We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a girl's wine tasting trip planned. We were looking for a comfortable B&B where we could hang out, play games, visit and have someone prepare us a delicious breakfast, which is exactly what we found. Since there were three of us we needed more than one room and the Dove Nest had the perfect arrangement with the lovely, two bedroom private "wing". Each room in the house had fresh cut flowers from their yard and had special touches to make you feel very pampered (fireplace in some rooms, chocolates by bed). I only wish the weather were nicer/warmer so we could have spent time enjoying their beautiful landscape and pond. We spent the evening playing games in the open living room, visiting, then picked a movie from the large selection they had to choose from and snuggled up in our room to watch a movie. We all had a good nights rest in a very comfortable bed and awoke to have a delicious 3 course breakfast that was amazing. The pumpkin pancakes topped with ice cream were impressive! With full bellies we left for a biking tour of the wineries which were only minutes away. John and Jitka were wonderful hosts and made up feel very welcome. I hope to take my husband there for a weekend get away soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
112
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Mi.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here one night for our 42nd anniversary. We wanted something special and were happy to come across this lovely place. We chose the Royal Oak Room and it was large and elegant. So many details have been thought of to make the guests happy and comfortable. We always notice and appreciate that. We loved the beautifully landscaped grounds, and they were particularly colorful on the autumn day we were here. The doves around made it charming and interesting too. The breakfast was terrific. We liked the idea of the first course being brought to our room. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. We also enjoyed our little chats with them. What more could you ask for!

Room Tip: We like large rooms so chose the Royal Oak Room. It also had a balcony which was nice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi.Flower-Child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I decided to surprise my boyfriend and take him to a bed and breakfast for his birthday and since we have never been to one, it was a great idea. John and Jitka were amazing hosts.

Their cute B & B was greatly located 6 miles away from everything. Downtown St. Joe, the wineries n shops.

They provided a great little breakfast every morning n even set up a special section for my boyfriend's birthday.

Thank u for making our first experience at a B & B one we will never forget.

Tony & Tina

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room which was quant and cozy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaM99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at the Dove Nest B&B. Hosts John and Jitka made us feel welcome and took care of every last detail to help make our weekend special. Everything from serving delicious breakfasts by candlelight to beautiful fresh-cut flowers from their garden. We couldn't have asked for better accommodations. There were so many fun and relaxing things to do in the area ~ something for everyone. We definitely recommend staying at the Dove Nest B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a delightful cottage style home on lovely property. We stayed in the Royal Oak room for two nights and highly recommend the experience. Our room had a private balcony overlooking the gardens which we enjoyed each morning with the 1st course of the breakfast (yes there are 3 courses) and china pot of coffee or tea. Attention to details is evident from fresh flowers and chocolates, the fluffy bath towels, heavenly bed with soft linens, lavendar soaps and the breakfast! Each morning you are greeted with beautiful music; la vie en rose (my favorite) and what is clearly a carefully thought out breakfast with high quality ingredients. Loved the blueberry mustard! Thank you Jitka and John for a lovely stay. Caroline and Roger

Room Tip: Royal Oak, 2nd floor great views with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I spent our 32nd wedding anniversary at the Dove Nest B&B and had an outstanding time! The grounds were spectacular, the room was immaculate, and the three-course breakfasts were fabulous.

During our stay we visited several of the wineries within a six mile radius of the B&B. We enjoyed the weekend festivals and the friendliness of the locals. Finding the wineries and great restaurants was easy with help from our hosts.

I would highly recommend staying at the Dove Nest as John and Jitka made you feel like family.

Mike & JoAnn V.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Victoria room and it was beautiful and more than adequate for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoAnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent two nights at the Dove's Nest to start off our honeymoon before heading east. We had a lovely stay. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson were caring, considerate, and eager to serve. The breakfasts were tasty and delicious. The Royal Oak room was spacious, clean, had a very comfortable bed, and a great view of the property. The only negative thing to say was that we heard an alarm sounding on the owner's cellphone downstairs early Saturday morning which woke us up. All in all, we highly recommend and would visit again.

Room Tip: The Royal Oak room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
#2 of 6 in Stevensville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing