We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Motel(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Lakefront(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vitek's Motel(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers Resort(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Motel(Saint Ignace)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
159
135
59
35
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
135
59
35
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake huroncontinental breakfastrooms face the watersausage pattiestoaster waffleswould stay here againbeautiful viewlarge bathroomfirst floorthe breakfast areaoff seasonfire pitstaff was very friendlymini fridgehot tubbeds were comfortableupper peninsula
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 401 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here on our way up in Michigan and on our way headed home. Both our rooms were very nice, clean and well kept. When you walk in and see Lake Michigan from your window, you just want to open the patio door and step out and enjoy the view. Its wonderful. They have beautiful, well maintained grounds and have several places to sit and enjoy the view. We had the most magnificent sunrise before we left for home. I think we took 100 pictures of it. The breakfast was very nice, just make sure you come in the times they serve it and don't be late. The food was very abundant and they kept all the bowls and platters full the whole time. Sea gulls fly by your deck looking for hand outs, so read the note they have on the table and don't feed them. They left us alone, because we did what the note said.

Room Tip: I don't think you could get a bad room. The views are WONDERFUL
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lutheran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

"What a gem!"— Thanks for the kind words and thanks for choosing to stay with us both times on your way in and out of Michigan. We often hear about people enjoying the sunsets, but it seems like you were able to really soak it in and admire it which makes us happy. It's the reason why we put patios in every room, because every single guest deserved to see it. Good call on heeding our advice and not feeding the seagulls! We want you to feel relaxed during your stay with us and those birds can become a bother if you get too generous. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we can't wait to see you next time you find yourself in Michigan.

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 8-24-13 for a quick overnight stay. Rate of about 120 bucks on a Saturday night. Pros... staff was very nice, room was clean... grounds well maintained.....Cons.... exterior doors do not lock, rooms a bit dated.... tv not the best.... for the price I was satisfied

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattslatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write us some quick feedback. While I'm please that you found your room clean and well maintained, I'm sorry that we weren't able to impress you all around. As far as the exterior doors locking, we've been very lucky to inhabit an incredibly safe community and I assure you that the safety of our guests is our number one priority. As for the TV, we are always looking to the next upgrade. Until then, we have a gorgeous Mackinac sunset that can't be missed that we invite you to check out! Hopefully, we will see you again soon.

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the Bavarian Haus. My Husband and I stayed here for a week. The view from our room(bed) was amazing! Looked out at Mackinaw Island. The sunrise was truly awesome! The staff here are always looking to make your stay comfortable. There was not one bad thing to be said!!! We want to thank all the Housekeepers for making us feel at home and feeding us coffee..haha..especially Candy, she took good care of us.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. Bottom floor goes right out to the grounds from your personal deck. Great jacuzzi's!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Carol, it's always wonderful receiving feedback like this from our guests. We love that you were able to take advantage of a beautiful Mackinac sunset that just can't be missed! I will be sure to pass on the compliments to my staff, specifically Candy. They will all be very happy to hear it. Thanks again for the great feedback and I look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Bavarian Haus for two nights in mid August on our way to Drummond Island and Mackinac Island. It was a very comfortable room with a view of the lake and beach. Felt like home! The staff is eager to help and to give great advice on things to see/do in the area. They have relaxing pool/spa area with an indoor heated pool and two jacuzzis and a sauna which was nice at the end of the day! All around great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Fawn, we love getting wonderful feedback like this. Thanks for taking the time to write about us! I'm glad to hear that your stay with us was pleasant and that you felt like you were at home. That's exactly what we strive for. Also, I'm happy that you were able to take full advantage of our amenities for an overall relaxing visit. We look forward to the next one!

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a last minute trip to St. Ignace. The gentleman working the front desk was very friendly, and more than helpful. All of the rooms have a nice view of the lake and Mackinaw island. There are a couple of chairs on each balcony, so you can enjoy the sunset. The inside of the rooms are pretty standard, nothing special, small fridge, tv, comfortable bed, and most important, pretty clean. Overall it was a nice place to spend the night. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars, was the shower temperature fluctuated from hot to cold.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlghetto911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard C, Owner at Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a nice review. I'm happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the wonderful view. I'm sorry to hear, however, that your shower was giving you issues. Did you by any chance mention it to the front desk? We would have been more than happy to fix it for you. Thanks again for the great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Howard Cole, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews