We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On our way to Casino” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Saint Ignace
National City, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On our way to Casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were going to stay at Casino for Monday night and Tuesday night. St Ignace was supposed to get a lot of snow, So we left a day early. Could not get a room at the casino, So I booked at Days Inn. The hallway smelled very musty. I thought we were in for it , But we opened the door, And it was nice! Great view! The pool was nice and warm, Two hot tubs.
The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good for me, I usually just have cereal and fruit. They had all that.Eggs and waffles. Would stay there again. Worth the money!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vickyll55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    117
    56
    35
    12
See reviews for
142
146
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spalding
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Arrived on a gloomy, grey September day but greeted in reception with a big smile and friendly welcome by the guy on reception. Check in was efficient and comprehensive with information about the local area, ferries, eating places etc offered without being asked. Discount coupons for the Mackinac ferry and the local casino given. Plenty of parking available.
Had emailed before arrival asking for a high floor room (had booked king, lake front room) and the room was just that, top floor with stunning views over the lake and Mackinac Island in the misty distance.

Room was huge with table and chairs, superking bed, TV, usual amenities and large bathroom. Breakfast was served in a room overlooking lake and in nice weather it's possible to sit on an outdoor deck area attached to the breakfast room.

All in all an excellent stay and amazing value for money (I paid less than $75 with advance booking). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a lakeside room for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikerBear143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

This is a good choice for visiting Mackinac Island. The hotel rooms do face the lake. The interior halls are dark and the rooms could use a makeover. The bathroom looked as though it had recently been updated.......but the used washcloth hanging over the shower rod didn't inspire my opinion of the housekeeping services. Breakfast was okay. The staff was friendly and helpful.....this is an okay place for a night or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JYA6768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This had the most awesome views from our room (3rd floor, lakefront side) Watched the sunset and the sunrise (took tons of pictures!) Pool area was very clean. The breakfast was the nicest of all the hotels we stayed in and the least expensive for our annual week "Fall tour of colors". Room was quiet and mostly clean, with a little bit of mold on the bottom of the patio door track. The views more then made up for the outdated decor! If you're looking for a great bargain this is your place to find it!

Room Tip: Higher floors provide the best views but most rooms face lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

The weather was rainy during our late September stay, but that was the only bad thing about it. The hotel is obviously older, but updated and clean. The room was very large and all of them have balconeys. It is right on the lake with a terrific view of Mackinac Island. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!! We look forward to going back when the sun is out to enjoy the lakefront access of this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeCofLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Days Inn Lakefront in St.Ignace in September and had a wonderful stay! The view was outstanding from our room. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and hot tubs each day. The breakfast in the morning was alot more then just your average cereal and donut type. It had much to offer including biscuits and gravy. We would for sure stay here again on our next trip and spoke to others who stay here every time they are in this area, so it sounds like they have many repeat visitors!!

Room Tip: The suites are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

By mostly OK, I mean the Inn was clean, the rooms were spacious, and the breakfast was good, if you could get to the food. The "dining area" is a converted room on the 2nd floor, and the line for bagels, muffins, waffles, etc. stretched out the door into the hallway. The orange juice was way too sweet, and there was sausage (with gravy if desired) but no cooked eggs, just hard boiled. Very crowded seating and noisy. Back to the room......there is a balcony overlooking Lake Huron and with a view of Macinac Island. Don't expect to see much of any thing of the Island other than trees, but it is still nice. We did not use the climate control because the temperature was very comfortable outside , especially in the Upper Peninsula in October. We slept with the window open and were eased into sleep by the lapping of the waves onshore. TV was a smaller older model, but reception was good. The bed was a little soft, but manageable. Good news for pool people. Not only was the hot tub at a good temperature, but the pool was also. The water in the pool was warm as bath water. Only drawback on the hot tub was I am not sure the timer was working correctly, but there is a clock so you can keep track of time yourself. Now for the part that made me rate this "mostly OK" instead of great. Upon arrival, we were asked if we were, quote, "going to the casino"? I said no as I didn't think we would have time. The next morning I went to the desk and asked them about the casino package that was missed by us on the outdoor sign, and what the package consisted of. The desk clerk said it was a $5 token credit for the Kewadin Casino, but was told, when I asked for it, that it could, again quoting, "only be given out at check-in, and not at check -out". I told her we were not ready to check out, but that did not matter. If this was to be applied at check-in, then the clerk should have mentioned this when we arrived that evening. But the clerk didn't mention a casino package nor that any casino credit could be given only at check-in. Now $5 is not that much, but not getting this is enough for me to rate this Days Inn lower than it really deserves.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face Lake Huron, but the third floor offers the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niceundertaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Ignace
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
0.8 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#13 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites St. Ignace Lakefront
1.9 mi away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn

Property: Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Address: 1067 North State St. / I-75, Saint Ignace, MI 49781 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Ignace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re planning a trip to Northern Michigan, come stay with us! Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn is open year-round, making us your headquarters for easy access to all local attractions in the Mackinac Straits area. With our spacious rooms, great service and wide array of amenities, you’ll surely enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront Hotel Saint Ignace
Days Inn And Suites Saint Ignace Lakefront
Days Inn Saint Ignace
Saint Ignace Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing