We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What I Expected from a Holiday Inn Express” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected from a Holiday Inn Express”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

I typically stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotels because I can count on a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable price. This is very important when you’re traveling with young children and a spouse with asthma/allergies. This hotel did not meet my expectations for a Holiday Inn Express.

I believe this hotel was renovated from an old Holiday Inn into a Holiday Inn Express by replacing the furniture, bedding and shower head. However, the carpet was old and dirty and the room had a musty odor. In addition, the bathroom door was broken and was stitched together with screws and the bathroom sink was located outside the bathroom in the sleeping area. Our room was located on the ground floor, which felt like a basement. The patio led out to a grassy area that was full of bird droppings. So watch your step on your way to the so called beach. We requested a different room but the front desk informed us that the hotel was full and we could not be moved. This seemed odd since we checked in at 3:30 p.m. and the parking lot only had a few cars. I believe we could have been moved, but the front desk personnel did not want to be bothered with relocating us to another room. I believe this was the only person working at the hotel since I saw this individual performing many tasks throughout the night.

Finally, the breakfast was lacking and the breakfast area was too small to accommodate all of the families that were eating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyKamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
97
99
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Indoor pool is not heated, wireless connection is sketchy, lake front and beach front amenity is very lame. No sand and very muddy. Not accessible for playing with kids.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolel906, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
The indoor pool and spa are heated. The pool is kept above 80 degrees and the spa is much warmer. The wireless connection at the hotel works perfectly fine. If any customer has issues connecting there is 24/7 tech support available. The lake outside the hotel is Lake Huron as with all Michigan lakes there are low water levels. There is a sandy area for children to play at also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

The hot tub was dirty, with green algae and scum growing/built-up around the rim. It was also 2-3 degrees too cold. Very unhealthy! Not to mention a big letdown after running a half marathon and looking forward to nice time in the tub.

We stayed in room 205 and found both of the queen beds to have mattress and box springs that were shot; where the sleepers rolled into each other. Hard to accept paying to stay in a name brand hotel to find very poor quality beds.

The soft/firm labeled pillow cases were a nice touch, but not placed on the correct pillows. The linens were nice quality.

The floors were not vacuumed; having bits of debris throughout the room.

The shower handle was loose, to the point of nearly falling off.

The coffee was very, very weak; like dirty water.

The staff were nice, friendly people.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runner61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolel906, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
The Holiday Inn Express of St Ignace takes all reviews seriously. The housekeeping issues have been addressed as well as the concern of the pool temperatures. As of the spring of 2010, the hotel has all new mattresses. Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Ignace hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Rate posted for single room.....$185 per night. We were quoted $108 with AAA discount.
We were given room 122, lower level room on beach with view of Mackinaw Island. Two Queen size beds, non smoking.
First thing I had to call management about was the cable TV. Picture tube shot, was like looking through a telescope and the only colors displayed were lime green and purple.
Set was replace promptly.
Then I noticed the floor.....not in just one area, but the entire room. It was pathetic, as you'll see in the photos. Then the sliding screen door lock was broken in half and dangling. The Bathroom wall paper was peeling, there was VISIBLE mold growing around the window......and the sliding exterior door lock was also broken. The only way to secure it was to lower a makeshift rod against it. Wait until you see what was under the curtain that ran across the patio door. DISGUSTING. Dust was piled high on every piece of furniture........Just look at the " replacement tv" they delivered for evidence of what I'm talking about.
The room smelled musty and dank. Did I mention I found someone's pill left under the bathroom sink?.......
I plan to confront the front desk about these deplorable conditions, and write a letter to Holiday Inn Express management. They have some nerve charging this kind of money for a room that looks like this. I will NEVER stay at this Holiday Inn Express again, and I'll warn others.

ONLY BRIGHT SPOT WAS THE RESTAURANT NEXT DOOR......CALLED JAVA JOE'S
FABULOUS FOOD, GREAT SERVICE. BREAKFAST SERVED ALL DAY and HUGE PORTIONS SERVED HOT. PRICES VERY REASONABLE, MENU SELECTION AMAZING

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LWOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lower Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

I loved the hot breakfast. This was great. Pool was ok. Dont expect personal attention. Your on your own. If you want quite stay , stay on the third floor. The second and first you better expect noise from little feet running up and down the rooms. You can here walking and running. Boom Boom Boom = headache. Our room needed to be sweeped and it had a funky smell to it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigonedallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

We stayed for two nights in a room with two Queen sized beds and a gorgeous view of the lake. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean (with the exception of some spiders who had made their way in), and the staff we dealt with were very friendly. The balcony had tons of spider webs on the chairs.

The biggest "problem" that we had was with the guests at breakfast time. They were like animals who hadn't eaten in weeks! The staff really tried to keep the buffet stocked up, but some of the people were doing a whole "horde the food" thing. Not the hotel's fault, I suppose. Neither was the stupid woman painting her daughter's toenails at one of the breakfast tables while people were trying to eat.

The pool was overchlorinated and burned the eyes pretty bad. It also had a bit of an oily layer of stuff on the water, guessing from hair products or something. The hot tub water wasn't the cleanest I've ever seen either, and the temperature could've been bumped up a few degrees to actually make it a "hot" tub.

I think that due to pricing, the hotel gets a large number of guests who've never stayed in a "nice" place before, and their behavior reflects that. Personally, I'd rather pay an extra $40 or $50 a night to stay at a hotel with a classier clientele instead of dealing with the people we saw. For the price, though, it wasn't bad.

  • Liked — The view of the lake. The friendly staff. Breakfast food was good.
  • Disliked — Oily layer of scum in the pool and hot tub. Inconsiderate guests.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oOo_Chell_oOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Went for a pleasure trip to see the fall colors. Stayed the night before in the Holiday Inn in Mackinaw across the bridge, but came here when the other could not give us two nights in a row. Check in -easy. Found people friendly. Cheaper than Mackinaw City. Large lobby. Breakfast was ample.. Breakfast attendant says hotel is closed in a month for the winter. We had a lovely bed with pillows that were engraved firm or soft. Slept well. Nice showerhead and curved curtain. We had a kingsized bed and were very comfortable. We paid $109 for a Jacuzzi with a king. Mackinaw City Holiday Express wanted $159. We did not pay for a lakeside room but could see the lake from a side window.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free WiFi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing