We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night at the HI on our way to Munising and used our Priority Points. We got there earlier than expected (1:00PM) so we sat outside by the water because our room wasn't ready. It was very relaxing and the view was beautiful. After a few hours we were able to check in and to our surprise they gave us an upgrade....a Jacuzzi suit with view of Lake Huron. The room was very big, when you walked in there was the bathroom, hot tub, couch, TV fridge etc. There is a wall separating the bedroom (with a king bed) from the living room area. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wench01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    78
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
97
99
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed here twice before jaunts to Mackinac Island. Both times we thought, Hm, a little expensive for what it is, rooms slightly small, carpet a little old, a little dated, breakfast food okay but not stellar. HOWEVER, the customer service folks at the front desk are really very nice and this is a total tourist area so you don't quite get what you pay for. The people who live here year round really only have a few months to make most of their income so I get it. That said, I really wondered about the sign by the elevator to "pardon our mess we are renovating" when there was no mess and no renovations! We looked at a bunch of reviews of other area hotels and went back to this one because we were nervous about an unknown brand with not many stars. It is certainly decent and clean, just not spectacular in any way. We had a room with a view of Lake Huron and it was certainly nice.

We love staying in St. Ignace rather than Mackinac City because 1) you get to cross the MIghty Mac, 2) there are some cute shops, 3) there is a nice little Ojibwa museum, 4)there are some yummy restaurants, and 5) it is not nearly as tacky as MC.

If you are going to go over to Mackinac Island, I suggest getting your ferry tickets online in advance as it will save you some time. There are several ferry lines, including Shepler's and Arnold. A search will take you to the website. All ferries cost the same and I had a hard time finding any discount coupons for tourists! No AAA, nothing! There are some packages if you have 3 or more so look carefully. If you are traveling with bikes you can take your bikes over to the island and that's a fun way to get around. Bikes have a little fee so plan for that.

Enjoy your trip to northern MI!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear KCooke86,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

A little out dated, but the rooms are very nice. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Jessica and Eric were very nice and helpful at check-in. Made me feel very comfortable. The hotel and jacuzzi was soo nice -- even better that my son and I got to be in the pool alone! =] The hotel wasn't overly crowded but the parking lot is small.

All in all I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mama_moritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed with the family the night before going to Mackinac Island. No concerns. Room was standard room overlooking Lake Huron. Our balcony overlooked the lake. It was pretty but was a small/limited view. The kids enjoyed playing in the sand downstairs. We did not use the pool but people in the elevator said it was COLD and the hot tub was HOT. Once concern was that there was only one elevator that we saw and it was often crowded. Breakfast was fine. Planned to ask about the ferry but when I went to the front desk there was a sign that said be back in a few minutes. Waited for a couple of minutes but then came back later. They did not really give a recommendation when my husband talk to them but they gave him information on all three. Location was good as it was close to the ferry docks.

Room Tip: As for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear ktaggie,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A typical Holiday Inn Express. This chain are all very similar in what you get. As per normal a spacious clean room with a very comfortable bed. My balcony had a small but limited view over Lake Huron. Staff were all friendly and the usual Holiday Inn Express breakfast was good.

For those wanting to go over to Mackinac Island it is only a couple of minutes drive straight down the road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiPatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is just a bit up the road from the main strip of St. Ignace, very close to ferry terminals. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. Lovely view of the lake! I'd stay here again, although it was a tad pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
286 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were originally slated to stay in a nearby motel of lesser quality. But when we arrived we found that motel had not yet opened for the tourist season in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. A note on the locked door advised us to try the Holiday Inn Express next door. We did so and discovered that both properties had the same owner. For our "inconvenience" we were upgraded to a luxury suite on the top floor with an in-room Jacuzzi. And the price we would have paid at the not-yet-opened motel was honored. What a deal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free WiFi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing