We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location a must but hotel a bust”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Maybee, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“location a must but hotel a bust”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Was thinking about booking this hotel. Have actually stayed there 2 times before, only because we drove into town on motorcycle, it was hot and we wanted to be walking dist. to town/lake. Enjoy a drink and didnt want to drive after. Hotel is dated,rooms ok, bed was comfy,hot tub and pool ok.WHOLE HOTEL needs matainence. I dont think there has ever been more than I elevator working. It was overpriced then,(2013-12)for the quality, and I see its even more now(stay same w/e). We wil be searching 4 a new hotel.
Even more

Room Tip: If you stay on the south west end you should be able to see the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Patricia:

Thank you for staying with us again. We were glad to have you back and are pleased that you enjoyed our comfy beds, hot tub and pool and convenient location walking distance to downtown and the beaches. After a slow winter season maintenance is a must and we have just hired our Spring, Summer staff so that we can continue to provide a great experience for our guests. If you feel that you would like a better value always remember that we grant 15% off when you book online through our hot deal rate. This can be booked at www.stjoesilverbeachhotel.com. Please come again and thanks for the feedback.

Sincerely,
The Silver Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    91
    103
    88
    153
See reviews for
165
153
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place is a mess !! first off the front desk manager was rude and failed to inform us that the pool was out of order. Our room was filthy feces in the toilet and just disgusting. We rented a king jaccuzi suit pictures are very decieving . called to have housecleaning come reclean the room . At least the houscleaning lady was pleasant. the pool was out of order tho we were not notified let us walk by with 3 and 4 yr old children in their suits and failed to even say the pool heater was broken .the lobby was redone apparently nothing else was!! Just plain Gross!!! The kids play area was filthy floor was nasty and toys do not look like they had ever been disinfected . I say STAY AWAY !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Cynthia:

I am confused by your review. When you checked in we told you that the pool was out of order before we gave you your room. Then you snuck children into a room meant for two people to save money. Our rooms are thoroughly checked before guests check in and there was by no means any lingering items in the toilet. In fact, that room had just been checked. I believe you are a bit angry because you got caught trying to use our rooms for more people than were allowed to save money, and we understand as times are hard. We wish you well.

Sincerely,
The Silver Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Patio door didn't seal and very cold air was blowing in causing the heater to turn on every 10 minutes all night long! Heater was very noisey - room went from cold to warm to cold, etc. Sink in the bathroom wouldn't drain. Pillows on the bed were very uncomfortable - too thick. Bed was very worn - large swals in middle - very uncomfortable. Had to request extra blankets - no extras in room and only one on the bed. TV station selections were very limited. Facility looks run down - directional cover was missing on the heater - coverlet were missing on the toilet seat.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was just okay. There was no oatmeal, yogurt, or fruit. The scrambled eggs and sausage were good.

We would NOT recommend this hotel to others especially for that price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotelSaintJoseph, Public Relations Manager at Silver Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Suzann:

First we apologize about the weather, there is just not much we can do about a Polar Vortex. I went up and checked your room and the sink is fine and heater is fine as well. There is a small crack in the plastic grate where hot and cold air come out so I am having maintenance replace that now. Thanks for pointing it out, its small so we would not have seen it.

We have all new beds in our hotel as well as a microwave, mini fridge, toiletries, coffee and coffee maker, cable tv and extra blankets in all of our rooms. Also, if you book online there is a hot deal rate for using our website, click that next time for 15% off. Also, when you are here next, there is yogurt, fruit and oatmeal. It is located on the table next to the waffle station to your left with the hot tea and coffee. Thanks and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
The Silver Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Parrot Heads of Michiana along with the the Lake Michigan Land Sharks club held our annual Barefoot Children in the Sand fund raiser this past weekend. The staff at the Silver Beach are phenominal. We pretty much take over the hotel and they are very accommodating. The hotel is a little old but clean. The staff even cleaned the snow off our cars on Sunday before we were ready to leave. What service!!! In the cost of our event was breakfast & a themed dinner. Nothing big and fancy but very good.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to spend some time in Michigan just steps away from the lake. It is very nice to be there in the summer too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went to the Silver Beach Hotel for a Party with a Purpose Parrot Head weekend this weekend. The Hotel is an older hotel in downtown St. Joseph Mi. The event included dinner Friday evening, all three meals Saturday and breakfast Sunday morning. Live and DJ entertainment both Fri. And Sat. Some was donated some they hired. Awesome entertainment all weekend. The only thing not included were drinks. (Cash bar). The rooms were clean, the food was all very good. The service and Staff were excellent. Everyone was very friendly and very attentive right down to the maintenance personnel that came up right away to fix a clogged sink. We all got up Sunday morning to the snow cleaned off our cars. I have never seen any hotel do that.

Yes, the hotel is a little dated, but we were very comfortable. They all went out of their way to make this a Great weekend at a very reasonable price.

Based on my experience, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbouldrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

After reading reviews we were scared to book but decided to go ahead and if it was to bad we would leave. So glad we did. The hotel had the best location we could ask for. I loved the birds and don't understand the negatives. If you don;t like them stay away from them. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy. The shower head was low but not a deal breaker. Also don't understands the complaints on the shampoo/conditioner dispenser. I loved it and if you don't bring your own! The bar was very busy so we did not stay late but loved the idea of it being on the premises. And asked for a room on a upper floor in case of noise. We were in a standard king. Loved the balcony and sheets. Drove by the Holiday Inn and it's on the bluff miles away from downtown St. Joseph. We could walk anywhere. Can't wait to visit again. Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwest-Rebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Horrible experience. The place is run down and severely neglected and way overpriced. Got married end of July and stayed here along with wedding party/guests. Suggested the guests stay here so had 6-8 rooms (I think 13-14 room nights at average $150 totaling over $2000) and every one of them were dirty on arrival. Hair on floors and in sheets, dirt around the rooms, dirty and stained sheets, unclean showers, etc. My bride to be stayed in one of the expensive whirlpool rooms which had water leaking on the floor. When they called the front desk they sent someone to mop, wasn't until the 2nd night we called the 3rd time maintenance came up and found that toilet was separated by about 3/16" from the wall! So the wedding party were basically getting ready in raw sewage! Pool was extremely dirty also. As a reference, I traveled for 3 years living in different hotels every week ranging in price from $29/night to over $600/night and this was the most disgusting hotel by far and my first negative review. DO NOT STAY HERE! There may be positive reviews but it's a gamble that is not worth it for the price. Just to know how bad it was for me, I chose to stay in a tent for my honeymoon instead of this hotel! I told the manager that I was going to stay in a tent instead of there for another night and gave her a chance to correct it but did not get far. She took a bit off our bill for 4 room nights, $120 total which she said is all she could do but was not acceptable to me. She basically said she will see what else she can do but it will be up to the owners. I told her they should offer a return visit, which I said I would not use, and take off the room that had the raw sewage in it. I am still waiting for her response. BBB is next.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
3.7 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1108
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing