the elegant breakfasts prepared by Jitka and served by John. The baked goods they set out between meals were also a welcome treat, especially after our drive from Chicago and a busy week at the office had us arriving late on a Friday night. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone, and I think it would be a fine accommodation for a group vacation of family or friends.

Room Tip: The Garden View Room has a private bathroom attached, which includes a bathtub with showerhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur_Carvajal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had 4 woman staying in the down stairs suite and shared wonderful memories. John and Jitka were amazing people and Jitka was an incredible chief while John served our breakfast out on their deck full of hundreds of planters all perfectly blooming as we ate our 3 course breakfast. When we arrived our first evening the smell of chocolate chip cookies drew us in to the dining area for a small evening snack. One evening my friend and I looked out the window to view the pond and ornate walk way below perfect reading and relaxing area. The Dove Nest Bed & Breakfast offers beauty, comfort, delicious food and a peaceful getaway perfect for 4 Mom's needing a break or newly weds or even a traveler interviewing for a job we visited with during our stay. I can't wait to share this experience with my husband!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Dove Nest was beautiful, super clean and spacious! The hosts were awesome as well. This was our first B&B experience and we loved it. The food was so good and plentiful that we never ate the rest of the day! Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Royal Oak room was great; had our own balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family rented the entire B&B out for the weekend and we were blown away by everything that the Dove Nest had to offer. The Innkeepers were such gracious hosts and went out of their way to make our weekend extra special. They were so welcoming of the children that we had in our party as well. The food was out of this world (provided gluten free options for guests that are g-free) and our rooms were immaculate. The outside was beautiful with lovely gardens, pond, and hammocks to relax in. We will be visiting this B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahRChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#1 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
#2 of 6 in Stevensville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing