We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Reviewed July 5, 2008

This is not a very nice hotel. My family and I stayed in a 2 queen bed suite. There were stains on the box springs of both beds (not sure what they were and don't think I want to know). It looked like someone blew their nose on the inside of the bed spread. Walls were dirty. Sliding balcony screen door was very hard to open. Wall paper was peeling off. It looked as if some of the walls near the ceiling were water damaged. The game room consisted of 3 very old video games. The pool was ok at best (water was very cloudy and cement around pool was poorly patched). The write up on the room mentions a fold out bed in the living room. It was a $99 futon that was in very poor condition. The hotel it self is not maintained very well (many bulbs in stairways burned out and cob webs on the fixtures, to many other things to list). I read many reviews on this hotel and was leery about booking a room. I called the hotel and spoke with the person at the desk and expressed my concerns and he assured me that the rooms were top notch and said that the have won the chairmans award several years in a row. With this being said I trusted all would be ok and the other reviews were just picky guests. I wish I would have listened to the reviews. I would have left this hotel and went to another but they were all booked due to the July 4th weekend. We used our own blankets and pillows and toughed it out. This is not a $180 a night hotel by any means.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Null99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 397 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2008

We, my sister and our adult daughters, stayed at the Days Inn while traveling to a wedding the following day. We originally booked the 3 queen room but they upgraded us to the 2 bedroom suite with a separate living room. We stayed in this room a few years ago, and it is great!! Each bedroom had its own balcony. The staff was great, complimentary breakfast was very good, and the pool and hottub were wonderful!! Perfect temps! They have a casino shuttle if you're interested. Beds were so comfy with tons of pillows!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tk4books
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

This hotel was in a perfect location at the water's edge . Every room was waterfront with a private balcony that overlooked Lake Huron. Large room with a big picture window that faced east. On clear mornings the sun rose right over the lake in brilliant shades of orange, pink and blue. Loons floated by morning and evening. Our biggest thrill. Small refrigerator and coffepot. Very clean upon arrival but the maid service was poor. 1 day she did not clean at all, the next she simply took the dirty towels, did not empty trash or make the beds. 3rd day after several complaints the room was cleaned properly. Modest continental breakfast, juice, cereal, bagels, fruit adn coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

My family has stayed here several times over the years and always had a good experience however, this time was different. The room was exceedingly hot partly due to the fact that it had been in the lower 80's that day but it was compounded by the fact that the air conditioner was woefully inadequate. The button was broken although it could be manipulated and the filter had not been changed in years. If it had not been for the fact that there was a balconey window to open, we would have left.
In addition, the toilet did not flush adequately. Lovely site though.
We spent the next two nights in the Soo for 1/2 the money and not a single problem whatsoever.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weaverjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

My family and I just returned from our stay at the Days Inn and Suites in St. Ignace. We reserved a two room queen suite. Upon arriving in the room, I was pleased with the large size. It had a living room type area with a pull out couch and a bedroom area with two queen beds. I was also surprised to find that the room had two sinks, one in the bath and one in the hallway outside the bathroom (handy when multiple people are trying to get ready). The view of the lake from the balcony was also nice. Now for the negatives....the room was definately due for an update. The furniture was old and outdated. The two queen beds both had ugly, dark brown stains on the boxsprings. The stains were very large and were visible because there was no dust ruffle or anything covering the old, stained box springs. It was not a pretty sight. The pull out couch came with sheets that were paper thin and were stained. We had to send down for new sheets and when they arrived, we found they were also full of stains. It was quite disgusting. The pullout mattress was very thin and had a metal bar that stuck up through the middle of the mattress (very uncomfortable for the people that had to sleep on it). The hotel itself was very drab and dark looking. There was no elevator that we could find. The continental breakfast was very sparse. The setup was not appealing. The breakfast room was very small and super crowded. The selection was limited. There wasn't even any fruit offered. The experience was just pretty disappointing. For the price we paid, I was expecting a higher quality.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Momtobe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We just got back today from our trip to St Ignace. Our room was a nice size, two queen beds. Average cleanliness. Fridge was not working. It was promply replaced. Air Conditioner was Very loud.And most annoying. The halls were very hot and poorly ventilated. The pool room was the worse. It was so hot we could not set in there to watch our kids swim. We were told by the front desk. No windows could be opened. Although several do have screens. On the ajoining sun deck. Although there are two tables with holes in them for umbrellas. They have no umbrellas. So there was no setting out there. To watch the kids swim and get air. Plus there was a lot of thick mold growing around the deck door. In our room you could hear every time the water was run upstairs. They did have a very nice Continental Breakfast. But no fresh fruit as advertised. The view was as advertised.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank ninab1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I initially tried to book our stay at the #1 rated hotel by Trip Advisor but was disappointed that there weren't any rooms available. I then booked with the #2 rated Days Inn which was $10.00 cheaper for the same King/nonsmoking Balcony Lakefront AWESOME view which made it #1 in my book . We were pleasantly surprised that there was an ADULT ONLY hot tub area room separate from the indoor pool area. The breakfast room is pefectly fine with an outside large balcony and picnic table available for extra seating if needed. We also ate dinner next door at the steakhouse which had the best prime rib and the absolute best perch ever for great prices.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank keoweegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 29 in Saint Ignace
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#13 of 29 in Saint Ignace
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#9 of 29 in Saint Ignace
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Address: 1067 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range: $93 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. Guests love our big indoor pool/spa area, complete with a dry sauna. Not only do we have a hot tub available for families, there's a separate "adults only" whirlpool, too! We're right up on Lake Huron, and all our rooms overlook Mackinac Island and the Straits Area. The sunrises are spectacular! In the warmer weather, there's fire pits for you to enjoy your own bonfire, grills, and a wide range of outdoor games. Hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing