We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great property at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great property at an affordable price”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on Victoria Day Long weekend and it was an excellent choice.We booked 2 queen deluxe room which was in their Ontario building right on the waterfront. They have 4 buildings on a huge site, namely Ontario, Huron, Superior and Michigan. I'd recommend Ontario or Huron building. The property is nicely maintained. The front desk staff were extremely polite and the breakfast was adequate. The room was clean and big enough for our family of four. All the rooms have a nice balcony but couldnot go out becuse of mosquitoes.We also bought ferry tickets and horse carriage tour tickets from the hotel at a discounted rate. The Arnold ferry is just 2 blocks away.
This is a decent, clean hotel for your Macinac Island getaway if you do not want to spend extra money for the hotels in the island. However, the time we went the last ferry from the island brought us back at 6pm to St Ignace and there was nothing to do in the evening. The ferry however runs till 9pm starting from May 21st.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms in Ontario/Huron building. The Ontario is their newest addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    314
    57
    24
    11
See reviews for
626
572
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I decided to book 2 rooms at this hotel based on the reviews I read on the internet.
What a great decision. We planned on a 2 night stay and was planning on visiting Mackinac Island on Saturday. When we got to the hotel we were greeted at the front desk with a smile and a welcome. The place was well maintained and the rooms were just what I paid for. My daughter wanted to go to the indoor pool immediately and we did. The pool was great and the hot tub was better. Our rooms had a great lake front view and the bonfire at 9pm was super. We even were offered discount ferrie and carrage tickets. The property is large and has a lot of room to walk around and check out the lake. They have a great child playground and kids love to walk on the rocks on the lake shore. The rooms are laid out so well that I didn't see a bad view of the lake from any room. Saturday morning we went to the comp breakfast at the hotel and I was pleasently surprized. We ate eggs, waffles, sausage, toast, ceral, bagles, yogurt, muffins, milk, orange juice and coffee, What do you want for free?
The service was great, the employees do everthing they can to accommodate. When we got back to our rooms they had cleaned them and re-stocked them with comp coffee and towels. Saturdays bonfire at 9 with comp marshmallows including sticks. What more can they do? Sunday morning more breakfast on the house, free internet, pool and great service. I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. The lower priced room will be fine. But pay a little more if you want more. it,s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, OH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past 10 years. I have always had a comfortable stay. This time we got an end room in the Ontario Building, which had a slightly larger room. The building overlooks Lake Huron. Fun to watch the sunrise over the lake.

We found a gummy bear on the floor, which tells me that housekeeping is a little careless.

The place offers a breakfast, which is included in the price. It is nothing special and you have to walk to the main building to access it. One of the toasters was burning the bread. And the woman servicing the area was blowing crumbs off the waffle maker with her mouth. Gross.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
544 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had asked for a "waterview" room over July 4th. Someone must know me since our room faced not one, but three different fireworks displays across the Mackinac area. The St. Ignace display was the best, as it was the closest one. Our room had a balcony with chairs which made viewing easy.

The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was extremely clean which maters the most. I thought it was of great value, including the free breakfast. The hotel gave us discounts to take the ferry over to Mackinac Island which was just a short ride away. The Best Western also gave away passes to the Indian Casino near St. Ignace for free slot pulls. We won $60!

The ferry ride over to Mackinac Island is fast and most of all relaxing. Several times of the day the ferries take a special side trip out to Mackinac Bridge which is a big plus.

Staying in St. Ignace and particulary at this Best Western is a super alternative to the high prices on Mackinac Island. We stayed for three days and loved every moment.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a waterfront room for July 4th. You may be able to see the Fireworks display.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaskum, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The hotel is beautiful and has both indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs. It is right on the water and overlooks Mackinaw Island. They have an outdoor firepit with a fire every night. The rooms are very clean and the staff is super friendly. They have a great hot breakfast and a great selection of cereals, pastries, etc. There are restaurants within walking distance. The free wireless internet works very well. If I'm in the area again, I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beerqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
471 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We loved this hotel - it has a number of newer buildings and an old motel - all beautifully maintained with a lovely open area between the buildings - it's right on Lake Huron. We had a great view and it looked to us like everyone else did, too!

We had a great stay here - comfortable chairs in the room - great television. We used the laundry facilities which were a couple of buildings away and very clean.

We didn't eat breakfast there as it was very crowded and loud - breakfast was included with the room - smelled pretty good - but I like quiet in the mornings!

Staff was very helpful and friendly - this is a seasonal hotel and we were at the end of the season. The weather was gorgeous - the hotel recommended several restaurants and helped us get disounted tickets to Mackinac Island - recommending one trip that goes out under the bridge on the way to the Island.

We had a good rate, too. This place was very nice. They had a couple of luggage carts right by the door of our building which was helpful and the building had a nice elevator. We had a great little outside deck and felt like we were right on the water. At night, they had a campfire out in the center area for anyone who was interested.

Room Tip: They all looked good to us - all faced the water - even the older motel rooms looked like they had g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great spot on the water for families and adults with very pleasant staff, very clean rooms and a nice campus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
375 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#11 of 29 in Saint Ignace
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
5.7 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront

Property: Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Address: 797 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Ignace
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Ignace
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront!Guests searching for a true getaway have found it at our St. Ignace accommodations, where two heated pools and the best in hospitality are waiting.St. Ignace hotels are known for being the ultimate family getaway, but we raise the bar with a free hot breakfast featuring all of your favorite morning treats. With a convenient location to Mackinac Island, you’ll be in the midst of the most beautiful region in Michigan. Mackinac hotels aren’t just a great escape, but the perfect place for romance.Visit the stunning Tahquamenon Falls or slip away to Mackinaw City and discover some of the best dining and shopping options in the region. Mackinac Island hotels are designed with your comfort in mind, whether you’re looking for rejuvenation or adventure. At Fort Mackinac, service men and women can quickly commute back and forth from our property, and when staying with us, even business trips are injected with a dose of surrealism.On our eleven-acre resort style property overlooking Mackinac Island, you’ll experience the best of both worlds. Conveniently located close to the Mackinac Island ferries, restaurants, shopping and all northern Michigan attractions, you can spend the mornings antiquing and the afternoon strolling around the island. The friendliest staff members in town are always on hand to ensure your trip is the best it can be.From luxurious bedding to spacious, comfortable rooms, you’ll feel right at home when staying at our St. Ignace hotel. If you’d like some recommendations on places to go and dining, simply ask one of our helpful staff members. As local ambassadors, we’re happy to share a local’s perspective on just what makes the region so special.Book a stay at BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Harbour Pointe Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Harbour Pointe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing