We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to camp.”
Review of Straits State Park

Straits State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good place to camp.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times. If you get the lower ring you get views of the bridge. However, the trees are getting big and we are losing the best views. Wish they'd cut back some of it. Sites are clean. Most have trees but ours, #80 had no shade and was very hot. Bathrooms and showers were kept pretty clean but park was full so it is hard with so many people using them. Quiet time was respected. Access to water is limited and not very clean. No real beach for swimming. Mostly this is a cheaper alternative to the hotels and nice view when you can see it. Do reserve a spot well in advance during summer. Fills up!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    61
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onondaga, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Traverse City, then back again for 5 nights just a few days later. Beautiful views of the Mackinac Bridge! Love that there is a grocery store a bike ride away, and the shower houses were very well kept. We stayed in the upper campground both times, though would love to do the lower sometime. Our one night stop was site 151, long but shallow. Much better suited for tenters (we have a 25' TT that extends to 30' with a rear slide). But for one night it worked. On that night, we scouted the site we had reserved for our 5 night return (190)..absolutely AWFUL! If you're in any type of RV, you can't use your awning the site is so small. There are trees (nice), but that puts the fire pit right next to the gravel pad. I'm not even sure where a tent would go? So, hopped on the internet to find another site that was open and chose 216. Glad we did! Huge beautiful deep site. We were able to set up our TT, have an extra car on the site (my mom joined us) as well as a large screen house over the picnic table. As others have mentioned, there really is no "beach"..it's rocky and muddy, but a 20 minute drive west on US-2 will put you at miles of sandy beach to enjoy. We would stay here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Spartan52782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, MI
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great State Park”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Camping here for the first time. The campground is nice and I have to say the showers are very nice. Glad we came!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanchia39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great views, but old and run-down”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The good: This park is in a great location - right on the lake and minutes from the Mackinac Bridge and St. Ignace (small town with a grocery store, a couple restaurants and the ferry ports). But...

The bad: The "beach" is bad. It's not manicured and it's not natural. Either one would be fine, but it's just badly taken care of. Also, it has only a few camper-cabins and ours was dirty (dirty floors and found a pair of old pants under the bed - gross!). Even in the prime of the season, campsite activities (campfires, ranger chats, etc) are only on weekends. Other state parks have fun programs every or most nights. Finally, for a place that caters to bikes, there's no place to park or lock your bikes. Just keep them on the car rack and lock them up. Kind of inconvenient.

All in all, not a terrible place but disappointing. I'd definitely look at other options before I booked again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Park”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The park was clean, affordable, and had a great view of the bridge. We stayed in the upper campground and had a nice spot. If we ever go again we would like to stay in the lower so we can take the view in all day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tward79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straits State Park also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Straits State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing