We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The extensive grounds are outstanding, so take time to spend to luxuriate in them. The owners, John and Jitka, go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. John designed and built the home and did the landscaping, too. He's a genius. The 3 course breakfast is one of the best we've ever had at a B&B. The only negative is that the pre-dinner appetizers are a sweet treat. We've usually had wine and light snacks at B&Bs, so were disappointed because we didn't want something sweet before dinner. The Royal Oak room is the most expensive, but it has its own deck to relax in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerri777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's, and this one ranks right up toward the top. Excellent accommodations - elegant bath and bedroom with gorgeous walnut flooring and one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in. John and Jitka are naturals as innkeepers - super friendly and gracious. Their grounds are lovely and include a pond stocked with colorful fish, and their breakfast was delicious. All in all, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I were looking to get away for our 9th wedding anniversary and decided on the Dove's Nest in St. Joe Michigan. We were a little nervous because we had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast before. We quickly found out there was no need to be nervous! John and Jitka were such wonderful hosts! They made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The room we stayed in was spacious, beautifully decorated and very clean. The bed and sheets were extremely comfortable. John and Jitka prepared wonderful breakfasts and served them on the deck. We ate each morning surrounded by beautiful scenery. The food was presented so elegantly. I am allergic to gluten and Jitka was very considerate of this and made sure I had plenty to eat. I did not go hungry! There is nothing negative to say about the Dove's Nest. John and Jitka go above and beyond for their guests. They put a lot of time, thought and attention to everything they do for their guests. It was hard to leave this wonderful place. We had such a great visit and we will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night recently and it was truly gorgeous. John and Jitka were extremely welcoming and their attention to detail shows throughout the house. The property is well manicured and very quiet. We stayed in the Royal Oak room and it was perfect, down to the chocolates on the pillows! They even offer room service in the morning to bring you coffee! Our room had a gorgeous view of the pond and its own private balcony overlooking the garden behind the house. In the morning we were served a delicious three course breakfast that was both healthy and hearty. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camille612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I booked a weekend at The Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The wineries we explored (many of which are very close to the B&B) were wonderful as was Jitka's cooking. The breakfasts were delicious and so was the presentation. It was a great first anniversary!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KellySW236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this lovely home. The owners, John and Jitka, made us feel so comfortable from the minute we arrived. Their attention to detail and cleanliness is apparent throughout the home and beautiful gardens. The breakfast is like no other we have had, and would put the Ritz Carlton to shame!! We were so relaxed and our only regret is that we could not stay longer, and are planning to return again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 12,336,141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at BnB's all over the USA and t his one is among the best. Wonderful hosts in a nice country setting. Great breakfast. Plenty to see and visit in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
220 reviews
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
270 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Benton Harbor-St. Joseph River
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $232 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing