We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views from the upper deck”

Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful views from the upper deck”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A smooth ride to and from the island. Only problem was the temp had dropped and with a small child, it was a tough ride back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BMatz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    103
    26
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

funnest time on the ferry,. A bat flew in and was going back and forth for a few minutes. People were freaking out. I was in the doorway when it came at me and had to duck, thinking it was going to fly out but it didn't. I couldn't get my vid. camera up fast enough, when guy knocked it down and threw it off the boat (kind of sad about that-he probably would of made it out). Anyway, that was too funny.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prowl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well you have no choice but to pay the high fees to get to the island...so no sense in complaining there...

Id recommend taking the ferry that stops under the mackinaw bridge; it give you great views and doesn't take that much time.

The ferry is clean and fast. Takes about 20 min if you skip the bridge. They load and unload your bikes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank elizabethw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Transportation - Not an Attraction”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This isn't an attraction or something to do. The Star Line provides transportation to Mackinac Island, nothing more. That said, Star Line does it better than the others. Star Line was the only one of the three ferry companies to offer will-call for online ticket purchases. Star Line boats almost always seem to leave on time and the majority of the time will be the first to leave. Still, all three companies provide good reliable service to the island. As for all the price complainers, what do you expect to pay for a ride when you factor in fuel, the cost of the boat, dock maintenance, and staff? No, I don't work for Star Line. I am just tired of people who don't stop to think about what goes into an operation like this and seem to always want to complain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easily Accessible, Free Parking, Fast and Visit Underneath the Bridge!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose to utilize the Star Line ferry from St. Ignace as part of our Experience Mackinac Island package, so we saved a few bucks each on passage. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the views positively amazing. Check the schedule ahead of time and make sure you try to catch one of the passages that makes the side trip underneath the Mackinac Bridge - it's truly an amazing experience and provides a different view of the bridge (as well as narrated info). The trip to the island and back was fast, and we would gladly use their service on our next visit to the island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing