We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We checked in with a prepaid reservation for two rooms adjoining rooms. They only gave us one room saying that the hotel was completely booked and that they had no rooms that had adjoining rooms. When we went to our room, it had an adjoining room- after showing the clerk the picture he had to stumble through admitting that he guessed that there was one room like that but we couldn't have it. Eventually we did end up on the second night with a room across the hall. I forgot a nice flannel nightgown the last night of our stay, we had left a nice tip for the housekeeper and had a conversation with her so expected that when I called later that day I would have expected to retrieve the nightgown- nope! Overall, just very poor service. And no consideration from the management for noise from rowdy groups running up and down the hall, and parties in the main office during after midnight hours.

Room Tip: Avoid snack and ice machine areas, and if possible locate away from groups of youth sport groups. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahcaroline59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjmi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
This guest’s reservations were made through Expedia or an Expedia affiliate website. It appears there was a miscommunication between our guest service associate and this guest. One of the assigned guest rooms was an adjoining room. However, the other adjoining room was occupied by a guest from the previous night. Therefore, we were unable to accommodate the request. We always recommend contacting the hotel directly for special requests as we do not see the request until the day of arrival. Please be aware special request cannot be guaranteed.
We understand the frustration the guest felt caused by the group we hosted. We voluntarily host this group in order to contribute to our community as it a local festival that has been ongoing since 1923 with the exception of World War II. We find it very unfortunate that paying guests were inconvenienced and assure this will be addressed with the festival committee.
Due to the fact this reservation was made through a 3rd party website, the guest’s address and phone number are not made available to us. We hope the guest will read our response as we do have the night gown left behind by the guest and would like to return it to her.
We appreciate your feedback as it is our goal to meet our guest’s expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    101
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
114
77
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

nice place to stay
pretty close to town but not right in town
need to drive to the beach but still a great place to stay!
have in door pool and free breakfast.
clean rooms
a great value price!
free parking for your card
can even find free parking in some area at the park.
alot of activities to do in town & the park
Resturant right next door

Room Tip: second floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjmi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
This guest’s reservations were made through Expedia or an Expedia affiliate website. It appears there was a miscommunication between our guest service associate and this guest. One of the assigned guest rooms was an adjoining room. However, the other adjoining room was occupied by a guest from the previous night. Therefore, we were unable to accommodate the request. We always recommend contacting the hotel directly for special requests as we do not see the request until the day of arrival. Please be aware special request cannot be guaranteed.
We understand the frustration the guest felt caused by the group we hosted. We voluntarily host this group in order to contribute to our community as it is a local festival that has been ongoing since 1923 with the exception of World War II. We find it very unfortunate that paying guests were inconvenienced and assure this will be addressed with the festival committee.
Due to the fact this reservation was made through a 3rd party website, the guest’s address and phone number are not made available to us. We hope the guest will read our response as we do have the night gown left behind by the guest and would like to return it to her.
We appreciate your feedback as it is our goal to meet our guest’s expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here on a Friday night to be close to the Saturday morning train. It is a great location across the street from Lake Michigan. The room was spacious, a little over priced, the breakfast was good. The attendant at breakfast was very nice, she gave our kids tattoos.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

After reading a lot of positive reviews, including those on this website, I was happy to make a 3-night reservation here. I found the actual accommodations to be completely unsatisfactory when compared even with other hotels that have comparably low price-points.

The shower presented visible grunge all over it and many hairs from other folks were found plastered on the walls when I (reluctantly) used it. Despite my request for a quiet room during the winter (non-peak) season, I was put on the second floor where I was bombarded with clearly audible noise through footsteps, pipes, and the hallway. The furniture was okay, but most other aspects felt noticeably cheap: unappetizing food, broken iron in the room, burnt-out light bulbs, the clock radio was blaring static upon entering the room after check-in, housekeeping left garbage from the last patrons on the floor, as well as prominent stains on the ironing board.

There aren't many options around St. Joseph, but I wouldn't stay here again. Two stars is generous.

Room Tip: Refuse your room if it is on any floor but the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjmi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
This customer was on the first floor, not the second floor as stated. One of our regular guests, a doctor and his family, stayed in one of our kid's suites. The kid's suite was one floor above and 2 doors over from this guest. At some point during the first night, one of the children used the restroom and unknowingly caused a flood that eventually flooded the first floor of the section this guest was in. We immediately realized the inconvenience this was going to cause our other guests and attempted to offer compensation and relocation within the hotel. This particular guest refused to change rooms against our advice. Unfortunately, we had no options that would please this guest. Therefore, we offered to compensate her entire stay which we did. Apparently, we fell short of meeting this guest's expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September and the rooms were a nice size, clean and the decor was up to date. The beds were comfortable and we had a non-smoking room that didn't smell like smoke which is always nice. The free parking and free breakfast was a great benefit to staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panther67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel has excellent service excellent rooms with amazing views of the lake especially at sunrise and at sunset. The pool and the hot tub are extremely clean and well running. There is also an convenient exercise room equipped with two treadmills, a cycle machine, and a T.V.
Overall this is in my opinion the best hotel in saint joesph Michigan.

Room Tip: Ask for a children suite if your bringing your family it has a second closet that is large enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
924 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Quiet, clean, small swimming pool, great desk chair in room with otherwise utilitarian furniture, comfortable bed, free fast internet, full breakfast, can open windows. If you want a bed & breakfast, the Dove's Nest can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarshBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjmi, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for posting your compliments regarding our hotel. We agree, the Dove's Nest is one of many great Bed and Breakfasts in our area. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
2.8 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
3.9 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Address: 3019 Lakeshore Dr, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-2659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Joseph offers beautiful accommodations for a night, a business trip or an entire vacation. Our hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, and a business center. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel is minutes from Family Fun's top rated Silver Beach, Curious Kid's Museum, the historic North Pier Lighthouse, Warren Dunes, New Buffalo's Four Winds Casino, and quaint downtown St. Joseph, where there are numerous sidewalk cafes, restaurants, art galleries, antiques, and unique shops for all ages. Our St. Joseph hotel is conveniently located near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our event space and outstanding service makes the St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites 'The Place to Meet'. Our staff will coordinate every detail of your event making us the best St. Joseph hotel for meetings, banquets, reunions, showers, conferences, and family gatherings. Come and stay at the hotel to enjoy St. Joseph's outstanding annual events including Krasl Art Fair on the Bluff, The Venetian Festival, Whirlpool Steelhead Triathlon, and Tri-State Regatta. St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites: everything you expect...and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Holiday Inn St Joseph
Holiday Inn Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing