We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

As a child, I stayed in this hotel as my family frequented this wonderful beachfront property. From the beach to the nightly bonfires, you get the most for your money and a service team that goes above and beyond the call of duty! This property is geared toward family and can't be beat for location and price. Very close to the ferry's for Mackinaw Island and the FREE breakfast is an added bonus:)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,510 - 1,516 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here over a weekend, wish we would have had more time now. We booked through Travelocity, got a ridiculously reasonable rate, especially considering the area and the quality of the property. It is located within walking distance (if you are in reasonably fair shape) of downtown St. Ignace, and you could easily walk to Shepler and Star Line docks. Within 10 minutes of the bridge, and plenty of stuff to do in the area. Keep in mind, St. Ignace is NOT Mackinaw City (which is a good thing), if you want to stay in that area for a price and don't mind paying the toll across the bridge, this is the place for you.

The property is excellent, well maintained, and comfortable. The rooms are reasonably sized, well cared-for, and clean. Beds were as comfortable as could be expected. We were placed in the Michigan building, which is about 100 yards from the shoreline, excellent view, and felt like a little private hotel. Some of the larger buildings looked like they could be noisy, as noted by several previous reviewers, but can neither confirm nor deny. We were also about 50 yards from the fire pits where there are nightly marshmallow roasts, can't even say that we had any noise issues from this.

There is an indoor and outdoor pool, honestly couldn't tell any difference in temp . . . outdoor pool would probably be warmer if they covered it at night, but it was still very well kept. The outdoor pool also has a 0 foot start point, slopes a little to about 2 foot deep (goes up to 5 foot away from the slope), was perfect for our toddler . . . allowed her a fair-sized area of varying shallow depths to play. The indoor pool looked OK, starts at about 3', so we were only in it long enough to determine that it wasn't warmer than the indoor pool.

The continental breakfast was decent . . . only complaint was that the line was ridiculously long on Sunday, and there isn't enough seating for rush times either day we were at the property. One day we took the stuff back to our room, the other day we ended up just skipping because we didn't have 20 minutes to stand in line with an impatient little one only to have to eat in our room because there was no seating.

Overall, I was very impressed with this property, and was also very pleased with the price we paid. Highly recommended, will definitely stay here again when we're back in the area.

Room Tip: If you can get into the Michigan building, will be well worth your effort. It's like being in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location, amenities, breakfast, s'more roast, etc. The only downfall was the exterior style staircase on our building, which I am very much not a fan of. If we stayed there again, I would have to be on the 1st or 2nd floor instead of the 3rd as it made travel in&out very difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPPPPPPPPPPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

After researching trip advisor, I knew I needed to get into this hotel. Luckily I got a room with a view...and such a nice view. Enjoyed watching the ferries as they passed by. Everyone who was staying there seems to be on the decks enjoying themselves and watching the waves.
Rooms are extremely comfortable with multiple places to sit.
Beds are about as comfortable as I feel a hotel can have. Clean...clean room. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganGizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and our 15 yr old stayed for 3 days and had a wonderful time! The view is amazing and it feels like a resort. Outdoor and indoor pool, two hot tubs, the grounds are large and very well taken care of. There is a fire pit with lots of chairs and they provide marshmellows for roasting by the lake. The rooms were a little small but I know they do have some bigger ones but we booked late. But they are very clean, the beds were comfy and we had everything we needed. The staff was great and the gals that took care of breakfast worked so hard to keep everything stocked. There was a lot of people because its actually a very large hotel. It has 4 different buildings which is kind of what gave it more of a resort feel. You can be there and never reallized your in town. And every satruday night in the summer St Ignace has fire works and let me tell you we had an incredible veiw right outside our room. Looked like they were right over us, it was beautiful and alot of fun.
We will stay here again!

Room Tip: If you have kids, the Michigan building is right by the playground and the water with lots of room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in the hotel early August. The room was a little dated, but very clean and beds were comfortable. Location is great because you can walk to the ferry dock or to the restaurants downtown. Landscaping is lovely, and very well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice place to stay in the UP. It's only about 5 minutes from the Bridge, but a world away from the tourist trap that is Mackinac City. The property is very well maintained, nice pools, both indoor and out, and good breakfast. There were 2 really nice bonuses...first, you can just walk down to the water on their own beach, great rocks, beautiful little inlet, great photos. Second, as it gets dark, they have a small bonfire where folks just sit around talking, roasting marshmellow, making s'mores. Definately staying here again when coming through the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.6 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
363 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#10 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront

Address: 797 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $91 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront!Guests searching for a true getaway have found it at our St. Ignace accommodations, where two heated pools and the best in hospitality are waiting.St. Ignace hotels are known for being the ultimate family getaway, but we raise the bar with a free hot breakfast featuring all of your favorite morning treats. With a convenient location to Mackinac Island, you’ll be in the midst of the most beautiful region in Michigan. Mackinac hotels aren’t just a great escape, but the perfect place for romance.Visit the stunning Tahquamenon Falls or slip away to Mackinaw City and discover some of the best dining and shopping options in the region. Mackinac Island hotels are designed with your comfort in mind, whether you’re looking for rejuvenation or adventure. At Fort Mackinac, service men and women can quickly commute back and forth from our property, and when staying with us, even business trips are injected with a dose of surrealism.On our eleven-acre resort style property overlooking Mackinac Island, you’ll experience the best of both worlds. Conveniently located close to the Mackinac Island ferries, restaurants, shopping and all northern Michigan attractions, you can spend the mornings antiquing and the afternoon strolling around the island. The friendliest staff members in town are always on hand to ensure your trip is the best it can be.From luxurious bedding to spacious, comfortable rooms, you’ll feel right at home when staying at our St. Ignace hotel. If you’d like some recommendations on places to go and dining, simply ask one of our helpful staff members. As local ambassadors, we’re happy to share a local’s perspective on just what makes the region so special.Book a stay at BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Harbour Pointe Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Harbour Pointe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing