We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok place to stay. good value just an older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This place was good for the money. It was definately and older hotel, and did smell a little musty. But it was clean that is for sure. The staff was very helpful and nice. The pool was large and warm. There is even an adults only hot tub. Which came in handy at times. The view was amazing from our balcony. Perfect lake view. There are two fire pits for those cool nights by the lake. It's not a Hilton but for what you pay it's not really that bad at all. The bathroom was super tiny though. And the shower would go hot to cold alot. Not sure I would stay here again. But then again I might. I checked the casino up the road and they had rooms that were newer and nicer for less money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 390 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2010

Clean convenient and lovely location. The hotel staff were so friendly, helpful and cordial.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmrogerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great and awesome view of Lake Huron and Mackinac Island from our room. The hotel itself was clean, but the hallways were really musty smelling. We were on the bottom floor, which smelled worse than the main floor. Breakfast was fine. My husband enjoyed the biscuits and gravy. Other options included cereal, toaster waffles, toast, bagels, hard boiled eggs, coffee/juice/milk. Price was very reasonable. Pool was nice and warm, although the chlorine levels seemed really high. Overall, our stay was nice. It would have been a lot better if the damp/musty smell in the hallway wasn't there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tldmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

This is an older hotel and has the tendency to smell just a little musty in the hallways but the room was clean, the beds were very comfortable and we could walk out from the outside door of our room right to the lake. We sat up until midnight just watching the lake and enjoying the lights from Mackinac Island. The Cost was well below everyone else in the area and all of this included a heated pool, two hot tubs and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The bed was worse than a camp cot. The bathroom light fixture was full of dead bugs inside and out. The room smelled as if it hadn't been used all summer. Couldn't open the screen door to go on the balcony to see Lake Huron or Macinac Island. Shower curtain didn't fit the tub and water sprayed all over. At 8:00 AM all that was left of breakfast was oatmeal in a rusty crockpot. Parking was difficult. The pool wall was crumbling into the pool. The rooms needed updating. I was glad I brought my own linens to use.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firebirdninety8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

The bed was worse than a camp cot. I heard every step the people above us took. There were 20 people in the breakfast room at 8:30 AM and all the food was gone except for oatmeal in a rusty crockpot. The shower curtain didn't fit the shower rod and water sprayed all over the room. The light fixture was full of dead bugs inside and out. The screen door to the balcony was full of holes and I couldn't open it because of all the bugs wanting to pay their respects to the dead bugs inside.The pool wall was crumbling into the pool and kept stepping on it. Spend the extra $20 and stay at Best Western.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firebirdninety8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

room is spacious, bathroom was spotless, and wi-fi working great. the view if macinac island is awsome! we always stay here when we are in this area, wouldnt stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifey329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 29 in Saint Ignace
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 29 in Saint Ignace
373 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
America's Best Value Inn
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Address: 1067 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $88 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing