We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much nicer than we thought, great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Much nicer than we thought, great views!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked this property when it was a Days Inn, so when I found out it wasn't anymore, needless to say I was concerned. We arrived and found the inn right on the lakefront with every room facing the water, as promised. It is a very large hotel with plenty of lakefront property, which consists of a well-manicured lawn with swings, lounge chairs, picnic tables, and grill. There were also bonfires on the beach every night we were there. The beach isn't sandy for swimming, but full of large rocks which are nice to look at and climb on for photos. We saw the most impressive red moonrise over Mackinac Island on the the 4th of July. It was more spectactular than the fireworks! The balcony was such a nice extra for sitting outside in the evening, although the sun is VERY bright in the morning since all the rooms face east. The fridge in our room came in handy to store our leftovers from area restaurants (Jose's Cantina next door is EXCELLENT), as well as for chilling beverages (we had a bottle of wine, which fit upright and a 6-pack of beer). Very roomy fridge. The beds were reasonably comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was okay if you like hard boiled eggs and sausage gravy (which I don't). But I managed fine with eating cereal and bananas every day. They also had bagels, muffins, and juice. The breakfast was plentiful every day and they never ran out, not even right before 10:00am. There is no DVD player in the room or pay-per-view movies, but there is HBO and plenty of other channels. We got free casino cash for the Kewadin Casino just down the road and enjoyed that as well. We visited the Ojibwa Indian Museum and the Fort de Buade museum in town (both are free). We spent a whole day on Mackinac Island and this place is IDEAL for doing that. There are 3 different ferry boats right in town, very close down the street, and all of them charge $24 round trip. We took the Star Line hydro jet ferry, which I highly recommend and sat on top. The hotel does look a bit old and dated and not air-conditioned in the hallways, but the room was quite nice and cool (this was in 90+ degree weather). The indoor pool area looked nice, but the weather was too hot when we were there to try the whirlpool or sauna. We had a nice, romantic getaway at the Bavarian Haus!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have a patio, upper floors have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlepigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    119
    56
    35
    12
See reviews for
143
148
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The place was an older hotel, but was well kept. The room was larger than your average newer hotel and ours looked like it had been renovated not long ago and very clean. They have a very nice lawn behind the hotel that leads right out to Lake Heron, with places to sit (or tan if you like that kind of thing) and play things for kids. My two (grown) kids and I played multiple games of tether ball ... what a good time. I hadn't seen a tether ball pole for years. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK, pretty standard fare.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn (formally Days Inn) is the best place to stay. My family has been staying with them for the last 15 years. The staff is wonderful and very friendly, they make you feel like family. The rooms are very clean and very spacious, beds are also comfortable. We have been there in the winter and the summer and the view of the lake is beautiful in both season's. I would highly recommend them to anybody who is looking to stay in St Ignace. Will always chose them over anyone else!!! Hi everyone, and Rosie!!!!
Robert & Sherry Hottmann

Room Tip: Any room is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had a great experience here from the time we checked in to the time we left. The room was a good size and had a wonderful waterfront balcony. The room was very clean. There is plenty to do in the hotel from using the pool to playing some games in the game room. We enjoyed our stay and will be a return customer for years to come.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here in May. We liked it so much, we plan to return next year. My husband liked the breakfast buffet so much that we are staying here instead of on Mackinac Island!!

Room Tip: Any room will be wonderful. All have a private balcony and are right on Lake Huron.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Beautiful room and view. The service was wonderful and the breakfast was super.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank dansyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National City, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were going to stay at Casino for Monday night and Tuesday night. St Ignace was supposed to get a lot of snow, So we left a day early. Could not get a room at the casino, So I booked at Days Inn. The hallway smelled very musty. I thought we were in for it , But we opened the door, And it was nice! Great view! The pool was nice and warm, Two hot tubs.
The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good for me, I usually just have cereal and fruit. They had all that.Eggs and waffles. Would stay there again. Worth the money!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vickyll55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Lakefront
Quality Inn Lakefront
#14 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
Breakers Resort - Lakeside
#12 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Property: Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Address: 1067 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1010 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing