We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming, Peaceful, and Delicious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Joseph B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcoming, Peaceful, and Delicious”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me for my birthday and booked Dove Nest for one night in January. When we arrived, we were instantly served a light snack, shown around their beautiful home, and given a wide array of dining options and local adventures for the evening. As a new couple to B&B's, we did not expect the incredible display of hospitality John and Jitka had and we definitely did not anticipate that we'd be receiving a three course delicious breakfast the next day. Not only were our hosts warm and welcoming, but the other couple was also a complete joy. Dove Nest truly is the perfect package if you're looking for a weekend getaway somewhere relaxing and beautiful. We cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: We chose the Garden Victoria which was PERFECT for us, but if you're looking for the ideal roman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngMRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
113
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

One of our favorite channels on TV is the Classic Movies because they represent those movies which capture life’s most poignant/moving experiences. We wanted to unwind in a nostalgic setting.
Dove's nest afforded us every bit of this experience. Upon arriving in St. Joseph, my husband was quite leery about what bed and breakfast was all about. He was questioning my decision when Jitka opened the door. However, upon entering the door, she quickly silenced his concerns. From the moment we walked in, we sense nothing short of first-class hospitality and a sincere desire to make our visit the most pleasant ever. John and Jitka have found the secret to hospitality and are pursuing it with all vigor. As for the rooms, they were spotless; warm in colors of gold and burgundy or wine and a fireplace which brought heat and aviance to the room. Even after we turned in and another couple lingered in front of the fireplace, our rooms were as sound as a single dwelling. A welcome gift of chocolate and a none alcoholic beverage was there for our enjoyment. Dove white robes for comfort. The foods reflected a personal interest in the guest
--chatting over delicious gluten-free miniature strawberry cheesecake & our choice of coffee or tea. Jitka found the most wonderful recipe for a crowd pleasing almond meal dessert, which she served as a third course for breakfast. They do aim to please!!!! Felt we had known John & Jitka all our lives. To top it all off, we were blessed to have fellowship with another couple--staying for their anniversary--with like interest. What a blessing. Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: We wish we had paid the extra bucks and stayed in the larger room; after seeing it, you know you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I suprised my husband with a romantic get-a-way for Christmas this year. We just spent the weekend at the Dove Nest B&B in St. Joseph, MI.

You will not find more gracious hosts than John and Jitka. They have gone to great lengths to make sure that their guests' needs are more than met. We stayed in the lovely Pond View room. The bed was comfortable, the food was delicious and the company was delightful.

This B&B was close to everything we wanted to do and it was a wonderful place to come back to after a day of activities. This was our first B&B experience, and we are already talking about making this an annual retreat for us. I would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Every room is delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jecronin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the 1/2 ironman in August '11. We booked late and I was worried about staying a little outside of town (10 mins): wow, was I wrong. Best B&B we've ever stayed at, really. Super clean home and room; very comfortable king bed; flatscreen tv, lots of dvds to borrow, large closet, spotless bathroom. It's obvious John and Jikta love what they do. He hosts bonfires out back with complimentary wine. She cooks SUPERB breakfasts, European style: 3 courses. The menu changed day to day, but expect a berry/granola/yogurt parfait with fruit; omelet, over easy, or eggs benedict with sausage and ham or bacon and potatoes, and berry waffles or pancakes. Served on the patio with linens and china, candles, coffee, juice and milk. WOW. Beautiful property, warm, friendly hosts, AND they set out granola, fruit, juice and powerbars at 3 am the night before the Ironman race. Where today do you get that service?! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stlmom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

He says:

This place is wonderful. John and Jitka made us feel right at home from the moment we walked in the door. They provided plenty of interesting conversation, but were also eager to give us time to ourselves -- we spent a lot of time curled up in front of the fire, in the common room. Our room (and the whole inn, really) was immaculate and very comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. They were different all three days, and always included fresh fruit and veggies (some from their own garden). We were mostly interested in doing wineries and nice dinners, and this was in close proximity to more than we could possibly have done. An amazing trip, can't wait for next time.

She says:

I have never been to a B&B before, so I was a little nervous about our weekend trip to southwest Michigan to do a winery tour. When we stepped into Dove Nest, however, I was happy to meet John and Jitka and see their beautiful home that I would get to stay at for the next 3 nights. The home was spacious and cozy at the same time, and the attention to detail--from the cleanliness to the chocolates on the pillow and the fireplace warming the room--was incredible. The food was amazing, the room was amazing, and the location is central to just about anything you'd want to do. John and Jitka were wonderful hosts and gave us plenty of recommendations, while also giving us our privacy so we could enjoy our vacation. We are already planning our next trip back to St. Joseph in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband and I decided to visit the B & B where our son proposed to his fiancee. The rooms were spacious, the bed so comfortable and the food so fabulous. No one could ever say they left the table hungry. We had a quiet evening after wine tasting in southwest Michigan. John and Jitka shared their home, their gardens and their love of cooking to make our stay a very memorable event.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a place to unwind from the weekly hustle and bustle of BIG CITY life. We were visiting some friends in the area. This was our first bed and breakfast experience. The Dove Nest was a perfect stay-cation. John and Jitka are an asset to this industry. They really enjoy their clients as much as you enjoy your stay. The breakfast was as elegant as any fine restaurant could offer. Your hosts, John and Jitka are just as inviting and warm as their lovely bed and breakfast. We felt like this was a home away from home. The other wonderful advantage is that the wineries are only about 10 min. from this place. We visited Tabor Hill and had a lovely experience. We bought wine and brought it back for a romantic evening for two next to the fireplace with chocolate. This bed and breakfast is located close to the beach for the summer, hunting, during season, and golfing. Definately an all seasons place to stay. The bathrooms at the dove nest are newly remodeled with Granite. This upgrade was a very nice touch. The beds are so inviting and before you know it you drift off. We only stayed one night, but wanted to stay more. This is DEFINATLY a destination that we will frequent in the future! I think we even made some new friends with our innkeepers!! Thank you so much for the relaxing time, John and Jitka!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pond View Room. This room is away from the other visitors. It felt like you were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JKRAYL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#1 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
6.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
Hampton Inn St. Joseph I-94
#2 of 6 in Stevensville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast

Property: Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5000 Scottdale Rd, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-9388
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dove Nest B&B in St.Joseph,MI is very well known for its fine accommodation, delightful, hearty breakfasts, friendly and homey atmosphere. Hosting international guests from all over the world, Dove Nest received 2013 Certificate of Excellence being recognized as the Top-Performing business on Trip Advisor. St. Joseph’s Dove Nest B&B is uniquely surrounded by vineyards and apple orchards. Away from the noise of highways and major roads it offers serenity and peacefulness. Located very close to a beautiful Lake Michigan with its sandy beaches and unforgettable sunsets. 15 wineries are just a few miles away from our B&B; it makes us a destination for guests who love wine tasting . WHAT MAKES OUR DOVE NEST A DISTINCTIVE B&B EXPERIENCE? Is it an ambiance of burning fireplace in each room? Elegant bedrooms each uniquely designed and fully appointed? Comfy bed or luxury bedding? Our gardens with hundreds of shrubs, trees, plants, pond and dove aviaries? Serenity of surrounding? Or is it ALL THE ABOVE bundled together with excellent breakfasts, wonderful hospitality and friendliness of Dove Nest’s innkeepers? That’s what makes Dove Nest B&B in Saint Joseph, NOT JUST A PLACE TO STAY………it makes it an experience……YOUR EXPERIENCE!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Dove Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing