We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No concerns; Typical Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed with the family the night before going to Mackinac Island. No concerns. Room was standard room overlooking Lake Huron. Our balcony overlooked the lake. It was pretty but was a small/limited view. The kids enjoyed playing in the sand downstairs. We did not use the pool but people in the elevator said it was COLD and the hot tub was HOT. Once concern was that there was only one elevator that we saw and it was often crowded. Breakfast was fine. Planned to ask about the ferry but when I went to the front desk there was a sign that said be back in a few minutes. Waited for a couple of minutes but then came back later. They did not really give a recommendation when my husband talk to them but they gave him information on all three. Location was good as it was close to the ferry docks.

Room Tip: As for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear ktaggie,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had during your stay. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 313 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

A typical Holiday Inn Express. This chain are all very similar in what you get. As per normal a spacious clean room with a very comfortable bed. My balcony had a small but limited view over Lake Huron. Staff were all friendly and the usual Holiday Inn Express breakfast was good.

For those wanting to go over to Mackinac Island it is only a couple of minutes drive straight down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiPatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is just a bit up the road from the main strip of St. Ignace, very close to ferry terminals. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. Lovely view of the lake! I'd stay here again, although it was a tad pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. Totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were originally slated to stay in a nearby motel of lesser quality. But when we arrived we found that motel had not yet opened for the tourist season in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. A note on the locked door advised us to try the Holiday Inn Express next door. We did so and discovered that both properties had the same owner. For our "inconvenience" we were upgraded to a luxury suite on the top floor with an in-room Jacuzzi. And the price we would have paid at the not-yet-opened motel was honored. What a deal!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a lovely view from our lakeside room, and that made this place well worth crossing over the bridge to stay the night. I was disappointed that the hot tub wasn't working, but the pool was nice.

Breakfast was typical HIX. Our room was clean and comfortable. But these rooms need MORE electrical outlets!! With having to use C-Pap machines, charge cell phones and iPads, etc. there are just not nearly enough plugs!

Room Tip: Ask for lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

First off, this place looks beautiful and not much else around does. So, unless your looking for a motel, this may be the nicest hotel in St Ignace. But the issues started the second we checked in. We got to the hotel around 5pm, which is a busy time for people checking in generally and there was one person working. It took FOREVER for her to get to us. Next, she started to tell us our groups rooms weren't ready, even though check in was at 3:00. When I asked about us getting some kind of pro rate due to the issue, then all of a sudden, our rooms were ready. Next, our deal included TWO tickets for the ferry, and she was trying to give us only one. We argued about that for a bit, and she finally gave us two. We get to our room, which is half the size of the other rooms that our groups had, and yet we were all paying the same price. None of lights worked, as none were plugged in. Now we're moving furniture to get some light. Other things; no alarm clock, no fan or vent in the bathroom, no fridge.. Not sure I've EVER been without an alarm clock in a hotel room before. The fire alarms were constantly going off in the hallways, if you used the hair dryer, if you took a hot steamy shower. The first night we stayed, the pool was ice cold, and the hot tub was no more than luke warm. They do have a HUGE hot tub, but due to the fact that the pool was so cold, all the kids were literally swimming in the hot tub. Jumping in and landing on the elderly grandparents with us. (The same kids were running up and down hallways at 6:30am with no parents) The second night, the pool was just as cold, but the hot tub was hot. The WIFI goes on and off every few seconds, so don't plan on using this for anything important. Good things?? The hotel is pretty clean, and seemed like a lot of things were just renovated. It is VERY close to Sheplers Ferry service, which is a great service to the Island. The breakfast is GREAT; cheese omelets, bacon, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, warm cinnamon rolls plus all the regular continental stuff. It was all very good for being free. Beds are very comfortable, and the view was great. I would say that I am not sure i would stay here again due to the issues I have listed. But like I said, there are not a lot of hotels in St. ignace, just a lot of motels. So not sure if there is much of a choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Kristi W,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you liked the breakfast options we served and the fine convenient location of our hotel in the area. Please accept our sincerest apology for the issues you had at check in and the room accommodations you received was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the experience you had with the noise and our pool and hot tub facility affected your stay negatively. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class experience to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was disappointed in the room. No mini fridge or microwave, beds were a tad lumpy. The sliding glass door of the balcony wouldn't lock. The view was beautiful though! The free continental breakfast was VERY good! The pool was nice and big and kids enjoyed that. Have stayed in the past but not sure if I would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Casey G,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our pool and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding room amenities and the balcony lock. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#10 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front

Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $89 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free Wi-Fi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace-Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing