We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Warmly greeted. Lovely rooms. Free wireless internet. Easy parking near front door. Comfortable well appointed rooms. Fantastic three course gourmet breakfast. Very nice landscaped grounds. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at the Dove's Nest B & B for a weekend in early March. John and Jitka were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the local adventures, including the wineries we considered visiting. The rooms were comfortable and the fireplace made for a romantic setting. Breakfast the next morning was a four course festival of flavor. Excellent stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank byoung2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed at the Dove's Nest B&B for our first anniversary, Feb 17-20 and had a wonderful time. It was our second time at a bed and breakfast. The first was after our wedding at the Goldmoor inn in Galena and in comparison, the Dove's Nest was better.


The Inn - The house was built by John Nelson, the innkeeper. We stayed in the Royal Oak room which was the biggest room. It had a private balcony, a huge jetted tub, a very comfortable bed with great sheets and linens. It had a flat scren tv with a bluray player. Since they have wifi you can listen to Pandora Internet radio, watch Netflix if you have an account, or order new releas movies with VUDU with your debit card. My husband and I spent a lot of time in the room listening to music on the tv and just relaxing. There's so many little touches in the room to make your stay enjoyable. There were soft robes (my hubby is 6'5' and his fit him fine), a heater in the bathroom to keep it nice and warm, a fridge in the room, water and soda in the room, a blanket on a chair to warm up with, etc. We took a tour of the rest of the house the day we left and all the other rooms were nice as well. They all had beautiful wood floors, big comfy beds, recently remodeled bathrooms. The house has a pond with koi fish so you can feed the fish or canoe when the weather permits. There's a porch along the front and in the back. John and his wife, Jitka, told us in the warmer months that they serve breakfast outside and in the evening they have a fire going outside to sit around. Overall, we felt like we had our privacy which was a concern initially of my husband and we still had the warm and fuzzy feeling of a bed and breakfast.


The Food - The breakfast each day was amazing. It was 3 courses served with water, coffee, and a different juice. The first course might be a fresh fruit and yogurt parfait (amazing!), the second course an egg dish with a meat (my husband doesn't eat pork so they gave us venison sausage yum), and the third dish cherry waffles or blueberry pancakes. We didn't have to eat lunch any day we were there. One day we had homemade chili made from their tomatoes and venison that they had hunted. Everything was great. Also, every evening we came back from town Jitka had prepared something and left it out for us. One day it was a brownie that we enjoyed with some cherry wine we bought at a winery. They also had coffee and hot chocolate available for us in the eating area whenever you had a taste for it.


The location - The inn is pretty much close to everything there is to do in the area. About fifteen minutes away from downtown St Joseph and the beach and the same distance between the wineries. We visited Tabor Hill Winery, Lemon Creek, and The Round Barn and had a blast at all of them. We had dinner at the Bistro at the Boulevard hotel and also at the Library, both with coupons we purchased through Restaurant.com. The food at both was really good.

The innkeepers - John and Jitka are both great. They were very talkative and informative without being intrusive. You can tell they love their home and their business and take it very seriously. John can tell you stories about anything and Jitka is the sweetest thing. You can tell they are very much in love and love what they do as well. They left us a card and a rose for our anniversary in our room. Also, their prices for special things in your room are extremely reasonable compared to other hotels or b&b's. We had an amazing cheese, crackers, and grapes try along with some wine. It was so good we asked for another the night before we left!


We really enjoyed our stay and have told our friends and family all about our stay. We plan on coming back and staying in the summer, possibly with our children and friends and just renting out the whole inn or just me and the hubby to get away again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Better late than never!.......stayed here September 2011. Our first stay at a B&B in the USA and what a standard was set. Hospitality from once we arrived until we left was excellent (despite the fact that our day of departure coincided with John and Jitka also leaving on vacation). Our room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The 'easy listening' CDs left in the room was a nice relaxing touch. But the breakfast.........four courses of perfectly cooked and tasty food. Would definitely stay at Dove Nest should we be driving through Michigan again.

Room Tip: No need to as all rooms are equally well presented.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank acrosstheUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me for my birthday and booked Dove Nest for one night in January. When we arrived, we were instantly served a light snack, shown around their beautiful home, and given a wide array of dining options and local adventures for the evening. As a new couple to B&B's, we did not expect the incredible display of hospitality John and Jitka had and we definitely did not anticipate that we'd be receiving a three course delicious breakfast the next day. Not only were our hosts warm and welcoming, but the other couple was also a complete joy. Dove Nest truly is the perfect package if you're looking for a weekend getaway somewhere relaxing and beautiful. We cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We chose the Garden Victoria which was PERFECT for us, but if you're looking for the ideal roman...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AngMRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

One of our favorite channels on TV is the Classic Movies because they represent those movies which capture life’s most poignant/moving experiences. We wanted to unwind in a nostalgic setting.
Dove's nest afforded us every bit of this experience. Upon arriving in St. Joseph, my husband was quite leery about what bed and breakfast was all about. He was questioning my decision when Jitka opened the door. However, upon entering the door, she quickly silenced his concerns. From the moment we walked in, we sense nothing short of first-class hospitality and a sincere desire to make our visit the most pleasant ever. John and Jitka have found the secret to hospitality and are pursuing it with all vigor. As for the rooms, they were spotless; warm in colors of gold and burgundy or wine and a fireplace which brought heat and aviance to the room. Even after we turned in and another couple lingered in front of the fireplace, our rooms were as sound as a single dwelling. A welcome gift of chocolate and a none alcoholic beverage was there for our enjoyment. Dove white robes for comfort. The foods reflected a personal interest in the guest
--chatting over delicious gluten-free miniature strawberry cheesecake & our choice of coffee or tea. Jitka found the most wonderful recipe for a crowd pleasing almond meal dessert, which she served as a third course for breakfast. They do aim to please!!!! Felt we had known John & Jitka all our lives. To top it all off, we were blessed to have fellowship with another couple--staying for their anniversary--with like interest. What a blessing. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: We wish we had paid the extra bucks and stayed in the larger room; after seeing it, you know you'...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I suprised my husband with a romantic get-a-way for Christmas this year. We just spent the weekend at the Dove Nest B&B in St. Joseph, MI.

You will not find more gracious hosts than John and Jitka. They have gone to great lengths to make sure that their guests' needs are more than met. We stayed in the lovely Pond View room. The bed was comfortable, the food was delicious and the company was delightful.

This B&B was close to everything we wanted to do and it was a wonderful place to come back to after a day of activities. This was our first B&B experience, and we are already talking about making this an annual retreat for us. I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Every room is delightful!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jecronin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
212 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $232 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing