We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Town, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Lancaster,OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Town, Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We booked the 2 Queen, Jacuzzi room via lastminute.com. After reading the reviews here, i wasn't expecting too much. Our room was very nice and clean, with only a little tattered carpet at the edge of the bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful. We checked out the other hotels on St. Igance, and they were not any better, and most didn't have the ability to sleep more then 2 with a jacuzzi. The beach was as expected, just like every other beach on the lake, full of seagulls and geese (rats with wings) there was a little more sand at the hotel next door, and they told us we were welcome to come over there, but just as much seagull doo there! wear your flipflops, and i'd suggest the hotel get a couple big cats! :) I much preferred the atmosphere of St. Ignace to Mackinaw City, and there ISN'T much more to do over there as a previous reviewer had mentioned. A very laid back coastal town. Eat at the Driftwood Inn. Its a bar, with great food, open late, and the kids loved the old arcade games. Of all the places on our great lakes loop, this was my favorite town. The only downfall was we were there the week before the high season, which was great numbers wise, but the St. Ignace Ferries did not stay quite as late as the others. I highly recommend doing Mackinaw Island later, rather then early morning! most tourists are headed home as we were arriving at 2pm! we got an extra long buggy ride because we were last of the day, and we could actually ride our bikes on the island without it being like NYC at 5pm!

  • Liked — Proximity to town, water front location
  • Disliked — curve of the building so everyone has a view of the lake, and EACH OTHER
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HollieSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    83
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
100
102
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in St. Ignace, MI for one night on May 8, 2007. The outside of the hotel looks very nice and there were probably only about 5 cars in the lot as it was early in the season for tourists.

The woman at the counter was ok, she could have been nicer, but was trying to juggle answering the phone while helping about 3 other people.

We had a beach view, non smoking room with 2 queen beds, the room was clean. The beach on Lake Huron is a rocky beach with sand being brought in by the hotel operators. If travelers are looking for a sandy beach, they may have better luck staying on Lake Michigan.

The pool and hot tub were clean but very warm. The pool water was about the same temperature as the hot tub, which became uncomfortable after awhile. We did arrive at the continental breakfast a little later, around 9am and asked for the orange juice to be refilled as both pitchers were empty. Nothing great, but it fills you up and is a quick breakfast. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to travelers, it was clean and in a good location for people traveling the UP.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, good location in St. Ignace, not that many people there as is was only the first week of May
  • Disliked — The temperature of the pool was way too hot! Someone turn down the heat! :)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HorseFeathers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

After reading reviews here, I had low expectations. We stayed two nights.

This is a very busy hotel. The rooms are large, we had two queen beds. The breakfast includes cereal, yogurt, bagels, english muffins, sweet rolls and hard boiled eggs. They had a staff person constantly refilling the items.

If that isn't enough, there is a restaurant right in the parking lot.

The pool area is clean, and the pool and hot tub seemed larger than usually found in chain hotels. The pool water was very warm.

There is free wireless internet in the rooms and public areas.
Yes, they could do a better job cleaning the hallway and stairway windows, but I only saw them when passing by.

My complaints have to do with the other guests. The luggage carts disappeared for a very long time. After having it for a half hour in their room, and then, after unloading, the person expected me to go out to their car and bring it back in. I never saw the second cart. The seagulls would be less of a problem if people didn't feed them. They are quite aggressive when you sit on the balcony with food, or in my case, a cup of coffee.

The beach area isn't as bad as described in other reviews. It is not the ocean, so there isn't a tide to carry off weeds and other debris. There are chaise lounges, and a swing set. I didn't see an abundance of sea gull droppings.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Large comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — The large size, it's crowded.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place to stay before and after Mackinac Island
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank madgemarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Having stayed in many Holiday Inn Express hotels around
the country, this one rates average. The room was large
enough and clean; the beds/pillows could have been
softer(although the bedspread did look stained). The bathroom
was clean, too, although it wasn't stocked with the normal toiletries. The staff was efficient but not overly friendly.
If you're picking this hotel for the waterfront location, keep
in mind there isn't a beach and the grounds between the hotel
and beach are covered in bird droppings AND birds scavenging
for anything people drop or throw from their balconies. But
waking up to the water-view is pleasant.
We stayed in St Ignace as a base for visiting Mackinac Island
and if visiting again, would probably stay in one of the less
expensive hotels in the area - there seemed to be plenty. Be
forewarned there is very little to do in this town and not many
places to eat.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank rmc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

Since the first room we were assigned was across from the elevator, right next to the ice machine, we asked for and obtained a new room, without a problem. The view from the new room left a lot to be desired; I'm not sure why the rooms with a view cost more. There was no ice machine on the 4th floor, and not sure there are plans to have one installed.

There were no extra, easily accessible electrical outlets in the room. The continental breakfast was ok, but there were no healthy alternatives like oatmeal or yogurt. The staff was nice; it was fun watching the gulls from our balcony. The room was clean.

Helpful?
1 Thank harmonyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My husband, our 3 kids and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights 22-25 of July. The picture of the hotel on the lake is very misleading. It IS on the lake but I'd like to know where the sand that is shown is. Someone said the lake is down so maybe that's the problem. It's not a very attractive lakefront at all. Lots of slippery algea and, as someone said, lots of seagull poop. We had a beachfront room. While it's not the most attractive beach front (swampy is a better word), our kids loved it. And it was nice at night when my husband and I sat outside after dark to listen to the waves. That was really peaceful and quite enjoyed it;) Breakfast was filling at most but again, it was free. We didn't find anyone on staff overly friendly but they weren't rude. I love the fact that there are washers and dryers because I did 4 loads of laundry in 3 nights! Also the kids loved the pool. The rooms were also clean and spacious.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank kathrynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

I just finished a three-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express at St. Ignace.

While the room was extremely clean and well appointed, that's where the pleasantness stops.

I had a room on the first floor, beach level. Our room was caddy-corner to the other rooms, so the "view" we paid extra for included the beach AND the rooms across from us. The grass leading to the beach is littered with debris...i.e. feathers and seagull poop. It isn't well maintained.

There are two exits to the beach and the rooms in the hallways next to them are subject to screaming kids either on the way in or on the way out to the beach.

Above us there were children in a suite and we could hear them running and jumping for quite a while.

The staff, while friendly, did not seem overly inclined to help us.

The indoor pool was fantastic, but did not have the "adult swim" hours that a lot of other H.I. pools have. These hours are great so that you don't have to fight children for use of the pool.

And agreeing with some of the other ads, the free breakfast is ok at best. It has the bare requirements that the Express franchise requires.

If you have kids, this is a fantastic place. If you want quiet, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jakey450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free WiFi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing