We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Can I give it 3.5 circles? Good but a few small things would make it better.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
236 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Can I give it 3.5 circles? Good but a few small things would make it better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I'll give you the good, the bad, and the little bit ugly about Bavarian Haus.

Things that I liked: 1) The staff was helpful and informative about things and gave good pointers about the area. 2) We found a coupon and it made the price very nice for our stay. 3) We were on the first floor and enjoyed the small patio and lake view it provided. Sunrise was wonderful. 4) The room was quiet. Although it was the week after Labor Day and it appears St. Ignace and Mackinaw City shut down after Labor Day. Very few guests were at the Lakefront Inn when we were there. 5) The ice machine worked perfectly. You have no idea how important that is until you're at a hotel with a broken ice machine. 6) The jacuzzi felt very nice after a long day of tourist stuff. The indoor pool looked quite inviting as well. 7) The breakfast area on the 2nd floor has a small outdoor deck to overlooking Lake Huron.

Things I didn't like: 1) The layout of the Bavarian Haus is very disjointed. Go up one set of stairs to get to the breakfast area, down these stairs to get to the pool and front desk, up these stairs to get somewhere else. It felt like I was touring a Navy aircraft carrier with green carpet. 2) Unless you really need to use the elevator, don't it's slow. I always beat the elevator by using the stairs. Besides a little cardio is good for you. 3) The breakfast food is nothing to write home about. At best it was okay. The sausage and gravy was just okay, and the sausage patties were overcooked. the fruit was good. The coffee wasn't good at all and they only had powdered creamer that didn't improve the coffee at all. A higher quality coffee and those little 3/4 inch tall containers of real creamer would have improved it a half circle in my review. A little thing I know, but a good breakfast really makes a good start to a day.

The ugly: It didn't matter to me but I should note the decor looks like something out of the late 1980s/early 90s. Everything is clean and serviceable, but don't expect it to look like a brand new facility. If that is important to you, then you'll be disappointed.

My girlfriend and I decided we would stay here again as overall we did like the Bavarian Haus, especially if we had a coupon like last time. I just hope there's some improvement with the breakfast and coffee.

Room Tip: First floor rooms on the lakeside have a outside door leading to a small patio with 2 chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianD317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your detailed feedback, Brian. I'm sorry to hear that a couple of aspects of your stay weren't stellar, though. We're proud that we've been welcoming guests in for nearly 30 years, but of course we always want to keep up with renovations. If there's anything we can do to make you more comfortable, don't hesitate to let us know. We'd be happy to take care of you!

I hope you had a wonderful time around the lake and exploring the area. The next time you visit St. Ignace, we'd love to welcome you in.

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    116
    53
    35
    12
See reviews for
141
143
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very clean. The location on the water is great. Breakfast was OK. What makes this place great is the staff! They gave us great recommendations on where to eat and what to do in the UP. Stuff we hadn't considered doing, they recommended and we really like it. Pool area is also nice.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank blackiegq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback! There's nothing we love more than this beautiful area, so it's our pleasure to help you find the best places to visit and explore. We hope to see you during your next family vacation!

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Our family vacation was planned in January so we had 7 months of anticipation. We planned to stay 3 nights in St. Ignace then drive to Sault Ste Marie, Canada for 3 nights. My wife and 2 boys drove the mini van and I rode my Goldwing. My wife and boys arrived at Bavarian Haus before me and got us checked in. When I arrived I found the room to be spacious for a 2 queen room. It was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom area was good sized as well. The hotel itself seemed to be generally well maintained. We had a balcony room on the third floor with a nice view of Lake Huron. The lakefront yard had areas for sitting and enjoying the lake breezes and games of Frisbee golf and bean bag toss which lead to tournaments! The swimming pool was a nice size and the boys spent hours playing there. The breakfasts were adequate and consisted of sausage patties, hard boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese which we made into "McEggle Bagels". There was also English muffins, PG & J, apple juice and orange juice, cereal, Danishes and some fruit. The nicest thing for me was that when I went to my bike in the morning I found a towel on my seat to wipe off the dew that had settled over night. That's royal service that puts Bavarian Haus on my list of hotels to return to.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view choose a 3rd floor room. If you have kids that need to run take a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manofintegrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Sounds like you guys had one fun family vacation! Thanks for taking the time to share your great details with us. Waking up to those beautiful lake views is the perfect way to start your day, right? It's wonderful that you took advantage of all the fun to be had by the water. We hope to see you next summer for another relaxing getaway!

Take care,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

I had booked a room at America's Best Value Inn through Orbitz.com the day before our trip. When I arrived there, our reservation could not be found, and I got a bit worried. Apparently the Bavarian is a partner of America's Best, and so the receptionist called over. Seconds later, she informed me that our room had been upgraded to a Lake View room with the Bavarian across the street due to overbooking.

While slightly outdated in decor as well as the building itself, the room itself was clean and fresh, and the view was beautiful. We had everything we needed, and while it is supposed to be their busiest time of the season, the hotel was not noisy at all. We had a wonderful hot breakfast with various options the next morning, and also enjoyed the nice, warm heated pool.

The staff was pleasant and offered great suggestions for food at dinner time. Overall, our stay was relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Raquel! You can't beat waking up each morning to those beautiful lake views, right? It sounds like you had a blast taking in the sights and sounds of Lake Huron. The next time you make the trip to our area, we'd love to have you back in!

Take care,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had such a pleasant stay. The staff was very welcoming when we arrived and helpful as to where to dine, things going on in the area and such. The room was huge and extremely clean. (Thanks Susan) The free breakfast bar had such a variety, you didn't have to eat the same thing twice. Our balcony with a beautiful view was so relaxing. We were able to watch local fireworks from the parking lot and avoid downtown traffic congestion. What a treat! We will definitely be back. The only other comment I would make is to inconsiderate adults who apparently can't read. The notice not to feed the seagulls is there for a reason. If people would heed the request, it would make everyone's stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chipncheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
It's fantastic to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us! We always want our guests to have a truly memorable experience, and it sounds like from our friendly service to the incredible fireworks, your visit was top notch. Thanks for sharing your experience with us here, and we hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!

All the best,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights in a walkout suite. My boys loved it! Breakfast buffet was wonderful as well. The front desk staff was super friendly and gave us great ideas on local attractions. The manager Jason was a great guy and very helpful. Great location, great price, great people! I highly recommend the Bavarian Haus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, Wendy! So glad you and your boys enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the recommendation and hope that you'll stay with us again in the future!

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, big rooms. Great price. Loved the balcony and the amazing view of the lake and island. Pool area nice with 2 hot tubs and sauna. Small breakfast area. Desk staff very nice amd helpful. We would definitely stayhere again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoopnsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for your glowing recommendation! I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You can't beat waking up each morning to those beautiful lake views, right? We'll see you next time you're in the area!

Take care,
Howard Cole, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#17 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Property: Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Address: 1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing