We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand carousel”

Silver Beach Carousel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MAKE A MEMORY ALL YEAR ROUND! The horses, the tigers, the hippocampus, the panda, the clown fish - in all, 48 unique carousel figures and two chariots - are whirling with excitement to see you. Come pick your favorite and ride beneath 1000 twinkling lights as the band organ's music happily soars and dips with the gears. Each figure is beautifully hand-carved and hand-painted by the artisans at The Carousel Works. Around the top of the carousel you can learn about our local history - told as no one else in the world has told it on a carousel - using historic photographs. As you gaze at those 18 rounding boards, you'll become part of our story, too.You'll find all the magic and wonder of the Silver Beach Carousel below the bluff in St. Joseph, just yards from Lake Michigan's Silver Beach, named one of the top 10 family beaches by Parents magazine. Open all four seasons, you can ride a different carousel figure or chariot every week and fill the year with a new memory each time. Our sea serpent chariot is wheelchair accessible so everyone can ride! Tokens are available for cash or credit card at the admissions desk or for cash from our token machine. To find us, click here for a map and directions.THERE'S SO MUCH MORE TO DO!Riding the carousel is just one of the fun things you can do at Silver Beach. Steps away from the carousel is Michigan's tallest kaleidoscope and Curious Kids' Discovery Zone by Curious Kids Museum, an entertaining place for toddlers to teens to explore water exhibits, a climbing wall and traveling exhibits. Next door to us is the beautiful Silver Beach Shadowland Ballroom, where special celebrations and wedding dreams come true. Across the road is the Whirlpool Compass Fountain where you can splash in the mist on warm days. And throughout the year, plan to join us for lots of fun events.Our Silver Beach Center packages let you create hours of fun at special prices. The Activities Room is an easy place to celebrate your child's next birthday or a special event. Just let us know what day you'd like to book by clicking here. You'll also find carousel gift ideas in our onsite and online gift shops. Or check out other gift ideas and sponsorship opportunities here.So come for the best ride in town - it's unforgettably happy! Visit our website for hours and more information about pricing and events.
Union Pier, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“grand carousel”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have never seen such an assortment of creatures to ride on. Otter, preying mantis, clownfish, giraffe, elephant and the usual collection of many varieties of horse. Long rides, fun music

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    78
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice family time”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great carousel and caramel corn. Kind of crowded and lots of kids running everywhere, so keep an eye on everyone.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie W, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Carousel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for coming to our carousel; we're glad you had a great time with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was here with this year's National Carousel Association convention and I had a blast! Since we were there for the technical conference we got a rare behind-the-scenes perspective about this amazing attraction and all their wonderful services for guests and how this carousel works. It is an amazing combination of yesterday's nostalgia with state-of-the art technology of the 21st century. The hand-carved animals are exquisite and full of personality and the MIDI organ system and touch screen computer operating system are fascinating! They even have an amazing new kind of wheelchair-accessible ramp that rolls up for easy storage. The gift shop is full of fabulous items, the museum and miniature models are fascinating and the banquet hall is gorgeous! It's good to know that they are available for weddings, proms and so many other special occasions and they have shared how through trial and error they are ready for pretty much anything. An excellent example is the velcro sleeve they put over the pole to protect prom/wedding dresses from getting grease on them. We were just there for the convention but the carousel provides a unique range of entertaining activities year round for all ages for visitors and the community alike.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Whimsicality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles,mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“must see”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

it's beautiful. Took my 2 year old nephew and he never stopped smiling. Price is good. Nice chairs to set in whiling watching

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is such a great place to just hang-out with family and friends. The carousel is beautiful and so well taken care of and only $2.00 a ride. The people who volunteer at Silver Beach Carousel are wonderful and are so helpful. There's a refreshment stand with popcorn and cotton candy and drinks. And depending on the time of year you go they decorate for the holiday coming up. It's a great place no matter what time of year you go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cameraguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Beach Carousel also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to Silver Beach Carousel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing