We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“walk on the pier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Joseph Lighthouses

St. Joseph Lighthouses
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“walk on the pier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wave at all the boats going out on Lake Michigan. Feel the breeze in your hair. You can even fish right off the pier.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_gotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    51
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“An amazing site in the Winter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I visited the St. Joseph lighthouses in the Winter and was treated to an amazing sight. During high winds, the waves from Lake Michigan spray high onto the lighthouse at the end of the North Pier. Then, when the temperature drops, the water freezes over the lighthouse and forms an incredible ice sculpture. I waited until twilight for the lighthouse to illuminate--and the sight of the lighthouse with its light illuminating through the ice is a sight to behold. I've been fortunate to travel to some amazing locations over the past year: Yellowstone, Carlsbad Caverns, Niagara Falls, etc.--yet, this matches the beauty of any of those locations on the right Winter day! One note of caution--be careful walking out on the icy pier in the Winter. The surface becomes very slippery and there are no railings. A fall into the icy waters of Lake Michigan would not end well. I brought a pair of ice spikes with me--and I was glad that I did.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gnagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgman
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Interesting Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We walked out on the pier to the lighthouse and felt the spray of Lake Michigan. The lights and sounds of the lighthouse were mysterious and interesting. People need to be careful not to walk out on days when weather could make conditions dangerous. It's a beautiful sight in St. Joseph, and many photographers and artists have used the lighthouse as their subject.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
470 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great lighthouses on a wonderful like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very wonderful parks to view the lighthouses from along Lake Michigan. When weather is a factor, traffic backs up to get a view of the lake waves crashing on the pier. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mom98wmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Another nice lighthouse. A good walk out to this one from downtown, but well worth the visit. Nice beach. Can't go inside this one either, but nice setting overall in a nice area of St. Joe.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Joseph Lighthouses also viewed

Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
Saint Joseph, Berrien County
 

Been to St. Joseph Lighthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing