We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always takes this ferry line to Mackinac Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry

Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake City, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always takes this ferry line to Mackinac Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Other than work-related trips, I had always taken this ferry line to Mack Island. Good value with discount from local newspaper deal, and cool show with the "high tail" for kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    95
    24
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun Ride to the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Star Line was close the hotel and advertised free parking. The tickets seemed to be the average price at $25 per person which didn't seem all the bad. The staff was friendly and helped us board pretty quickly. The ride over to the island was pretty quick and smooth over all it took about 20 minutes. The boat is the cool hyrdo-jet so it has the rooster tail on the back which is pretty neat. You had the option to sit up top or sit below. We went on a chilly fall day so we decided to sit below in the heat. The ride was pretty comfortable and the seats were padded and warm. The Ferry going back was on time to pick us up and was also pretty smooth. Good service and good people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Photofox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springport, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“a nice ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

staff was friendly, boat ride was smooth and the views were great Parking was free, seats were clean, had a choice to sit on the top deck or down below either place seemed good. The top deck seems a little better for taking pictures..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quick, easy, friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Quick, easy, friendly staff, and dependable. Nice to support a smaller company unlike huge sheplers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Limbo”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

At the time I'm writing this review, my fiancé and I have been missing our luggage that was supposed to be ferried from Mackinac Island to Mackinaw City for almost 24 hours. We assumed the luggage was going over on the 1:30 ferry, and we expected to pick it up when we crossed on the 3:30 ferry. Star Line can't tell us if 1) our luggage was shipped, 2) if it was, who picked it up, and they don't appear to be very responsive to our concerns.

What's unusual in this case is that there are two bags missing, and I find it highly improbable that two bags would be picked up by the wrong person. Maybe Star Line will find our bags, but I've not been impressed with their customer service.

Helpful?
Thank nardecaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing