We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I spent our 32nd wedding anniversary at the Dove Nest B&B and had an outstanding time! The grounds were spectacular, the room was immaculate, and the three-course breakfasts were fabulous.

During our stay we visited several of the wineries within a six mile radius of the B&B. We enjoyed the weekend festivals and the friendliness of the locals. Finding the wineries and great restaurants was easy with help from our hosts.

I would highly recommend staying at the Dove Nest as John and Jitka made you feel like family.

Mike & JoAnn V.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Victoria room and it was beautiful and more than adequate for our stay.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoAnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 158 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent two nights at the Dove's Nest to start off our honeymoon before heading east. We had a lovely stay. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson were caring, considerate, and eager to serve. The breakfasts were tasty and delicious. The Royal Oak room was spacious, clean, had a very comfortable bed, and a great view of the property. The only negative thing to say was that we heard an alarm sounding on the owner's cellphone downstairs early Saturday morning which woke us up. All in all, we highly recommend and would visit again.

Room Tip: The Royal Oak room has the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Dove Nest B&B. The house is tucked away in a quiet rural area, just a short drive to the lake and wineries. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful in terms of getting us oriented to the area and sights. The room was very clean and the king size bed was luxurious. The house itself was pleasant though lacked the character one finds in many B&Bs, particularly older buildings. The grounds surrounding it were beautifully landscaped and breakfast was served on the deck. Breakfasts were fine, but not particularly exciting. Eggs both mornings were a little dry and came from the kitchen two at a time. Because all (six) guests politely waited for everyone to be served those served first had lukewarm food. With local blueberries at the height of their season it would have been nice to have a dish that featured them instead of the grocery store strawberries. All in all, a satisfactory stay, but next we're in the area we'll probably try one of the other B&Bs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here! We will recommend it to others. The breakfasts were wonderfully tasty, the grounds are peaceful and beautiful, and John and Jitka were very friendly. Thank you for a wonderful visit!

Room Tip: We loved the Pond View Room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Faith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Last fall, with Fighting Irish tickets in hand, we decided to spend the night before the big game at a bed and breakfast near lake Michigan. We booked our stay at Dove Nest. At first we weren't sure we had the right place and almost chuckled about even going in, but we did and so glad we did. The grounds are amazing. Although this B&B was the owners home for a time, they have converted it to a very cozy and off the beaten track B&B. High light of the stay?? Breakfast. We've stayed at B&B's all over the country and hands down the breakfast served here is the best we've ever had. I am certain that if we decide to attend another Notre Dame game, Dove Nest will be our choice of places to stay. I highly, highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Dove Nest! John and Jitka make you feel so at home and taken care of. We stayed in the Pond View room which was very cute, clean and comfortable. The home-cooked breakfast was delicious! The location is close to wineries and downtown St. Joe and offers many activities to keep you busy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Although we came here on a "working vacation", we chose this over a hotel. The owners went out of their way to fit our stay there into our needed schedule.

The area around the B&B is beautiful, the doves were neat & the food plentiful & delicious. Three course breakfast!!!

It was our first time visiting Michigan & our hosts made it very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
213 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $232 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing