We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The night we checked in was on a Friday, and our visit started off kinda of ruff, with the night front desk clerk giving us a hard time about the price. I'm so glad I printed off the internet deal so I can prove to him he had the wrong price! When we finally got to our room I was actually impress! We had the lake side view witch was nice, and the room was huge! Saturday morning we had breakfast at the hotel, it was good. Our second night we countered some drunk people right down the hall from us being VERY LOUD!! The couple even took it as far as to lay down in the middle of the hall, and shout out some nice swear words! Finally after the third call down to the front desk, they actually took care of the situation. Besides all the BS if I had to I would stay there again?

Room Tip: Check online prices before you book!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Callard79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stjmi, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

We value all of our guest's opinions and the business they provide our property. However, after researching this stay, we have found there was absolutely no pricing error. The inconvenience that was experienced at check in was due to the credit card declined. Once an alternative form of payment was provided the situation was resolved.
Our property did have a group staying with us in which a few of the members had a little too much fun that night and did disturb a few of our other guests. We apologize for this unpleasant experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 324 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. Great staff, great location, great town. Can't wait to stay again. Girls up front are very helpful and knowledgeable, the cleaning staff is right on, and the Continental Breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack133333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

after calling this hotel and being assured by Amanda that the presidential suite came with a jacuzzi in the bedroom not the bathroom just as the website stated we booked 2 nights. As soon as we checked in and saw the room the whole anniversery celebration was doomed. No jacuzzi in the bedroom as promised. A large very outdated room. We were then told the only jacuzzi room was on first floor. It ended up being a handicapped room that looked more like a hospital room. Can't imagine a handicapped person getting in a jacuzzi. Also so noisy we couldn't sleep. When we asked for a quiter room a young man at the front desk was helpful but the middle aged man with him with the glasses was rude. He snapped "what's wrong with the room". And argued with us when we told him their website misrepresented the presidential suite as jacuzzi in the bedroom. Jeez why would we make it up, we wanted to stay in a jacuzzi suite.Read the website before you insult the guests. Only stayed one nite. Went on to silver beach for 2nd nite because holiday inn wanted to charge us more for second nite. Unreal. Silver beach was much worse. St. Joseph Mi in need of better lodging. Not a fan.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nana503415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aheugel, Owner at Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

I'm very sorry you were dissatisfied. There are definitely discrepencies between what this review states and the information that is actually on our website. Also, the most disturbing statement is " Can't imagine a handicapped person getting in a jacuzzi." This statement is very offensive and discourages people with physical disabilites to travel. Please refer to the Americans With Disabilities Act Title III and you will have a better understanding of why we make our jacuzzis accessible to all guests, it's the law.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during Halloween weekend in October 2011. Staff are friendly. We stayed in a room with two queens. The room was big, clean, and had a refrigerator and microwave. Location was excellent, just a five minute ride to downtown Saint Joseph, Michigan. Pool was clean. Hot tub was also clean and hot. Very nice and relaxing lobby with a television. Complimentary breakfast had all the basics and was good quality food. Would come back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My family came into St. Joseph for a long weekend just to get away from our home in Chicago. What a fantastic stay! Our room was very clean and the view was amazing! Kids had a great stay, we all slept so well. Thank you to the Holiday Inn Express!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 48Stacy_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was above average and the location is very nice with a view of the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview room
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

3 level hotel .. nice place, a couple miles from beach/downtown. Free wifi; signal was weak in rooms but I had a network cable so had no problems.

My room was overlooking the entrance and I could see the lake as well. So that was good but I could hear people outside late at night.

Rooms a bit older; there were black marks on the wall where older TV used to be. Room was equipped with new panasonic tv, refrigerator and microwave. Free complementary breakfast; plenty of fruits, eggs and juice.

Shower curtain was a bit dirty towards the bottom side; other than that bathroom was good .. good water pressure and readily available hot water.

Air conditioner in the room was acting up a bit.

The place is a couple miles from many eating joints; there is a Mexican eating place just next door (as if it was a part of the hotel) but I was advised that the Mexican place had changed owners and wasn't as good as it used to be so I didn't eat there.

Overall it was a good value/money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
2.8 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
214 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites St.Joseph / Stevensville
3.9 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph

Address: 3019 Lakeshore Dr, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-2659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $128 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. Joseph offers beautiful accommodations for a night, a business trip or an entire vacation. Our hotel offers free high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub, and a business center. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel is minutes from Family Fun's top rated Silver Beach, Curious Kid's Museum, the historic North Pier Lighthouse, Warren Dunes, New Buffalo's Four Winds Casino, and quaint downtown St. Joseph, where there are numerous sidewalk cafes, restaurants, art galleries, antiques, and unique shops for all ages. Our St. Joseph hotel is conveniently located near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our event space and outstanding service makes the St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites 'The Place to Meet'. Our staff will coordinate every detail of your event making us the best St. Joseph hotel for meetings, banquets, reunions, showers, conferences, and family gatherings. Come and stay at the hotel to enjoy St. Joseph's outstanding annual events including Krasl Art Fair on the Bluff, The Venetian Festival, Whirlpool Steelhead Triathlon, and Tri-State Regatta. St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express & Suites: everything you expect...and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph Hotel Saint Joseph
Holiday Inn St Joseph
Holiday Inn Saint Joseph
Saint Joseph Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing