We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy Parking, Fast Boat, Friendly Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry

Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Easy Parking, Fast Boat, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I can't complain about Starline. The boats left on schedule, the rates were competitive with Arnold's and Shepler's. Everyone was friendly. If you leave at 9:30a or 10:00a they even make a trip under the bridge. Book on-line and save $. We basically got one free ticket trip by booking online.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stingerdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    95
    24
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cedarville, Michigan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fast Ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fast travel and friendly staff make this ferry service a great choice when traveling to Mackinac Island. We left from the St. Ignace main dock. Be advised that this ferry also stops at the St. Ignace railroad dock both coming and going but the stop is short. Convenient parking on the mainland and a great dock location on the Island. Can't go wrong with this ferry service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank saltedradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“island trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

.Workers very friendly. Made trip very enjoyable. Bought island package & totally enjoyed the experience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lee0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good shuttle service to Mackinac Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

There are several ferries to choose from but we chose Star as it was convenient to our hotel. The service was very good, the ferry was a hydro jet and we were on the island in no time.
My only negative comment is they do not always run every half hour as I had been lead to believe in their literature, so be sure and check the schedule in advance to avoid surprises.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harrisgumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rooster Tail Ferry to Mackinac Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Competitive pricing, quick trip, clean and stable vessel, easy on and off, and an extra side trip beneath the Mackinac Straits Bridge was really cool.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry also viewed

Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 

Been to Star Line Mackinac Island Hydro-Jet Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing