We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I booked this hotel for a weekend stay in St. Joseph, MI. My first time there and I was looking forward to the beach and shops. The hotel was incredible disappointing! The hotel is old and needs updating terribly. I was actually uncomfortable security wise in this hotel and would have preferred to stay somewhere else. Luckily, we spent very little time in the room but I would never recommend or return to this hotel. There were people coming and going through a somewhat dark and dingy entrance from the parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    91
    103
    88
    153
See reviews for
165
153
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Decided to get off I 94 at the Benton Harbor exit last evening and this was the first acceptable accommodation that we encountered heading south. We drove past it, then decided to return for closer inspection. Went through a small business district with some charming shops and restaurants and decided to give the hotel a chance. Although we could tell that it was an older property, the lobby area had been updated and so we decided to spend the night; booked room #305 for $95 which we thought was a bit steep for the off season.

Our room with two queen beds was clean and contained a work station, lounge chair, a small walk-out balcony, and a small room safe. The bathroom which was tiled all in white was also small, but adequate and yes, that shower head in the bathtub area should have been installed at least a foot higher! However my main complaint was with the heating unit which was off when we arrived and proved to be a bit noisy when trying to fall asleep later in the evening.

We walked two blocks for dinner at the Pump House Grille and picked up fudge at Kilwins before returning to our room. With free wifi and a flat screened tv, we were set for the night. The next morning, we went down for breakfast and yes, it did include eggs, sausage, bagels waffles, cereal, coffee, 4 juices, milk and fruit. The breakfast room, however, could stand a bit of updating as well as its presentation...

Room Tip: It is my understanding that there is a 'pet floor' which may or may not influence your decis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littletoot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at Silver Beach Hotel on several occasions and have always been satisfied. Love the hospitality of all your employees. Thumbs up! Enjoyed the pool, the lake was beautiful but cold to swim in. Very lovely town with great people and so friendly and helpful. I hope the elevator is fix, but the steps were fine. Thanks Silver Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I think we stayed in a different hotel than the one the negative reviews are about! Almost didn't stay here because of them but decided to take a chance and am very glad we did. The location is great; within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and the lakefront. Staff was very accommodating. We were on the fifth floor and the room was clean and fine. Not spectacular but fine. King size bed. All for $70, including the hot breakfast. We were here for a wedding and some friends paid double to stay elsewhere! Glad we didn't.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stop88s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were going for a girls weekend in search of wineries and shopping. We found this hotel online and booked it. It was a great deal $100 for one night. The hotel was very close to the cute downtown shops and dining. It was very clean. It was a little dated and the hotel bar was less than expected. It was a much younger crowd and we were looking for a nice place to have a few drinks. The staff was very friendly and it also included a free breakfast. We were with in walking distance to the lake. I didn't see any hotels closer to the downtown area so the location was probably the best aspect of this hotel. We were about 20-30 minutes to the wineries in SW Michigan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to downtown, and it had an indoor pool. The pool was over chlorinated so bad it burned my eyes and i had to get out. I told a maint. person who tested the water. The management staff seemed mildly apologetic, offered no discount. The room was filthy, fingernail clippings on floor, hair in tub. Breakfast was not too good. cushions stained, tables dirty. They need to upgrade cleaning procedures

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Yes, the hotel is aged, but the staff is awsome! Yes, it's a little spendy, but you are close to the beach, and everywhere I've stayed coast to coast, I've had to pay to be close to the water or have a view. We had an older room, but we only slept in it........being that close to the beach, shopping, wine tasting, and good food, who spends that much time in a room? It was realatively quiet, and I for one, had not problems at all. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Joseph
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.3 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
3.7 mi away
Springhill Suites Benton Harbor St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: 100 Main St, Saint Joseph, MI 49085-1108
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Saint Joseph
Hotel Silver Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing