We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Room With A View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
1,011 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“A Room With A View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a very nice first floor room with a spectacular view of Lake Huron. Front desk man was very friendly and helpful. We found a senior discount price on the internet of $98 in July for a double room. It had a beautiful view and had a porch and chairs to sit on outside. Room included a small frig and even a microwave if you ask for it at the front desk. Also has a strong wi-fi. They offer a buy one get one free ferry ticket to Mackinac Island. Just ask at the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    117
    56
    35
    12
See reviews for
142
146
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location was great with a beautiful view of Lake Superior. The staff was great....cheerful, helpful and accommodating. Although the room was quite large, they do need to be upgraded. The breakfast that is included was a HUGE disappointment. It appears that they remodeled one of the standard rooms and shoved the kitchen/dining area in there. It was uncomfortably hot in there, crowded, generic food....really just claustrophobic. For that amount of money, I think I would research other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family spent 3 nights here in July 2013. We have 4 children so the availability of 3 queen beds was a definite plus. It was a great jumping off point for our excursions to Mackinac Island, Tehquamenon Falls and Lake Superior. The Lake Huron view was spectacular and if you're up to it, the sunrises are well worth it. The pool was very nice and enjoyed by all. the staff was friendly. One special experience was watching the 4th of July fireworks from Mackinac Island, Mackinac City and, of course, St. Ignace from the beach of the hotel. We were very close to the ferries and to dining in St. Ignace. It's not a brand new building, but it's nice and has everything a family needs to enjoy a nice vacation. The price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms face Lake Huron, so I can't image there being a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoughMade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite on the second (of 3) floor. The place was big and relatively clean, with a great view of the lake. The staff was great; we had a flat tire and Cody was very helpful and filled my tire so I could take it in to get plugged. The place was worn and a bit outdated, but OK. The walls/ceilings were very thin and we could hear every step the people took above us as if they were 800 lbs. I mean every step; I travel a lot and have never heard noise like this. Then the second night there was a party going on next to us till 1:30 and it was very loud. The front desk people did put a stop to it, which was appreciated. I mentioned the problems and the desk people said that happens at times, but that was it.

Good location and price good, rooms big and front desk folks very nice, but worn and loud. I would possibly stay again, but only on the top floor.

Room Tip: Get on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chfijlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not a bad room had suite but in need of upgrade , walls in hallways dirty , carpet old , pool nice kids liked it, one hot tub not working, stayed on 2nd floor could hear people above us walking floor creaks, ground kept up nice, good water views, little too high priced to me , thats what they still had openings when we stayed 7-4-13. free breakfast ok not the best but, work out room has old stuff one bike not working,tread mill very loud , game room a joke . Stayed two days will have to update or Lower price before I will be back or tell anyone about it.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor ask for new sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, IN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just finishing up a 6 night stay at the Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn. It's the July 4th week. The location is about 1 mile north of St Ignace, which was ok. If you want to be within walking distance of town, it's probably too far away. The hotel has a very strong odor....not really sure what it is. Perhaps old carpet that has been wet and have mold? One day the hall definitely smelled like a skunk. We got used to it after awhile and only noticed it if we were gone for the day and came back at the end of the month. The hotel is directly on Lake Huron and all rooms face the water. It's a beautiful view, but BE AWARE - the beach is NOT a swimming beach. While it IS beautiful, there is no sand....just rocks/dirt/vegetation. There is an indoor poor and it's ok...nothing special. There is a free hot-breakfast every day, and it's better than most free breakfasts you will find when travelling. Biscuits and gravy, sausage patties, boiled eggs, cold juices, toast, cereal, etc. The hotel has good wi-fi service with a strong signal. The rooms are old and plain, and the beds and bedding are "ok". We found the beds quite comfortable. The shower was clean and hot with a nice shower-head. The air-conditioner was difficult to regulate. The room was constantly too hot or too cold. Overall the facilities were very outdated, but not bad.

The staff has been friendly and helpful. They have helped us organize activities, arranged shuttles when needed, and have generally been attentive to our needs.

If you need shiny and new, and sandy beaches....this is not the place for you.

Keep your expectations in-line with a 2.5 star hotel, and you'll be ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davesellshouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Checked in at 4am, and was greeted with a smiling and courteous employee. The rooms were very spacious, and clutter free. There was a mini fridge in the room. The view of Lake Superior from our room was stunning!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
1.9 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Property: Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Address: 1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing