We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest hotels if not the nicest in St Ignace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel was nice, location was great (near the ferries) and the breakfast was decent. The man running the breakfast was very efficient and friendly. We were on the top floor which was great since the hotel was full and very busy. My only complaint is that I was concerned about the bill under my door in the morning since I had booked this hotel using Orbitz, the matter was effficiently taken care of by the Manager who happened to be at the front desk in the morning. I would stay here again....

Room Tip: ask for top floor
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 516Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Have chosen this property many times before, usually with good results.Not this time. Made reservation 6/18 for a 3 day stay, starting 7/31. Requested a room on the highest floor (4th) and 2 or 3 doors from the elevator. Plenty early enough for my request to be honored, right? Wrong. I was put in room 316, which is on the 3rd floor, and quite aways from the elevator. Even though I have platinum status in the chains "priority club", they couldn't find a way to give me the room location I'd requested. Upon checking in, I was told "we're very full tonight, and this is the best we could do". When I got to my room I found many of the electronic items not woking ( weren't plugged in ) no pad or pen for notes or reminders, and I had to call maintenance because the lock on the door to the balcony would not work. Finally, when preparing to checkout, I noticed my bill had mysteriously jumped from $607 to $782. very dissapointed. Management needs to take more care in honoring special requests, and room readiness.

Room Tip: Don't bother. You'll get what they give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HARRY_LOVES_TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Unfortunately during peak season we cannot guarantee special requests. Our hotel is full or nearly full every night and when there are many people staying for multiple nights there are times when we do not have specific rooms available.

If there is an issue with your bill please contact me directly at the hotel and I would be more than happy to help in anyway I can.

Once again thank you for the review and thank you for staying with us.

Rachel
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its close proximity to Mackinac Island and great view. The hotel was fairly close to the island ferries and has a wonderful view of Lake Huron and Mackinac Island. We especially enjoyed watching the ducks swim while we were looking out our window.

The staff was friendly and provided helpful information about the local area. When we checked in, the room was very clean. I did a very thorough "Hotel Impossible" style inspection and the room passed with flying colors.

On a not so positive note, a couple things occurred that should never happen to a hotel guest.

First, another guest walked into our room while we were watching TV after check-in. Our door opened up and a family started walking in on us. After meeting with the family that walked in on us, I checked to see if their hotel key worked for our room. I swiped the other guest's key and the light turned green. Needless to say we were quite upset and concerned that another guest had access to our room. We immediately informed the front desk. They apologized and reset our keys. This is the first time this has ever happened to us at a hotel. I don't know the cause of this situation (human, computer, or mechanical error) but it happened.

The second incident (not as severe as the first) was regarding our housekeeping service after check-in. We ordered a pizza and had it delivered to our room. We left the pizza boxes on the dresser. We spent all of next day at Mackinac Island and noticed our pizza boxes were still on the dresser. We have stayed in hotels all over the USA and this was the first time we came back to trash in our room. We were so tired from the island and was very late at night so we waited until the next morning to inform the front desk. They apologized.

Pros
Location
Initial room cleanliness
View from room (we had the lake view)
Friendly and helpful staff

Cons
Issues mentioned above
Seating was very limited during breakfast (crowded)
Food was ok

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank JohnKnoxTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am sorry for the issues that you experienced during your stay. If there is anything further that hotel management can do please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back in the future.

Rachel
Assistant GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is one of the better HIE's you can stay in. The view off the backporch is great. It was clean and the rooms were fresh looking. The location is close to all the ferry's taking people to Mackinaw Island.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Clemsontoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are Holiday Inn Priority members and have stayed at many Holiday Inns. This time we booked our lakeview room through Orbitz. Upon checking in we were given a handicap room, right across from the laundry room, which we then promptly returned to the front desk for a new room. She then told us that since we booked through a third party site we only had certain rooms available to us! And that we should of booked through their website. Our second room was right next to the elevator and got a sore neck trying to view the lake from our room! It was only one night thankfully. So be aware if you book through a third party site, you will surely get the worst room in the place. If you do, approach the front desk for a new room...even through orbitz it was a pricy room. their booking process is skewed.
The hotel itself was standard Holiday Inn Express - clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Dear Laine9,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and we are sorry if some aspects of our hotel accommodation was not at par with your expectations. Your feedback will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Somehow this holiday inn was skipped over when the chain did all of their remodels a few years ago. I think it's because they can get away with it since it is such a tourist trap. If you aren't staying on the island you want somewhere close and cheap and holiday inn fits the bill. However the main level is actually the second floor and you will want a room on that level because the lower level has a funky/mildewy smell to it. We had two rooms and both rooms had lights that didn't work, and awful yellow florescent lighting for the bathroom mirror not good for getting ready. The staff was pleasant. We did not have the breakfast as there was an awesome cafe in the parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

jenmor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. If there is anything I can do please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Rachel
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Poor customer service. Staff lied to me about the room being refundable. I subsequently cancelled and was still charged for the room. They hid behind corporate policy in order to pocket my money. They don't seem to understand that they are in the hospitality business. there are plenty of other choices and this won't be mine

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UpN0rthGirl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Geoffrey S,

I am sorry that you are upset about the cancellation policy for your reservation. Most of our rooms are refundable up until three days prior to arrival at 3pm. The exceptions are Advance Purchase Reservations (also known as the Book Now and Save Program) and Smart Saver rates. The Advance Purchase and Smart Saver rooms are only available online as you must agree to the cancellation policy before booking those types of reservations.

As always if you ever have questions about a reservation when booking the hotel staff is always available to explain a policy or help you book.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#10 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front

Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $89 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free Wi-Fi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing