We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very disappointing hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a night here recently on our return from the UP. We rented a lakeview room, which came with a hot tub. The tub was in the living room, and evidently the carpet had gotten wet on a regular basis, because the smell of mold and mildew was overpowering. We were given a standard room after complaining, which at least didn't smell.
The whole facility is dated and dirty, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid the hot tub rooms at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear james f,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    78
    69
    36
    22
See reviews for
98
99
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Staying in St. Ignace for our trip to Mackinac Island reduced our cost at least 30 percent over staying in Mackinaw City! And it was so much more relaxed, with a beautiful view. They also offer a combo package including ferry fix that can mean even more savings. Laid back, walkable history at your doorstep. Free parking at the ferry too! The hotel shows signs of updates and improvements coming, but it's certainly fine given that we were there to be out and about, not lounging around a hotel room! Oh, and it's pronounced IG-niss.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natmacpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was a little skeptical when I read some of the hotel reviews on another website (not named) as some people gave this hotel 2 stars or 2 1/2 stars. Those people must be used to staying at $400-$500 a night hotels. For $120 we got a room with a view of Lake Huron, 2 queen beds and a walk out to a sandy beach where the kids can play. If you wanna go in the water, that's fine, just being old tennis shoes or water shoes cause it's really rocky. The sand box area is right before the rocky shores. Staff was nice and the pool and jacuzzi were great as well. Nice holiday inn express and we will be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was nervous about staying here after reading some of the reviews, but the Intercontinental Hotel rebate offer convinced me to try it. The hotel is older, but there are signs stating that there will be some refurbishing in 2013. Referring to a prior review, the business center now has a printer which I did use.

Our stay turned out just fine. The first room we checked into had a problem with little flying insects, apparently from the previous occupant leaving the screen door open (beware!). We were promptly moved to an upgraded king room with a spa - this room was so spacious. The view of Lake Huron and Mackinac Island was great. Breakfast was standard HI Express which was fine by me. We didn't use the pool but noticed a lot of guests using it. The hotel was close to the ferries and Mackinac Bridge. Touring the Mackinac area, you have to watch out for birds and bird droppings, and the rocky beach of this hotel was no different.

Overall I think the hotel is fine for the St Ignace area. It will be nicer after the planned renovations next year.

Room Tip: choose the lake front rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPBAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Upon reading all the reviews for this hotel I reluctantly reserved a room for 3 days. I am soooo glad we stayed here. We had the most beautiful view!!! The kids enjoyed finding unique rocks, which yes the beaches here are ALL rocky, if people took the time to learn about this place Lake Huron is rocky, Lake Michigan is beachy, so if want a sandy beach, your at the wrong lake. We were close to town and the ferry. Our room was clean and housekeeping arranged my daughters stuffed animals in the cutest manner at the end of her bed. The beds were very comfortable too. We truly enjoyed our stay with the unspoiled natural surroundings, even the birds, who do live in nature. Not sure where others expect them to be? Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claypoolfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We recently stayed at this Holiday Inn, with four people in a room and a 6 month old, and loved our stay! The people working here could not be nicer

I think either the reviews on here are from very anal people or people that should be looking to stay at the Ritz, o.k I will admit that the outside pool was a bit chilly, but it was 95 degrees outside, if you want to swim in 90 temperatures go in the hot tub or play in your bath tub, OR go in the indoor pool, it was like 85!! Someone else mentioned the beach was rocky and the water was cold in the lake?? really?? you base your reviews on this?? come on...

I will admit that we where in the newer section, the rooms right down on the water looked smaller and older, but i can't comment on the decor inside of those rooms, but our section was beautiful. My ONLY complaint was I could hear the sliding door the bell cony in the room above us, but that was from like 9pm till about 10:30 ish, did it wreck my stay, no.
I would stay here again anytime, the rooms are nice, the people are incredibly friendly and the views are fantastic of the lake and the island. The continental breakfast was great, eggs/ waffles/ muffins/ coffee and different cereals, someone complained about that as well, read the definition of "continental breakfast" your getting way more then some places!! if you want more go to a Ihop, and pay $10 per person.
Over all solid 8.5-9, cheaper then staying in Mackinaw city,will stay on next visit to Mackinaw area!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goody115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel offers excellent views of the lake for the small balconies in each room. The room was cleand and functional except for the small, dark bathroom. The TV sucked also. A good location as it is close enough to town and far enough out to be quiet. The breakfast was standard fare. Not a perfect place but I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdie6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.3 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace

Property: Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace
Address: 965 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Saint Ignace
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier lodging destination in Beautiful St. Ignace, Michigan! 85 beautifully refreshed rooms, right on the shores of Lake Huron. Awesome views of Mackinac Island! Be Sure to ask for a Lakefront Balcony room! Enjoy our famous Express Start Breakfast made fresh for you each morning! Free WiFi throughout the building. Be sure to ask about our IHG Rewards Club, the World's #1 Guest Loyalty program! Earn points for Free nights and merchandise. Ask one of our guest service Representatives Today! Sign up is Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Ignace Hotel Saint Ignace
Holiday Inn St Ignace
Holiday Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing